Matthew Wade

• Thread starter Thread starter dan warna

really enjoyed seeing a young player who has kind of struggled find his confidence and go on with it. Just grew into the innings after a shaky start. You could see the confidence grow with each boudary he hit until in the end he was milking runs. Great innings and his last 50 was just great hitting.

Timing has been perfect and will be interesting to see if haddin gets the job back. I think it will come down to his ODI/T20 form over the next 3-4 months. I think if Wade is consistent there he will keep the test gig.

Good on Wadey for farewelling test cricket on a high.

But in reality, we can not put up with that sort of rubbish from our number 7. It is critically important when the team is in trouble to get out cheaply playing a very stupid shot instead of bat maturely and make the rest of them look bad :rolleyes:

Haddin batted responsibly 12 months ago?
Must be watching a different Brad Haddin to everybody else.

He batted responsibly in Adelaide when we were chasing quick runs. ;)

Poor Bradesman.

I predicted pretty much word-for-word what his excuses would be in the other thread. Good to see he didn't let us down :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Brades is like this with footy players, either crawling all over them licking their boots or spitting poison at them like a puff adder - Big Footy's very own Basil Fawlty :)

Michael Clarke's reaction to Wade's ton.

scaled.php

oh where was haddin to throw away his wicket with a tonk a rama, then spill a few sitters backstopping :):thumbsu:

**** me, get over yourself.

There will be plenty of opportunities to use that picture for an amusing caption.

You did not use right opportunity. Clarke is not the kind of person who is going to be annoyed because something has happened to make it harder for his mate to get into the team in return for a strong chance of winning the match.

Cool. I'm going to go outside now and spend countless hours hitting a golf ball. That Green jacket is only a few years away!
It has a lot of competition, but that comment has to be top of the list of all the stupid things you've said. :D

Pretty sure no-one said that with the hours of training and practise he'll put in, he would improve his keeping as much as you'd have to improve your golf, in order to win the Masters. :eek:

You think Wade is bad at what he does? How about you take a look at what you write on here. Now that is some terrible shit!

He has to be a pro golfer for that analogy to be relevant, if not he is just a complete fool.
Complete fool regardless really

I've noticed a lot of backlash from Clarke saying Haddin is still number 1 keeper in his books. Lets think about it for a second, Haddin was selected to tour as number 1 keeper but went home to be with his sick kid. What exactly do we expect Clarke to say? For the record I think Wade has done enough especially after the ton but that is not what the selectors think which is a shame. Regardless they aren't going to start slagging off Haddin now while he is going through a rough time with family dramas.

it does highlight yet again how moronic it is to have a captain picking the teams, we aren't just talking close mates having to make decisions on their friends careers we are talking potentially millions of dollar swings for the players who are dropped or kept.

It's an obvious and unneeded conflict and it was removed for a good reason.

Wade should now be the number one, personally i think he should have replaced Haddin last summer in the test series.

Reckon this trip will also do wonders for Wade's play of spin from now on.
Really looked to be on struggle-street against it earlier on the tour, but now is able to face a heap of it without going out and in the second half of the innings last night actually started to put it away and go after it.
Facing spin on any grounds outside the sub-continent/Caribbean will possibly/hopefully seem like a piece of cake, in comparison, from now on.

This thread has been very quiet until now. What happened? Did Wade make a score?

he just doesn't drop nearly as many catches as haddin does.

All love to haddin as he deals with his issues regarding his daughter, but he was the crappiest wicket keeper we've had at the test level in a long time, and even when in form with the bat, it didn't cover the catches he dropped especially against england.

In wades 10 or so appearances for australia in all forms he has dropped only 1 catch that was clear, and that is far and away better than haddin.

Did Wade make a score?
If by a score, you mean did he make over twice as many runs as anyone else has scored (for either team) for the match, after coming in at a time when our wickets were falling like flies, only for him to shore up our innings with grit and determination and to then put the foot down when required, apparently making his last 50 off 32 balls, to put us into a commanding position, then yes, he made a score. :thumbsu: (In just his third test).

And that was after also fighting hard to keep his wicket in other innings in the series, often in circumstances when we were in a fair bit if trouble and when most were struggling to score, in conditions that are pretty foreign to him.