Maxwell Cleared

• Thread starter Thread starter Merv

Huh? afl and collingwood in bed?

you know this is the first appeal we have won in any of the systems?

We only won this appeal because th AFL royally ****ed up by making up new rules on tribunal day.

Take your conspiracy theories elsewhere

Its the first appeal ANYONE has won since the new system

****in Collingwood and AFL in bed together as usual. The guy gets a broken jaw from Maxwell's unsavory act. If Dale Thomas got knocked out and had his jaw broken by a young eagle rookie I reckon there would have been uproar in the east and he would have served time.

Mate in all honesty, no one other than Pies fans could give a toss about Maxwell. I'd say most of us cant stand him....

BUT

We love the good of the game and take our rose coloured glasses off when we see the game we love being destroyed by the suits in administration

He ended up winning though

Also our last argument was that pulling out of a contest was not our game, which is very close to the Vibe line lol
Ah, so you reckon Collingwood hired Dennis for the tribunal but replaced him with Bud Tingwell for the appeal? Yeah, that makes sense.

For the people who are celebrating this, I wouldn't get too excited as it will in all likelihood be a one-off success.

The AFL aren't going to change their their philosophical position. All that will happen is that they will review and tighten their rules so the chance of this happening again is virtually nil.

So a small battle has been won, but winning the war is still near on impossible unless the AFL changes its fundamental stance on the "sanctity of the head".

Its the first appeal ANYONE has won since the new system
Yes but we appealed a few times in the old style tribunal and never won there either

Ah, so you reckon Collingwood hired Dennis for the tribunal but replaced him with Bud Tingwell for the appeal? Yeah, that makes sense.
Yeah something like that:p

Why should he? The footy was a metre away, and on the bounndary line. Legally he can bump a player. Took the player out of the contest legally. If you can't enjoy seeing a hit like that then footy aint for you!

Im not questioning what you like to see, but like I said, if it were my team I would prefer he showed some courage and went for the ball.

Putting his head over the ball, knowing that there would be a rough contest and he would be hit would be my prefered style of play. Just my opinion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_-KJVAdS60&feature=related

Both guys go for the ball great courage shown. Either could have done a "maxwell"

Im not questioning what you like to see, but like I said, if it were my team I would prefer he showed some courage and went for the ball.

Putting his head over the ball, knowing that there would be a rough contest and he would be hit would be my prefered style of play. Just my opinion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_-KJVAdS60&feature=related

Both guys go for the ball great courage shown. Either could have done a "maxwell"

That's great, unfortunatley i cant view You Tube at work.

So you are saying he has no courage becuase he fairly bumps someone?
Sometimes you bump, somtimes you get the ball. Where the ball was i fail to see how it was the wrong thing to do.

Why didn't he just go for the ball? That's what I don't understand.

Looking at the replay, he could have got to the ball first, and he actually gets in Corries way, preventing him from getting to the ball also.

Therefore he just wanted to hit the player. Surely it would have been more courageous to put his head down and go for the ball rather than go for the bump. Just my opinion.

Glad to see the bump is not dead, and hope he cops a Beau Waters special next time we play the pies. :D
If he had gone for the ball A his momentum could have taken him and the ball out of bounds and possession goes back to a 50/50 or B McGinnity would have tackled him and he could have been caught with the ball where West Coast get possession or again taken out of bounds. Or he could bump McGinnity allowing his teammate or himself to get the ball and maintain possession, which is what happened.

He picked the right option and made the smart play.

mate we are doing somersaults - Big Ed sticks it up 'em!!!
Great for you I guess.

But as I said, all that will happen is that the AFL will review and tighten its rules and procedures to ensure that when a player is charged for a similar incident in the future, the room for a successful appeal will be near to zero.

The AFL is going to view this as a slap in the face and react accordingly. It is not going to take the view that its philosophy is wrong and relax its rules in relation to head-high contact - we all know the AFL too well for that to occur.

That's great, unfortunatley i cant view You Tube at work.

So you are saying he has no courage becuase he fairly bumps someone?
Sometimes you bump, somtimes you get the ball. Where the ball was i fail to see how it was the wrong thing to do.

Mainly that he initiates the bump therefore he is braced for impact. He isn't gonna really hurt himself.

Unsavoury act??? I wrote this on another forum somewhere that the resultant injury shouldn't be taken into account in determining the verdict. Things that are taken into account:

1. Position of incident in relation to the ball - ie. within 5 metres
2. Intent
3. Where bump is laid - shoulder to shoulder, shoulder to head etc.
4. Should the other player have reasonably expected contact

In this case, ball was within 5 metres (tick), intent was to bump/ shepherd for Corrie (tick), shoulder to shoulder (tick) - with incidental contact to head due to momentum (tick), ball was in play and in dispute so player should have reasonably expected contact in the situation (tick).

The bump was legal whether he had other options or not. Yes, he could have gone for the ball, but he chose to shepherd and did so successfully. The unfortunate part is the injury to McGinnity. But it was "incidental contact". End of story.

If he had gone for the ball A his momentum could have taken him and the ball out of bounds and possession goes back to a 50/50 or B McGinnity would have tackled him and he could have been caught with the ball where West Coast get possession or again taken out of bounds. Or he could bump McGinnity allowing his teammate or himself to get the ball and maintain possession, which is what happened.

He picked the right option and made the smart play.

He gets in Corries way and trips him up, so he wasn't sheperding for Corrie. IIRC a West Coast player gets to the ball first anyway. If I'm wrong disregard.

One guys is playing the ball, the other guys is "completely and utterly eyes only" for the man, ignoring the ball.

The player going for the ball gets broken jaw, the player "hitting" gets off, yep justice has prevailed. I've always believed in the tribunal and it's decision process.

He gets in Corries way and trips him up, so he wasn't sheperding for Corrie. IIRC a West Coast player gets to the ball first anyway. If I'm wrong disregard.

Maybe. But McGinnity sure as hell didnt get anywhere near it.

Well in my opinion I thought it was a good old fashioned shirt front and McGinnity was just unlucky. It happens. But, where does this now leave the AFL with their 'the head is sacrosanct' stance? Will be some interesting tribunal cases this year I think.

It will be interesting to see the reaction of Collingwood fans in particular if one of their players cops a similar injury at some stage in the future from a similar hit.

One would hope for consistency in their opinion, but we know that a lot of football discussion is based on club allegience, not the incident itself.