MCDFNL 2026 discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Tandy

Hanging out for the Talbot match report. Make it to the game?
Good morning gentleman. Had a lovely day at Talbot yesterday. Cold beers and caught up with a number of old mates.

Not a bad game of senior footy. Talbot jumped out of the blocks hard and were up by 4-5 goals early. Clunes were impressive in transition and punished Talbot at times.

Final scores were Talbot 10.13 to Clunes 13.6

Clunes kicked away late. Ryan Thompson number 23 for Clunes is a very good player. Clunes had a couple down back who were intercepting please of forward entries.

For Talbot Dylan Tarczon is an absolute beast. He racked up possessions and is very good in traffic. Liked the look of Tom Alkemade and little Zac Cicchini is a player.

My overall take was Clunes just outworked Talbot late in the game. I think Talbot won’t be too unhappy though they looked the better side for most of the game. If they kicked straight and made the most of their chances they could have won by a fair bit. But that’s footy.

Because it always comes up on here I thought I’d ask both camps who they were missing. Apparently Clunes was missing 3 of their best 22. Didn’t get the names. Talbot was missing about 5 with House and Lang the most notable. House made team of the year last year.

Good morning gentleman. Had a lovely day at Talbot yesterday. Cold beers and caught up with a number of old mates.

Not a bad game of senior footy. Talbot jumped out of the blocks hard and were up by 4-5 goals early. Clunes were impressive in transition and punished Talbot at times.

Final scores were Talbot 10.13 to Clunes 13.6

Clunes kicked away late. Ryan Thompson number 23 for Clunes is a very good player. Clunes had a couple down back who were intercepting please of forward entries.

For Talbot Dylan Tarczon is an absolute beast. He racked up possessions and is very good in traffic. Liked the look of Tom Alkemade and little Zac Cicchini is a player.

My overall take was Clunes just outworked Talbot late in the game. I think Talbot won’t be too unhappy though they looked the better side for most of the game. If they kicked straight and made the most of their chances they could have won by a fair bit. But that’s footy.

Because it always comes up on here I thought I’d ask both camps who they were missing. Apparently Clunes was missing 3 of their best 22. Didn’t get the names. Talbot was missing about 5 with House and Lang the most notable. House made team of the year last year.
I noticed Mitchell bishop clunes gun chb didnt play he was in team of the year in central highlands, Wrigley who was there captain probably the main two who didn’t play i would think and jack Harwood played redan cricket grandfinal his one of the ballarat swans players they’ve picked up.

Ryan Thompson, such a good mark would be very hard to play on absolute bull. Two bald fellas were good for Talbot aswell as 24 whoever that was

Found my way out to Talbot on the weekend also. Super way to run a practice match day. Every grade of footy and netty. Great crowd, great idea.

By gee, Talbot jumped out of the blocks and it looked like they would win by 10 goals or more. Good job by Clunes to get it going their way after the 1st quarter. Good game with both teams controlling play at different times.
Micallef and Tarczon provide some class in the guts for Talbot. As already mentioned by others the Clunes forward Thomson was good to watch throwing himself at everything in the air.

Talbot should be right in the mix in the MCDFNL.
Clunes might be around the middle of the CHFL ladder.

Well we’ve got a game of footy this weekend. Haven’t heard much at all out of the Dunolly camp. There were rumblings of discontent after they moved on their twos coach.

Maldon copped a flogging off Ballan. Have recruited a number of bodies but mostly kids.

Tipping Dunolly by 40 points.

Well we’ve got a game of footy this weekend. Haven’t heard much at all out of the Dunolly camp. There were rumblings of discontent after they moved on their twos coach.

Maldon copped a flogging off Ballan. Have recruited a number of bodies but mostly kids.

Tipping Dunolly by 40 points.
Dunolly have lost a few players, word is they might struggle to have a seconds team. As for seniors lost at least 5 Adal Zuk bnf winner and team of the year member what is ex coach Jay McDonald doing?

Tipping Dunolly by 40
What’s going on at Maldon? They’ve dropped off considerably. Their team in 2021 had some absolute stars. They were competitive in 22 and 23 but since Wust has taken the reigns they’ve gone backwards. From the outside looking in, they seem to be a well run and supported club.

They struggle financially.

Dunolly have lost a few players, word is they might struggle to have a seconds team. As for seniors lost at least 5 Adal Zuk bnf winner and team of the year member what is ex coach Jay McDonald doing?
Jay McDonald re-signed the week of round 1. Went back with his tail between his legs i'd say. Re-signed as coach for the 2026 season, then pulled the pin few weeks later and now he's back.

Righto footy is back this weekend. We had the greatest finals series I can remember in 2025, with some of these clubs going head to head in round 1. What does 2026 have in store for us.

This weeks matches.

Trentham vs Carisbrook
GF replay. Going to be a cracker of a contest, both teams expected to go deep again this year. Time will tell who has had a better preparation.

Talbot vs Harcourt
Should be another close one. Harcourts pace and transition will be on show. Talbot should be strong at stoppage, will be a game of moments.

Natte vs Navarre
These 2 teams don’t get along real well, expecting a physical contest, could go either way.

Newstead vs Avoca
Newstead seem to have landed a few recruits, quick and skilful up against a determined Avoca side looking to develop further.

Lexton vs Giants
Lexton have landed plenty of recruits, play their ground well.
I haven’t heard to much about the giants.

If I had to tip a winner
Trentham
Talbot
Navarre
Newstead
Lexton

Keen to hear others thoughts.

Carisbrook to win - Matt Bilton, Harry Butler back and few other gun recruits
Talbot win
Navarre win if got a full side but going natte for round 1
Newstead
Lexton

Avoca seem to never pick up anyone whats the reason?

Carisbrook to win - Matt Bilton, Harry Butler back and few other gun recruits
Talbot win
Navarre win if got a full side but going natte for round 1
Newstead
Lexton

Avoca seem to never pick up anyone whats the reason?
Harry Butler is a massive inclusion. The best swingman in the league.

Righto footy is back this weekend. We had the greatest finals series I can remember in 2025, with some of these clubs going head to head in round 1. What does 2026 have in store for us.

This weeks matches.

Trentham vs Carisbrook
GF replay. Going to be a cracker of a contest, both teams expected to go deep again this year. Time will tell who has had a better preparation.

Talbot vs Harcourt
Should be another close one. Harcourts pace and transition will be on show. Talbot should be strong at stoppage, will be a game of moments.

Natte vs Navarre
These 2 teams don’t get along real well, expecting a physical contest, could go either way.

Newstead vs Avoca
Newstead seem to have landed a few recruits, quick and skilful up against a determined Avoca side looking to develop further.

Lexton vs Giants
Lexton have landed plenty of recruits, play their ground well.
I haven’t heard to much about the giants.

If I had to tip a winner
Trentham
Talbot
Navarre
Newstead
Lexton

Keen to hear others thoughts.
Some good games.
My tips:
Carisbrook - Trentham have too many good players missing. Hopefully only out for round 1 and not long term? (Regan, Ford, Harvey, Thiesz)
Talbot - With the $$$ they have spent, they couldn't possibly lose round 1 could they?
Natte - Navarre had a good finals campaign last year with their guns in the side, but 1 step below the top few without those players.
Newstead - Avoca won't win a game.
Giants - Looking at the 2 sides I think giants can win. Couple of handy old Royal Park players back in the side (Hamish Blake one that could seriously play the couple of times I watched him.)

Some good games.
My tips:
Carisbrook - Trentham have too many good players missing. Hopefully only out for round 1 and not long term? (Regan, Ford, Harvey, Thiesz)
Talbot - With the $$$ they have spent, they couldn't possibly lose round 1 could they?
Natte - Navarre had a good finals campaign last year with their guns in the side, but 1 step below the top few without those players.
Giants - Looking at the 2 sides I think giants can win. Couple of handy old Royal Park players back in the side (Hamish Blake one that could seriously play the couple of times I watched him.)
Whatever you reckon Talbot are paying, triple it, double it, then whack a bit of pi on top for good measure 😛

Great to see more and more quality players joining the league. Competition has never been stronger.

Whatever you reckon Talbot are paying, triple it, double it, then whack a bit of pi on top for good measure 😛

Great to see more and more quality players joining the league. Competition has never been stronger.
Yes, never said I had an issue with it - No need to be defensive.
Maybe that tells us all we need to know? 😜

Some good games.
My tips:
What is the go at Trentham heaps of good players not playing are they injured or moved on?

I heard a whisper that a few key players for Harcourt are sunning themselves poolside in Bali this weekend.