McGuane Back to McGone.

• Thread starter Thread starter wart101

McGuane is hopeless but geez Vickery isn't much better.
Vickery looks like he'd prefer to be handbag shopping at times.

McGuane is hopeless but geez Vickery isn't much better.
Vickery looks like he'd prefer to be handbag shopping at times.

I don't get the bashing on either of these blokes. McGuane wasn't great today but still applied plenty of defensive pressure and never gave up. Vickery, kicked 3, has been very impressive for most of the season - he will be a gun.

The amount of unfulfilled leads that VICKERY gave was unbelievable he worked very hard yet our mid field thinks its better to kick to a leading Jack in the pocket than a VICKERY up the guts! Madness

McGuane is doing ok. Any sort of quality f50 entries and our forwards go crazy. A la q1.
And bagging Vickery? FFS he's playing some great footy. What exactly are the expectations? As a fwd/ruck he's going as we'll as most in the comp I reckon.

I guess we should look at our gun highly paid KPF before we start having a crack at McGuane.

The difference is after quarter time jack let Jamieson give him a bath while McGuane kept working hard. It didn't help either that our run and spread was non existent.

I think he's one of those players that you only bring in against certain opposition. That's probably not a thing that exists in the AFL yet, we have the beginnings of "specialist substitutes" thanks to this new red vest system, but not players that are bought in against specific teams. McGuane is one of those players. You bring him in, he'll play a ripper, then do nothing next week. I think the plan with him should be AFL, 2 weeks in the VFL, then back pending form. Keeping him week in week out seems to work against him.

The amount of unfulfilled leads that VICKERY gave was unbelievable he worked very hard yet our mid field thinks its better to kick to a leading Jack in the pocket than a VICKERY up the guts! Madness

I wish Vickery would pretend the opposition were wearing Carlton jumpers every week.

I think he's one of those players that you only bring in against certain opposition. That's probably not a thing that exists in the AFL yet, we have the beginnings of "specialist substitutes" thanks to this new red vest system, but not players that are bought in against specific teams. McGuane is one of those players. You bring him in, he'll play a ripper, then do nothing next week. I think the plan with him should be AFL, 2 weeks in the VFL, then back pending form. Keeping him week in week out seems to work against him.

Job sharing, Good strategy.
I like both McG and Edwards, but neither good enough to hold a permanent position so sharing the 3rd fwd position is a good idea.