McGuane monstered by Hall

• Thread starter Thread starter Terry Tan

He's a pure defender, not a rebounder like Newman.

I think as he gets experience and confidence that could change. He was very good with the footy in his hands in junior ranks and very much a rebounding option.

I really think he lacks a bit of self-belieft at the moment. Spoils everything and doesn't want the footy. As he bulks up, gets confidence and begins to feel that he belongs I still seem becoming a very good defender.

I think as he gets experience and confidence that could change. He was very good with the footy in his hands in junior ranks and very much a rebounding option.

I really think he lacks a bit of self-belieft at the moment. Spoils everything and doesn't want the footy. As he bulks up, gets confidence and begins to feel that he belongs I still seem becoming a very good defender.
Par for the course in young key defenders in their first few years and that's not a bad thing. Shows he wants to do his job first and foremost.
Will learn the other side to his game once he has 70 games under his belt.

Better skills than Gaspar who was a #1 draft pick and dual AA Full Back + B+F winner in Richmond's best season in 25 years.

Thursfield will be as good as Prestigiacomo for Collingwood who is an excellent Full Back who negates the opposition's best forwards without providing heaps of attack.

He's a pure defender, not a rebounder like Newman.

Yep, both well said.

Considering his experience and a knee reco, Thursfield is a notch above McGuane for disposal and several above Moore.

It looks that way stark. I'm sure Wallace sees Polak loose as part of a bigger plan, but he wasn't damaging when loose last night (when Everitt went to the bench and the ruck), and got moved off Hall quick smart after his first goal.

King will play midfield and tagging roles eventually once he has a little more size about him around the torso and a lot more fitness.

We need to stop crucifying our defenders (whoever they are) when they have to play in a side which has the 16th ranked midfield in the comp. With the combination of Gaspar, Hall, Kellaway, Bowden, Newman and Graham, we were still the worst midfield by far, but had a pretty respectable defense who hid the fact more often than not.

Perversely, on the days they couldn't work miracles and make up for our typically appalling midfield, too many supporters stuck the boots in and put the blame solely on them.

We don't have a 'bad' defense now, we have a bunch of kids under siege the same way our last batch of defenders were. They'll improve like magic as soon as the midfield we're building comes together and is competitive.

i agree with you about the defence and i think i posted this elsewhere but there is no pressure coming from our midfield and that makes it impossible for our defence.i think they have actually done a fair job considering the amount of the time it goes down there.
will love seeing kingy mixing it up in the middle:)

I thought McGuane did well, considering he didn't take a backward step. When he was pushing and shoveing with Hall I yelled knock him on his arse McGuane and all in the room agreed.

Bear in mind one of Halls goals was a gimmie from a team mate, one was from a mark that was a clear push in the back that should have been a free to McGuane and the other was the goal that he broke those tackles but should have been called for holding the ball.

I hope that Hall takes up boxing after football and gets the living suitcase punched out of him, because he is a plum.

why was this kid left to be slaughtered by Big Barry Hall. Why didn't Wallace play Polak who has the size and speed to match him.

Another Wallace mismatch.

Might have something to do with McGaune is touted as our future fullback and Polak isnt?

Everything isnt as gloomy as you make it out to be terry tan

If he played Polak on Barry and he got a flogging then Terry's Recruit of the year will be seen as a failure....Polaks a good player but he hasn't been tested on a opponent yet
Played on Tredrea last week, then started on Hall before moving to Everitt last night. I think Plough is now starting to give him some jobs on key forwards.

But you know McGuane hasn't played in a single winning Richmond side in his career? He played two games last year and Richmond lost by 118 and 88 points respectively. Coincidence? McGuane isn't the worst at Richmond, but he's pretty bad and he seems to be constantly given jobs against bigger, stronger players.
You do know how many games we've won in total this year? :confused:

Thursfield was very reluctant to leave his own man when the right option was to take a risk and attack the ball carrier. A few others like Moore did the same. This is very much a confidence and experience thing. Watch the Geelong defenders - they are quite willing to leave their own man and pressure the guy with the ball. Ours dont have the confidence to take a chance.

Didn't James Hird and Dustin Fletcher play on the best forwards and got flogged when they first played for Essendon? They turned out alright.

I'd rather leave McGuane on Hall and let him learn something, than change it up, still lose the game and learn nothing.

I thought McGuane did well, considering he didn't take a backward step. When he was pushing and shoveing with Hall I yelled knock him on his arse McGuane and all in the room agreed.

Bear in mind one of Halls goals was a gimmie from a team mate, one was from a mark that was a clear push in the back that should have been a free to McGuane and the other was the goal that he broke those tackles but should have been called for holding the ball.

I hope that Hall takes up boxing after football and gets the living suitcase punched out of him, because he is a plum.
I too think McGuane stood up well. There is a lot of talk about how good Hall's game was but I reckon it was one of the softer 6 goal hauls you will see.
19 steps he took avoiding those tackles & the whole game, the "hands in the back" rule was shelved. Hall got one, another Swan got one & we got one back with Browny.
McGuane was 19 at the start of 2007 & has played what, 10 games?
He has the sort of build that may see him end up like a Fletcher so the experience he gets from nights like Saturday are invaluable. Happy to see hom play out the year in the one's.

McGuane has a body that can be bulked up, should of heard my mate on saturday who is a personal trainer go on about his shoulders and shit, a bit homoerotic for my taste but anyway.

I am just starting to wonder if their is a weights room down at Punt Road.