Meatloaf

• Thread starter Thread starter boncer34

Yeah I think many people see it as more than tongue in cheek when you're putting the boot in less than 24hrs after the man has passed away.

I'm sure you didn't mean it in a particularly mean spirited way, but ask yourself this; if an AFL legend wasn't able to kick a footy very well at age 60 and failed trying, would you also talk about how bad they were less than a day after they passed?

I'll put it like this...

If on the day that Hugh Hefner passed I posted something like "I call first dibs on looking after the mansion", some people might find it offensive, some might find it funny.

Ricky Gervais once quoted "Just because your offended, it doesn't make you right, offense is about feelings and feelings are personal."

I've grown up in a family where we laugh about everything, including death...my eldest brother had a few wise cracks the day after my father's passing.

Meatloaf lived to 74, it's a good innings in my opinion for which he passed due to complications from COVID which in today's climate hardly makes his cause of death unique.

If it was suicide or murder then I'd view his death as one of tragedy and wouldn't have posted anything.

Not wanting to go much further but I posted on a Football Site, I didn't link my post to messages linked to his grieving family and loved ones...his G.F performance was one of those moments that was part of his life and if the very reason he has a thread to begin with.

Meatloaf has probably achieved more in one life time than what he ever dreamed. He called himself Meatloaf so I think he had a sense of humour.

I've heard some stuff from his recent albums.

He could still do it. Not all night every night, but he could.

A decade ago Axl Rose was absolutely garbage, pure wash up, but he knuckled down and when I seen GnR in 2016, he was flawless. Flawless. Didn't miss a note, sounded like listening to the CDs.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

The guy has just died and all you want to do is focus on his worst moment late in life. Pathetic .

He was a great singer and performer

Yep, that's the way of many here, no class.

They probably have no understanding of what a simply monstrous album Bat Out Of Hell was either.

Although, in fairness to them on that point, being around when it was released certainly helped.

At his best he was a superstar performing original groundbreaking music that conquered the world, but his best was unfortunately two albums fifteen years apart and not much outside of that.

And the second one was half cover songs and remakes.

A huge shame there was never another proper album with Steinmann, though I don't mind some of his recent stuff, it's definitely a bit heavier, he moved from that 70s theatrical rock and ballads to straightforward rock and metal.

A guy who's music I will always be listening to.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Rip.
Meatloaf .

We'll turn on our dashboard lights for you.

Wait, so Meat was the original custodian of Steve Waugh's lucky red hanky?

z_p16-Cricketers-01.jpg

Love Paradise by the Dashboard light. As a kid I thought the baseball commentary was a bit random, but listening back to it now knowing the context of a teenager trying to score, it is hilarious...getting to first base, not letting up and only just making it to second base, managing to steal third, and then the squeeze play when he tries to get to homebase and all I want to know is if he made it.

Steinman's lyrics and Meat's vocals on that album were an incredible match.

Wait, so Meat was the original custodian of Steve Waugh's lucky red hanky?

z_p16-Cricketers-01.jpg

Love Paradise by the Dashboard light. As a kid I thought the baseball commentary was a bit random, but listening back to it now knowing the context of a teenager trying to score, it is hilarious...getting to first base, not letting up and only just making it to second base, managing to steal third, and then the squeeze play when he tries to get to homebase and all I want to know is if he made it.

Steinman's lyrics and Meat's vocals on that album were an incredible match.
Can I sleep on it , and give you a answer in the morning ....

I Remember a triple m adelaide interview 10 years ago, he considered at one point in his life, he wanted to live in Adelaide.

RIP

Interesting, did he go into any more depth regarding potential reasons of moving to Adelaide?
Did you get the impression he was being genuine or just overly polite to the city he happened to be in at the time to endure himself to the locals?

I remember as a kid listening to the lyrics of the outro and thinking that the woman was being pretty unreasonable, all Mr Loaf was requesting was to be able to answer the pretty heavy question about life long love the very next day - a very reasonable request, I thought -

I put that to Mum but she then explained what Mr Loaf was really trying to do that evening -

Just one of those random memories I have where I guess I felt I learnt something that has just stuck around

Interesting that no one mentions that Meatloaf was once the singer on Ted Nugent's "Free For All" album released in 1976 at the peak of the Motor City Madman's career, a full one year before "Bat Out of Hell"? He came to Australia in 1978 on that tour and was crook then, he needed an oxygen cylinder at the side of the stage and walked off numerous times to get it... The AFL put him in the grandstand and thought that was a good idea? The MCG is too big for any sort of live pre game or half time entertainment. We play in a stadium with double the size playing surface of any Superbowl venue. He sold 40 million copies of his biggest album and he got paid $500k for coming out here in 2011, i doubt he gave a fat rats clacker about our Grand Final. Me? I played Squeeze "Cool for Cats" that night!

RIP The Big Fat Man On Television.
As a fellow Big Fat Man who loves to put double cream on cake all I can say is don't be the Big Fat Man or Big Fat Woman who died of COVID because you didn't want a jab.

Be like Toump Ass get ****ing vaccinated, then you can eat as much as you want and only have to worry about heart disease etc. and not covid as well.
At least if my heart goes "Too much cake, much too much! And stop all the delicious pasta fatty!" I can always to get on the ol' exercise bike.
You can't get vaccinated in ICU.

And FYI Bat out Hell is tripe.
Shania Twain sold heaps of albums too, she's also shit.

Interesting that no one mentions that Meatloaf was once the singer on Ted Nugent's "Free For All" album released in 1976 at the peak of the Motor City Madman's career, a full one year before "Bat Out of Hell"? He came to Australia in 1978 on that tour and was crook then, he needed an oxygen cylinder at the side of the stage and walked off numerous times to get it... The AFL put him in the grandstand and thought that was a good idea? The MCG is too big for any sort of live pre game or half time entertainment. We play in a stadium with double the size playing surface of any Superbowl venue. He sold 40 million copies of his biggest album and he got paid $500k for coming out here in 2011, i doubt he gave a fat rats clacker about our Grand Final. Me? I played Squeeze "Cool for Cats" that night!

His main issue was that is how off key he was. He complained he wasn't given a rehearsal. I think it potentially could have been better.

Who ****ing cares though if the singing was bad, the music was so heavy and tight, blew the shit out of entertainment like Ed Sheeran or whatever, boring ass music thats the antithesis to getting pumped up.

And FYI Bat out Hell is tripe.
Musically yeah - but that album is more theatrics. I liked this part of one of the recent write ups on him "(he had a) peculiar ability to sing the most absurd Steinman lyrics with absolute commitment and sincerity, while the contrast between his exaggerated stage persona – eyes bulging, red handkerchief clutched in his fist – and the everyman he appeared to be off stage let you know he was in on the joke."

I had to drive 600km in my car with my girlfriend and her sister, with the only tape in the car being Bat out of Hell. 600kms on dusty, unsealed roads with that bloody album playing and both girls singing along, doing the different parts.

From that day on, I no longer feared hell, I lived it.

RIP Bigfella 74 years is a decent inning..

Can’t blame him for taking a pay day to support the family when his voice was shot

Who wouldn’t take 800k free flights and accommodation

Can’t blame him for taking a pay day to support the family when his voice was shot

Who wouldn’t take 800k free flights and accommodation

The only defence of Meatloaf for that performance and the many more that have likely followed (Mitt Romney campaign) is that he genuinely thought he could still sing or that continued effort would be enough to make up for his declining voice. ln all sincerity maybe in later years he couldnt actually hear what the same thing that his audience did, extreme ear damage amongst older performers is common?
Take any ageing performer whether it be entertainers, actors and especially athletes (boxers are prime examples)...for what ever reason often they are the ones to know that they no longer have it.
If he did however know that he couldn't perform to something resembling coherent music then he didn't earn a living in later years, he unfortunately stole one.