All Australian form. No doubt.

Leading the league in inside 50's and another six goals (so far) to make it 17 for the year (average of 2.8 per game).

Can you think of a team that has given away so many all australians?

Croad, McPhee, Bell, Clement, Jeff White....

I know that this has been done before I am just completely and utterly over it. Get your shit together Freo :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

I know that this has been done before I am just completely and utterly over it. Get your shit together Freo

Why would you bother? (although I am a little surprised it took this long for someone to get on and have a big sad about this) Medders has taken a big kick up the backside and 12 months later he has found sensational form. Good on him. He was never going to do it in the safe haven of Perth.

And just to get it straight, Jeff White rooted us and went home...not exactly given away. Clement spend half a season trying to get out and got his wish. And McPhee? Wow, all australian once...unaccountable and average every other year. Gee, West Coast must be kicking themselves that they gave away Judd huh?

Leading the league in inside 50's and another six goals (so far) to make it 17 for the year (average of 2.8 per game).

I know that this has been done before I am just completely and utterly over it. Get your shit together Freo :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Mate, Tarrant was AA as well. So was Chad Fletcher !!
BIG DEAL. two out of those 5 you mentioned are good, the others RAFFLE !

Sensational speech too, great effort to win that medal.

Well done Paul.

I think the issue of medders is a good topic, however I totally don't agree with your comments

The arogant little shit refused to play accountable football for our side, he had to go regardless.

The anger is the fact we g ot so little for him, WHILE giving away everything for a player that is now in the WAFL.

Bell was part of the neesham debacle
Jeff white always wanted to go home
McPhee was part of the bell trade, happy with that one

Croad was part of the Conolly debacle.

As far as I am concerned Conolly has now surpassed Neesham as the biggest villian for our club.

I don't care how good a bloke he is, terrible list management and player management has hurt us big time.

Meddrs is another example

Why would you bother? (although I am a little surprised it took this long for someone to get on and have a big sad about this) Medders has taken a big kick up the backside and 12 months later he has found sensational form. Good on him. He was never going to do it in the safe haven of Perth.

And just to get it straight, Jeff White rooted us and went home...not exactly given away. Clement spend half a season trying to get out and got his wish. And McPhee? Wow, all australian once...unaccountable and average every other year. Gee, West Coast must be kicking themselves that they gave away Judd huh?

:confused: What are you talking about? Medhurst didnt want to leave but Freo pushed him out the door to get Tarrant.

I'm sorry, but he had to go. It was probably the best thing he did, as he was really low on confidence (and with the Perth media like they are, what do you expect) and just couldn't cement himself into the side, with Farmer on fire like he was.

He deserves every good thing that comes to him, and I've never ever seen him smile or be as happy as he was today.

Good on him :thumbsu::thumbsu:

medhurst couldn't stand a two team town and seems to be blossoming in victoria. I love watching him play every week and we were cheering for him all afternoon.

Go Medders!

Raffrox - Why get angry about it now? What are you angry about exactly..??
He wasn't and didn't look like playing that way with us under Connolly at all.
This thread will attract trolls.
I see David Brent has already dropped by.

Medhurst played some good games for us, but his attitude was shizenhausen. i was rapt to see him go, the last thing we needed was another selfish player. and medhurst when he was here was selfish piece of shite. he has had a good start to the year, but wait till the year plays out, he will end up failing in a heap. and good riddance

I heard from somewhere that when he was at Freo they wanted him to be at about 90k. Looks fit as at the moment which is having an effect on his footy.

I think players going to Melbourne and then starting to play well could be to do with not having to travel much (or at all in Collingwood's case). It probably allows some to be more settled going into a game not having to travel 1 or two days before hand and then recover after a flight. And others need the kick in the pants that a move to a new club & state - it probably forces them to reassess and recommit.

As a collingwood supporter I am super happy with the deal to get Medders , The roar that went up at the G each time he went near the ball today was sensational and he must be loving it / However surprisingly he is also one of the few players to move on from a club who still seems to have great respect from his former supporters . Credit to you Freo guys for following him and not bagging him too much , I wish we could be as polite re Scotland etc

jeez he really hates big stage!.. he always had talent and heart but his effort, intensity and decision making have improved so much. it's good to see a bloke enjoy his footy so much and reap the rewards. also good to see him prove many pies supporters wrong who were against the decision to bring him over. is cemented in as one of my favourites. top speech today too.

I think most of us ha a short memory when medders first started playing for us he was allowed to play a typical small forwards game exciting to watch. The problem was connelly tried to change the way he played and it all fell apart. Medhurst is an instictive footballer and should have been left to play the way as he did when he first started. He is now playing that way at collingwood have him over tarrant any day

Connolly really stitched us up on this one.

Medhurst should have been dropped but wasn't when his form was poor in 2005 and for failing to follow instructions in 2004. Then in 2006 he was finally dropped and it was clear that his attitude had improved after a stint in the WAFL but instead of giving him a go to prove himself for Fremantle Medders was traded when his trade value was at its lowest for a player we didn't need. Good move *******.

:confused: What are you talking about? Medhurst didnt want to leave but Freo pushed him out the door to get Tarrant.

Pretty clearly talking about the examples of blokes we "got rid of" who went on to AA. e.g. White & Clement. It's not that hard.

I will spell it out for you slowly though.

If we are kicking ourselves for getting rid of Jeff White then by that logic the Eagles must be annoyed that got rid of Judd.

Re: Medhurst and Reid for Tarrant is the Deal of the Century!

i was rapt to see him go, the last thing we needed was another selfish player. and medhurst when he was here was selfish piece of shite. he has had a good start to the year, but wait till the year plays out, he will end up failing in a heap. and good riddance
Medhurst had a bad ankle injury last season, yet was serviceable, and he was very good in the last 7 matches when his fitness returned. He was a big part of nearly making last years Grand Final, while he has got even better with full fitness this season! The reason that he won't fall in a heap later in the season comes down to a few reasons.

Living in Melbourne gives him the opportunity to focus more on his footy. Mick Malthouse has introduced a team focus to his game and he is no longer the individual he was at Freo. Most of all, he feels that Collingwood can win the premiership and he wants to be a part of it. He won't fall in a heap, and well done to Medders for winning the ANZAC medal! :)

quote=afisher; As a collingwood supporter I am super happy with the deal to get Medders , The roar that went up at the G each time he went near the ball today was sensational and he must be loving it / However still surprisingly he is also one of the few players to move on from a club who seems to have great respect from his former supporters . Credit to you Freo guys for following him and not bagging him too much , I wish we could be as polite re Scotland etc

That's because alot of us didn't want to see him go. He's an exciting footballer but was coached very badly in his final 2 years at Freo.Obviously Malthouse has done a good job with him, and all credit to him as Medders is playing great consistent footy. I find myself taking more interest in Magpie games because of him.

I can still remember his last game for Freo very vividly. It was against the Bulldogs, I think round 11 2006, shortly before we got on the nine game winning streak. That day Medders couldn't take a trick, he even hit the post with a grubber of a kick from twenty metres out - then argued about it with the goal umpire. I thought it was the end of his career. Luckily for him, he's come back with a vengeance.

Well done, GHD. :cool:

I think most of us ha a short memory when medders first started playing for us he was allowed to play a typical small forwards game exciting to watch. The problem was connelly tried to change the way he played and it all fell apart. Medhurst is an instictive footballer and should have been left to play the way as he did when he first started. He is now playing that way at collingwood have him over tarrant any day

EXACTLY. Malthouse gives him the freedom to play his natural game and look at him go. And he co-exists just fine with other small forwards at the Pies, whereas at Freo the theory became that he and Farmer couldn't be on the park at the same time. Ridiculous. Anyway, good on ya, Monkey. Happy for him.

So are we going to sticky this? So we can invite the trolls and increase the negativity in this forum everytime he plays a good game?

Thats why I've chosen not to reply to my own thread.

Thought I'd let it die after last night.

Regardless of who,what , where, when they left Freo has let go of too many quality players (most of the time in stupid trades for 'stars').

Last night we saw what happens when you develop from within. Hopefully we have learnt our lesson.