East Rottnest
Yep Freo have lost their last two games after fade outs in the second halves, thet is accepted.

The media are throwing up the line that Freo choked and alot of people are going along with that line, so be it. I then remembered that in the "Demolition Derby", the Eagles gave up a 42 point lead mid way through the 3rd quarter, but the word choking was never mentioned (except in relation to Phil Read).

The point I am making is that the media are writing their own headlines.

Anyway onto the Tigers, Freo by 33 points.

Of course it is - specially that awful Bradley Hardie who keeps knocking Freo and CC on his Sports Today program on 6PR.

Hardie is clearly in the eagles camp and has no links to Frematle whatsoever. He's just a mischievious litlle monkey.

No wonder Chris refuses to go on his show.

bluey17 said:
"All you do is ********ing whinge!"

Classy statement. Who are you quoting?

We know most members of the W.A. media are either former eagles players or west coast supporters. The various media organisations in this state could quite easily hire people who are unbiased towards Freo, but they don't and seem happy to alienate Freo supporters. Channel ten are the only TV station or newspaper that comes to mind which gives a reasonably level view.

I would estimate that the audience base on 6pr for their nightly sports show would be 70% eagles supporters, 15% Freo supporters and 15% supporters of other clubs. It's basically a show for eagles supporters. The amount of times a caller rings up and says "I'm an eagles member, but I think the problem with the dockers is ................. , well I've lost count. Like we're dying to know because if your an eagles member your obviously an authority on all things football. I'm happy that CC won't talk to them. I'm happy with the us versus them sentiment. He's been criticised heavily for doing too much media, but when he doesn't want to talk there's an uproar. They've put the boot in at every oppurtunity and now we're letting them know we're not happy. If your pedalling an agenda good luck to you, but we're not going to give you ammunition.

The west Australian is great at rolling out an "expert" for a negative comment on anything regarding Freo. I'm not sure of David Schwartz' position in the Victorian media, but he's certainly not a well known football critic in W.A. And although he was a good football player, he will be remembered by most for copping a pie in the face on the footy show. Maybe this is why he's bitter and willing to make a negative comment to keep his name in the paper. How nice of the west to provide that avenue, just like they do with Robert Walls every time they want to write a negative article on Fremantle. I'm sure he would be happy to have a crack at west coast after a disappointing loss. He could quite easily give an opinion on why Matera and Sampi are getting a game when they can't get a kick. But ofcourse the dockers are the only side with 2 inconsistent small forwards. Mike Sheehan and Gerard Healy have always given an impartial view on Freo, but it's unlikely they'll be quoted in the west any time soon.

dominguez said:
We know most members of the W.A. media are either former eagles players or west coast supporters. The various media organisations in this state could quite easily hire people who are unbiased towards Freo, but they don't and seem happy to alienate Freo supporters. Channel ten are the only TV station or newspaper that comes to mind which gives a reasonably level view.

May I give a perspective from someone who has been here 5 years. I tend to agree with some of the comments..for example I sent an email to the 6pr people asking if Woosha was coaching Freo and in the same position, what would they be saying? I also pointed out that with Worsfold being a WA idol , it is easier to attack CC because he is an ''outsider'' than it is to attack a legend

I would estimate that the audience base on 6pr for their nightly sports show would be 70% eagles supporters, 15% Freo supporters and 15% supporters of other clubs. It's basically a show for eagles supporters. The amount of times a caller rings up and says "I'm an eagles member, but I think the problem with the dockers is ................. , well I've lost count. Like we're dying to know because if your an eagles member your obviously an authority on all things football.

So why is there that imbalance? If you want to dominate the show ring up...if you dont say what you want then the bias will continue ..or conversely dont want to hear Eagles members ..ring up and take their oxygen.
I'm happy that CC won't talk to them. I'm happy with the us versus them sentiment. He's been criticised heavily for doing too much media, but when he doesn't want to talk there's an uproar. They've put the boot in at every oppurtunity and now we're letting them know we're not happy. If your pedalling an agenda good luck to you, but we're not going to give you ammunition
But when the Fremantle football club wish to give out information what method do they use? Its all well and good saying ''dont talk to 6pr'' but if 6pr get a phone call from Fremantle asking to promote a club event would you expect 6pr to turn around and say no?

I wish CC would do as Buddha Hocking did and fire up and give it back...at least it would show he has passion.

As a supporter to make 6pr aware of your feelings you need to get a list of sponsors to the show , then write them an email , with a copy to the station telling them as long as they continue to sponsor 6pr sport show , you will not purchase any of their products.

dominguez said:
I would estimate that the audience base on 6pr for their nightly sports show would be 70% eagles supporters, 15% Freo supporters and 15% supporters of other clubs.

The west Australian is great at rolling out an "expert" for a negative comment on anything regarding Freo.

The listener base for 6PR at any given time would be 100% slow learners.

The Worst Australian is a parochial second rate rag that doesn't have any experts, it's virtually a written version of 6PR.

YAKUZA said:
The listener base for 6PR at any given time would be 100% slow learners.

The Worst Australian is a parochial second rate rag that doesn't have any experts, it's virtually a written version of 6PR.
I'm of the same opinion too, boy do I feel dirty. ;)

Thanks for giving a a perspective that isn't from a Freo or waist coat supporter PerthCrow. The only point in ringing in is if you value the opinion of Barra or Hardie on a particular topic. I don't. I doubt that the Fremantle Football Club would rely on 6pr as a vehicle to pass on information to members because they realise that few of us listen on a regular basis. They're much more likely to use the official website or television.

When Chris Waterman was asked by a journo at the airport Today if the club was disappointed about the media attention our start to the season has attracted, he replied with- We're used to it at Fremantle, there's a couple of people who would be critical of us if we were currently 3-0.

The 'Demolition Derby' was 5 years ago. Time flies hey? I doubt anyone even remembers what was written. I certainly don't.

Its an area Freo need to work on. Media relations. We have got the financial side working well, ignoring Allphones which just smacks of a sponsor looking for a way out for whatever reason.

The Weevils have always been very professional with the media, used career footy journo's like Stocks who are well known footy writers and have connections enabling the right messages to get out and negative stories to be calmed and controlled.

Perhaps its time we employed a career footy journo to handle our media relations instead of the hacks we have now. They arent getting the message across. We shouldnt have to have ppl like Waterman having to say the bleeding obvious.

yep, the whole of perth's media contingent is going after the dockers.

naturally, you have given then anything to go with have you?

- you have a coach who one minute cant get enough media and the next he's snubbing them. the term 'use and abuse comes to mind'.
- you have lost 2 games after being up by 20pts in the third quarter
- you have lost a major sponsor.
- you reappointed a coach 1 yr prior to his contract expiry. even though he is far from proven and no other coach in the AFL is out of contract hence no club will take CC from you.
- you have a poor history, a history which in theory should be rectified by the AFL's drafting system with which netted you guys like longmuir, pavlich, hasleby et al. you have have just a good a run at the draft table as the saints. where did they finish last year?
- you have an out of control forward pocket who takes anger managmenet classes.

need i go on?

as you can see, you have alot of issues which are merely discussed. that is the media's role.

pav_is_god said:
Mate, we all know the WA media is run by Weagles supporters, so just pay no attention.

Yes the world is against the dockers including all your sponsors or should I say "ex"

Freo Shark said:
Its an area Freo need to work on. Media relations. We have got the financial side working well, ignoring Allphones which just smacks of a sponsor looking for a way out for whatever reason.
The Weevils have always been very professional with the media, used career footy journo's like Stocks who are well known footy writers and have connections enabling the right messages to get out and negative stories to be calmed and controlled.

Perhaps its time we employed a career footy journo to handle our media relations instead of the hacks we have now. They arent getting the message across. We shouldnt have to have ppl like Waterman having to say the bleeding obvious.

Dear oh dear.....you are really deluded. Fancy suing a past sponsor...real good look for a future sponsor !! and I guess Bankwest is another sponsor who is looking for a way out ? Wonder why that would be ?

theorangeapple said:
- you have a coach who one minute cant get enough media and the next he's snubbing them. the term 'use and abuse comes to mind'.
- you have lost 2 games after being up by 20pts in the third quarter
- you have lost a major sponsor.
- you reappointed a coach 1 yr prior to his contract expiry. even though he is far from proven and no other coach in the AFL is out of contract hence no club will take CC from you.
- you have a poor history, a history which in theory should be rectified by the AFL's drafting system with which netted you guys like longmuir, pavlich, hasleby et al. you have have just a good a run at the draft table as the saints. where did they finish last year?
- you have an out of control forward pocket who takes anger managmenet classes.

as you can see, you have alot of issues which are merely discussed. that is the media's role.

- CC has been copping it after every loss for 18 months for spending too much time in the media instead of concentrating on the job at hand. Now that he's cut back there's an outcry. A contradiction?
- Against quality opposition, and so have Brisbane.
- We'll get another one.
- CC was recontracted to reassure everyone that we're together for the long haul. Without that contract the beat up would currently be about who is going to coach us next year, instead of bankwest and David Schwartz.
- The saints finished above us last year. We finished above them in '03. We're currently ahead of them this season. I wouldn't say that there is a gulf between the two sides, as was illustrated a fortnight ago.
- Farmer has been more productive in the first 3 rounds than Matera and Sampi.

Sure the medias role is to discuss all aspects of a club. But they focus on the negatives. Some examples in the past week are that- Danny Green was at training during the week, but no article, just a photograph. Scott Fisher was also at training in a Fremantle shirt during the week, which would have been a meeting of the minds, 2 champions working together or something similar at west coast, but didn't get a mention at Freo. Murphy and Mundy re-signing could have been an article and a photo instead of a paragraph at the end of another story. It would have been if it was Hansen and Butler committing long term to their club. And who cares what David Schwartz thinks?

Freo members and supporters should now not do any buisness with allphones. Cancell any accounts with bank west. Get a siege mentallity firmly in place. Let it be known we as a members and supporters of The Fremantle Football club dont give a s##t what the press, other clubs or organisations think.

Sheedy remarked at the end of 2003 (when we lost that final) something about our supporters that made me feel proud.

Connelly himself was blown away when a crowd turned up at Perth airport to welcome back the team after a good win.

As supporters we just have to keep doing what we have done since 1995 and sponsors will fall over themselves to be associated with The Freo Dockers.

dugrene said:
Freo members and supporters should now not do any buisness with allphones. Cancell any accounts with bank west. Get a siege mentallity firmly in place. Let it be known we as a members and supporters of The Fremantle Football club dont give a s##t what the press, other clubs or organisations think.

Sheedy remarked at the end of 2003 (when we lost that final) something about our supporters that made me feel proud.

Connelly himself was blown away when a crowd turned up at Perth airport to welcome back the team after a good win.

As supporters we just have to keep doing what we have done since 1995 and sponsors will fall over themselves to be associated with The Freo Dockers.

Well said, that's the sort of attitude that everyone at your Club, particularly CC, should adopt then you will earn respect. Don't take SH-T from anyone!

Don't worry about the pesky media. "Bob from Meekatharra" was on 720 this morning sorting them out.

YAKUZA said:
Well said, that's the sort of attitude that everyone at your Club, particularly CC, should adopt then you will earn respect. Don't take SH-T from anyone!

Your mob set a good example.

No complaints. Just get tougher.

Freo can only shut the media, opposition and doubting supporters etc etc up by putting it together on the football field and winning some games. This is all that matters and get this right and many other things fall into place.

Unfortunately the focus of the club seems to be everything else, except getting it right on the football field. Re-appointing "no idea" Connolly again, when he has done nothing to deserve it, is going to get the criticism that it deserves.

Freo are happy to take members money year in and year out and deliver the same **** on the football field. The same old thing of close misses, failures at critical games, young team, potential etc etc wears thin after awhile and it opens Freo up the criticism it copping.

It does not surprise me that sponsers are walking away. You have to be passionate to stay with Freo.

jarman said:
Freo can only shut the media, opposition and doubting supporters etc etc up by putting it together on the football field and winning some games. This is all that matters and get this right and many other things fall into place.

Starting tomorrow.

jarman said:
It does not surprise me that sponsers are walking away. You have to be passionate to stay with Freo.

Aint that the truth.

I was at work this morning listening to 720. Glen Mitchell must be one of the journos on the Freo black list cause he spent more time stickiing into Freo than I thought possible from a so called commentator. He must have had a guilty concience cause he asked a caller who said something about picking on Freo if he (the caller) was talking about him (mitchell) . " No said the caller"

Listening to the Subi Egirls game today I reckon he just about off-loaded when " Matera Magic" kicked a goal.

Mitchell is joke.