Costanza_

West Ham United
Having joined this board recently, and seeing the passion that is out there for the Red and White, I've had time to reflect on how much joy and pain the Swans have brought me over the years. What are the games that most stand out in your memory? The ultimate highs and the devestating lows?

The memorable highs for me;

• 2005 Grand Final - Will never be topped, even by another premiership.
  • 1996 Prelim V Essendon - Absolute fairytale, couldn't have scripted it better. And on the back of those long, dark years, it was so surreal to think we would be playing in a GF.
  • 2005 Semi V Geelong - Absolute disgrace of a game barring that last 10 minutes, which made it seem all the more sweet.
  • 1993 V Melbourne - Only win of the year if I recall correctly, completely unexpected.
  • 2006 Grand Final - Heart-breaking loss, but few things in the world must compare to the atmosphere of a packed MCG watching a 1-point GF.
There are others, but those are the one's that spring to mind.

The lows;

• Conversely, hearing the final siren of the '06 granny.
  • A game V St. Kilda (92 maybe??) where Lockett kicked 5 or so goals in the final quarter to destroy our huge lead and beat us by a kick.
  • 2003 Prelim V Brisbane - Such high hopes at 3/4 time, only to get annihilated in the fourth.
  • The draw against the Saints a few years back, where someone hit the post with seconds to go. Probably the worst game of football I've ever seen.

The best:
2005 Grand Final, I cried like a bitch and people bought me drinks, hugged lots of randoms, so much love in that one room at the Beach Road Hotel
2005 semi final against Geelong, I was at the game and hugged so many randoms, it was fantastic

The worst:
A game against Collingwood in the late 90s, I would have been about 12 or 13 years old, it was pissing down with rain, freezing cold, and we lost in the last few minutes, and I cried, and a Collingwood fan ran up and took a photo of me :mad:
2006 Grand Final...sorry but I can't even appreciate it for being a good contest and an exciting game of footy. I just remember seeing my fave player sit down and start crying at the end of the game, and then I just started crying too...it was an awful feeling!

craig1-1-1.jpg

Lows
vs. Essendon, Rd 20 2001
We had led the top of the table Bombers from the opening bounce, played some brilliant footy all day, and with four seconds left, Steve Alessio stepped in to steal the match. It was the first time I ever cried at a footy match.
ales_120801-3.jpg

vs. Footscray, Rd 20 1998
We'd come back and back and back again after the Dogs opened up a four goal lead in the opening term, a massive game for whoever won (under the old final 8 system) would basically have a home preliminary final. We pegged them back to lead by two goals after a sensational 3rd term from Lockett and Roos and Cressa, and then Paul Hudson kicked a goal with a minute left on the clock to have the Doggies home by two points. It was a very cold and windy and lonely feeling making that long, long walk to the car at Waverley Park.
141667.jpg
138842.jpg

Highs
vs. North, Rd 4 1999
Down by 6 goals at half time, with Kelly and Cressa inspiring us, we came back from the dead to win by two points, Kelly kicking probably the greatest - maybe 2nd greatest to Robbie Ahmat's - goal I have ever seen in a Bloods jumper.

vs. Eagles, GF 2005
Self explanitory.
53273.jpg

vs. Saints, PF 2005
Schneider leapt up into the centre of my heart on this night, when previously he was just skirting around the arteries. I would almost go close to saying this was a better feeling than the win a week later... almost. But an unbelievable night.
60645.jpg

vs. Eagles, QF 2006
One of those days that you look back on with fondness, but will never be that high up because of what happened a few weeks later. But what a win that was, Micky getting into the face of John Candy took the cake, but I'm sure he took a few cakes for himself as well anyway.

vs. Cats, SF 2005
I've never liked Nick Davis, but I will always be forever indebted to him for his heroics to drag us back from the dead that night. I'm sure I don't have to explain it, if you haven't seen this you aren't a Swans fan. Those last three finals in 05, what a three weeks it was.
60550.jpg

vs. Brisbane, Rd 7 2003
Brisbane were unbeaten and were coming off back-to-back flags, and our odds were at over $4, but I stuck my tape in the VCR cause I had a feeling we could knock them off. Micky came out firing and the rest of the team followed in suit. I've still got the tape of this and I watch it probably once or twice a year, usually during cricket season when I'm hanging out for a bit of footy. Great day.

vs. Port Adelaide, QF 2003
Another game where we were completely written off but amazingly pulled off one of those Swans performances. Just amazing. It was one of the best days of my life as I'd just won a U14s premiership a few hours earlier. Another one of those great days.
119832.jpg

[*]The draw against the Saints a few years back, where someone hit the post with seconds to go. Probably the worst game of football I've ever seen.
[/LIST]

Soz, not a Swans fan (but a Swans admirer, FWIW) - the Saint in question was Daniel Wolf. Chrisso called that passage of play very well, and the emotion captured on Butterss' face post-match was clear to see. I think Dal Santo had a shot after the bell (in about his third game), but fell just short with a barrell.

Highs
vs. North, Rd 4 1999 - Down by 6 goals at half time, with Kelly and Cressa inspiring us, we came back from the dead to win by two points, Kelly kicking probably the greatest - maybe 2nd greatest to Robbie Ahmat's - goal I have ever seen in a Bloods jumper.

Oh yes I remember this!! Awesome! I miss Kel :(

vs. Eagles, QF 2006 -
One of those days that you look back on with fondness, but will never be that high up because of what happened a few weeks later. But what a win that was, Micky getting into the face of John Candy took the cake, but I'm sure he took a few cakes for himself as well anyway.

Hahaha, he took a few too many cakes if you want my opinion.

Soz, not a Swans fan (but a Swans admirer, FWIW) - the Saint in question was Daniel Wolf.

Cheers. I should have been ecstastic that we'd escaped with a draw. But the horror of those 4 quarters drained any possible joy.

vs. Eagles, QF 2006 -

0,5001,5241316,00.jpg

I look for him every time we play the Eagles. Jesus that was a good night, good selection.

I've only jumped on the bandwagon back in 2004 so my memories for the Swannies wouldn't extend that far compared to yours.

Highs:

Elimination Final against West Coast 2004
First game I watched. First win I witnessed, and as a result, I was hooked on to AFL. A good win but the thunderstorm was abit of the worry. *Shake down the thunder*

Prelim Final 2005
Everyone had their doubts about us winning. It was a great win... the schneiderman.

QF 2006
I was on cloud 9 afterwards. What a thrilling win... but... 3 weeks laterr...

2005 Semi-Final against Geelong
NICK DAVIS! NICK DAVIS! I DON'T BELIEVE IT! I SEE IT BUT A I DON'T BELIEVE IT. Enough said.

2005 Grand Final
HERE IT IS. Well yeah.

Round 3 2005 against Brisbane Lions
What a comeback, and with Hally kicking after the siren. I went ballistic. I loved the reaction from Roosy after the siren went.

MOL'S 261ST game for the Red and White
It was cold, raining and bloody freezing. Was a scrappy game but it was full of emotions. Bravo to MOL.

Lows

2006 Grand Final
Okay, when I hear those three words.. I can see is Dean Cox's arms in the air, Goodes crying on the floor and Brett Kirk lying flat on the ground. Okay.. Now I'm getting all teary thinking about it. :(

Essendon 2007 - lost by one point
Okay, still filthy about it. It was clear that McPhee was kicking that ball from the Ladies Stands. And the FAT POST.

I have come to love and hate many games of the swans
all i know is that they bring me pure joy and im so very very proud to support such a wonderful talented and brave bunch of guys.

Ive screamed, ive cried (happy and sad tears) ive eaten the weight of Barry Hall in junk food, ive screamed out car windows in utter joy, stopped traffic with my swans scarf when we won the granny, locked myself for days in my room when we lost (well mostly just that arvo/night) that granny, ive kissed my tv screen, ive hugged randoms, ive flipped off a few people, ive lost all my nails, needed several by-pass surgeries and have offered my body up for baby making for many of our players!

All games mentioned have held a special place for me

but the top...2005 "HERE IT IS" i cried for a long time hearing those words

and i will always loves those Three amazing goals Snides got so proud i was

CARN THE BLOODS!

My first ever live game. It was against Geelong I think in 97, we smashed them by 100+ points, there was a big lump of a lad called Brent Green who impressed me to no end kicked 2 goals. Leo was playing up forward, he kicked a couple and there was another young lad Saddington who was touted to be the next big thing.

vs. Footscray, Rd 20 2000
We'd come back and back and back again after the Dogs opened up a four goal lead in the opening term, a massive game for whoever won (under the old final 8 system) would basically have a home preliminary final. We pegged them back to lead by two goals after a sensational 3rd term from Lockett and Roos and Cressa, and then James Cook kicked a goal with a minute left on the clock to have the Doggies home by two points. It was a very cold and windy and lonely feeling making that long, long walk to the car at Waverley Park.

That match was in 98. ;) And i'm certain it was Paul Hudson who kicked the winner.

For me the highs have already been mentioned. Although vs Port in 03 and the QF in 06 are the 2 best.

Living in Adelaide I only got to see the boys play live once a year if i'm lucky. Most of the times i the crows beat us, so last week game will be memorable for me.
Other highs:
2005- GF, PF and SF
2005- Against Bris 32 pts down at half time
1996- PF
2003- QF So good end up sitting in the prot cheer squad and got abused all game bt cheered like nothing, looking back on it i wouldn't be so bold.

Lows are the obvious ones.

That match was in 98. ;) And i'm certain it was Paul Hudson who kicked the winner.

For me the highs have already been mentioned. Although vs Port in 03 and the QF in 06 are the 2 best.
That's it, it was a bit blurry cause I was only a young'n, but the fundamentals of the day were there.

Well, can't be stuffed listing everything since everyone's basically done it for me anyway.

So I'll just put in some moments that made me cry out of pain and made me cry out of pure happiness;

WOO!

- Cap'n Kirk getting up on the dais and yelling out 'This is for the Bloods'
- Leo's mark. Can't forget it. Ever.
- Tadhg's Irish jig with beer in hand
- 1996 v. Roos - RIPPER!
- Nick Davis kicking that goal (I still love you Nick - you made my family shut up for years :()
- MickyO's goal rather than his celebration.
- Whenever a defender kicks a goal .. love it :D

NOO!

- Seeing Brettles break down on GF day and cry .. I swore I wasn't going to cry but then I saw him and the tears came :(
- Last year vs. the pies @ MCG. I thought we were done for.
- Ablett kicking straight to Cuz.

That's all I can remember right now.

Oh shit. NM :p

'96 v. Roos. Just for the sentimentality of getting into a GF, can't remember my reaction when we lost ..

Just about all the real standouts for me have already been mentioned but the final against the Hawks in '96 is up there for me too. I travelled up to Sydney with the family for that game and the prelim as well.

Agree with all of above. But the 20005 semi against Geelong is burned in my
memory. Flew down on my own,was lucky to get a ticket,right in the middle
of a pack of Geelong supporters. Snuck out at 3 quarter time and stood at the back of stand with a bunch of sad Swans supporters,ready for a quick
exit.Then Davis decides to play! The rest is history! I have never hugged and
kissed so many Swans fans in my life! Went to pub across the road after,
samething! Pub is rocking,fans spilling into the street drinking on the footpath,
on the road,cops driving past,turning a blind eye to the mayhem. What a night!!!

Agree with all of above. But the 20005 semi against Geelong is burned in my
memory. Flew down on my own,was lucky to get a ticket,right in the middle
of a pack of Geelong supporters. Snuck out at 3 quarter time and stood at the back of stand with a bunch of sad Swans supporters,ready for a quick
exit.Then Davis decides to play! The rest is history! I have never hugged and
kissed so many Swans fans in my life! Went to pub across the road after,
samething! Pub is rocking,fans spilling into the street drinking on the footpath,
on the road,cops driving past,turning a blind eye to the mayhem. What a night!!!

Yeah, that game is a standout for me too, second only to the Premiership. I had a car accident that afternoon leaving uni and was feeling pretty low and sorry for myself until Mr Davis started his magic. One of the best nights ever @ the SCG, will never forget it. :thumbsu::)

Just about all the real standouts for me have already been mentioned but the final against the Hawks in '96 is up there for me too. I travelled up to Sydney with the family for that game and the prelim as well.

That was a good game. I think it gets forgotten because of the prelim final.