Memory Lane... Crows vs Blues

Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
Welcome to Part 3 of our 17 part series of Memory Lane reminiscences. In this edition Adelaide and Carlton fans can go digging through their memory banks to recall some Adelaide-Carlton gold of yesteryear.

What do you remember about Adelaide-Carlton clashes over the years?

Surely the Harry Madden/Shaun Rehn chase in the 1993 semi final ranks high.

What about the Fevola goal in 2004? Kicking from the Scott Hodges pocket from Row G, somehow it bent into the wind, doubled back on itself, got caught in a thermal, spiralled, then the ball turned itself inside out before squeaking through for the winning goal. Ayres lasted two more games.

Funnily enough, the game I remember most was our first one. In Round 2 1991 we were coming off the most amazing entry to the AFL competition imaginable. We were unstoppable. We'd trounced the mighty Hawks. The Vics were going to yield to the power of the Might Croweaters. Like most South Aussie kids of the day, I had caught Crows Fever.

I couldn't go to the second game, a dreaded family event getting in the way. I still remember the rage when mum told me about the clash. The afternoon dragged on - no mobile phones, no access, no scores. Finally we were able to drag ourselves away and made our exit. I raced to the car to tune in on the radio and catch the last bit of the fourth quarter.

I was almost giddy with excitement as I fumbled with the dial. How much were we winning by? How many goals had Eddie kicked this week? What...?! We're losing? I was absolutely stunned. If I was old enough to have been driving I would have crashed the car. It was a rude awakening. Welcome to the AFL.

2001 at Footy Park. Jarman kicked a pearler in the last to seal our place in the finals.

We then preceded to lose to Freo in Round 22, their 2nd win for the year, so instead of finishing 6th with a home final we finish 8th and are forced to travel to the G and get spanked by... Carlton.

2001 at Footy Park. Jarman kicked a pearler in the last to seal our place in the finals.

We then preceded to lose to Freo in Round 22, their 2nd win for the year, so instead of finishing 6th with a home final we finish 8th and are forced to travel to the G and get spanked by... Carlton.

That was the match where Ben Marsh dropped that easy mark in the goal square wasnt it? That was a very dirty day for the AFC.

Funnily enough, the game I remember most was our first one. In Round 2 1991 we were coming off the most amazing entry to the AFL competition imaginable. We were unstoppable. We'd trounced the mighty Hawks. The Vics were going to yield to the power of the Might Croweaters. Like most South Aussie kids of the day, I had caught Crows Fever.

I couldn't go to the second game, a dreaded family event getting in the way. I still remember the rage when mum told me about the clash. The afternoon dragged on - no mobile phones, no access, no scores. Finally we were able to drag ourselves away and made our exit. I raced to the car to tune in on the radio and catch the last bit of the fourth quarter.

I was almost giddy with excitement as I fumbled with the dial. How much were we winning by? How many goals had Eddie kicked this week? What...?! We're losing? I was absolutely stunned. If I was old enough to have been driving I would have crashed the car. It was a rude awakening. Welcome to the AFL.

This is my memory as well, well not your family event of the fumbling of the radio dial but the game itself. 21 years latter, I don't have many if actual any memories from the actual game expect realizing how hard and fickle the AFL competition was going to be.

I remember thinking, this is the big time unlike the week before. For some reason, that didn't feel like the big time as this was the mighty Carlton, Kernahan, Bradley, et el and it was also Jack 'Pigs Arse' Elliot team coming to town only to lose and reality set in and that a love affair with a new girl was just beginning. Her name was Adelaide "crow" with red, blue and yellow hair.

Then 2 years latter, we were playing the same team in a semi final and not knowing how close we were to come to a GF if only we kicked straight at Waverly Park. 21 years latter, the Crows still have the same trouble of not kicking straight in front of goals.

Bring on the Blue baggers. :thumbsu:

993679-brett-burton.jpg

Princess Park, 2001

Absolute stinker of day - miserable rain, probably less than 10 degrees. Only maybe 15 goals total kicked between the two sides.

Mark Ricciuto stands up to kick 4 goals to single handedly will us over the line in.

[youtube]e2hs7OtMfmE[/youtube]

Was at that game. **** it was cold and wet. I think that was the wettest I've ever been at a game.

It rained all day but very glad we got the victory. Walked out of Optus Oval that day and said, we'll play finals that day.

Was raining at alot of Blues games over the years from memory. That game at princess park the old man, brother and I were up camping and hiking in mount crawford forest. Tuned into the game when it was on though and living every second of Roo smashing through the blues half back line and kicking goal after captains goal. Classic Roo.

I remember piling onto a bus with a couple of friends from uni to go to this game:
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=109
To be honest.. not sure I remember much. Scotty Lee stood strong a few times. I got lost in the melbourne cemetery onto the way to the game (**** its huge). Drank too much gin and coke (yes.. gin and coke.. can't remember why we were drinking that only that it made us giggle then and we were ****ing shit faced. 3 blokes, 1 girl and I think we all wanted to impress her. Not sure why we thought drinking gin would do it). I do recall 'Ingo!' getting called out a few times. Took a few great grabs and kicked some goals. Perhaps the most vivid memory is of the beer cans covering the concrete steps/standing area behind the goals. They were littered everywhere after the game and made a fantastic crunching sound as the crowd moved out. I kept thinking, 'Why the **** can't we drink beer back home!'. (or gin...)

I kept trying to think up the game I went to vs the blues that was pissing down with rain and Jon Dorotich kicked a bag... surely that wasn't our 2nd game ever? Seems it may have been:
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=3960
My recollection though was we had played for a bit.. maybe just the media wave of excitement had already been going 6 months.. and was on a high because of the hawks win the week before. Anyway, my uncle from Whyalla was down and we went to the game with him. He is a classic shit stirrer, a saints fan, and not a crows fan in the slightest. He was hanging shit on us ALL day. Dorotich was on fire and like some above have said, the fickle nature of playing in the AFL was rammed home to all the young bright eyed South Aussies ;)

And who can forget the first game of 1994! At home vs the blues. Pumped up after a 1993 that set the state alight. Modra - 13 marks, 13 goals. His highest tally ever I think. Nigel Smart prowling across HF and dominating Mil Hanna. Shaun Rehn drifting across packs at will to take 11 marks. Tony Hall, our off season pickup who had a pocket named after him a few years earlier and was to be Mod's foil, kicking a lazy 3. Ando, another offseason recruit, lighting up a wing A young Chris Groom showing just enough to ensure he was good trade bait... Was an amazing game that just continued the fever of 1993, dominated the blues to win by over 10 goals. We were set for 1994 - on our way back to the finals and we wouldn't make the same mistakes as the year before. Later that year... see game above.. our record at 6-8 and we would go on to miss the finals all together and part ways with our inaugral coach.

And the last game of 2009 - what a cracker. I just had a feeling about that game. Had been working in Perth on and off for a number of months and the missus had a tuperware party or something on the Friday night I was coming home from a busy 2 weeks in Perth. I rang the old man and brother mid-week and said - why don't we drive over for the game. It had been a few years since we had done it. So I arrived home on teh late flight from Perth, pretty much went straight to bed. Got up at 4am and piled in the car with brother and old man. Drove straight over, parked somewhere out in footscray and caught the train in to Etihad. I looked at the team on paper and thought.. shejus.. this forward line could very well be the best one we've put on the park EVER. Out the boys came and gave Carlton a bath. Everyone was in the goals (tips 4, porps 4, knight 4, vince 3, hentschel 2, danger 2, tons of singles). Burton took mark of the year. Hentschell was showing he might be able to get back to his best. Tips/Porps dominating. Knighta super dangerous and giving us drive from the wing forward. Even good old Jimmy Sellar contributed heavily down back and in the ruck. Bernie in Brownlow form. Macca looking like he had rolled back the clock. Won the game, on a high, train back out to footscray back in the car and drove home again. Great roadtrip.

That was the match where Ben Marsh dropped that easy mark in the goal square wasnt it? That was a very dirty day for the AFC.

Even though we lost by 70 points and got flogged - I always blamed Ben Marsh for that loss. Dropped the sitter in the Goalsquare and also very early on got caught holding the ball when we were about to go inside 50 and Carlton took it and kicked a goal...

Probably wouldn't have changed much, but still.

My favourite regular season game I've attended. Drove over with a Carlton-supporting mate who was giving us heaps as we fell behind early.

He ended up throwing the toys out of the pram and leaving at 3 quarter time. :cool:
quite a few carlton fans left early that day. we went over for that game and a group of us were copping it from a bunch of elderly carlton mafia types sitting behind us - even an 8 year old girl who was sitting a few rows in front of us was told to "sit the **** down you little $lut" by one of these heroes..

they left when burton took the mark of the century. i was right in front of it. looking at the replay i found myself jumping around like we'd won the premiership, which at that point looked like it was indeed possible

round 4 2001 also holds special memories, garry ayres was massively under the pump after we'd started the year 0-3, and roo came out and delivered one of the great chokeslam's i've ever seen on lance whitnall - stone cold steve austin would have been proud of this baby. i also remember that the game could have been called off due to lightning around the area at the time, thankfully this just resulted in 3-4 inches of rain instead! :)

and roo came out and delivered one of the great chokeslam's i've ever seen on lance whitnall

Roo was on a mission that day, think Lance then want on and missed the free kick for goal from the goal square.

Funny how sitting in the outer during a thunder storm ain't so bad when you not only win but serve it up to the opposition in the process.

Have never been able to shake Fevola after the siren :(
funnily enough, i found myself watching that gamea a week or so ago, for purposes unknown (maybe i'm a sucker for punishment or something)

i don't think a better goal has been kicked at footy park. johncock had a chance with 30 seconds to go to slot one from the tony hall pocket, put it out on the full

cost garry ayres his job at adelaide, even though he still coached us for a month or so more

The 2 that stick out for me are Roo in the wet at Princes Park and Round 22 09 at Etihad.

The one in 09 we went over in the Crowsjet. Bocky was on the plane (got 2 guernseys's signed by Bock which are now delegated to the top of the cupboard never to be worn again) There were some Blues fans on the plane giving the crows people a fair bit of stick. From memory they kicked the first few and it was looking like a dirty day. Then I don;t know what happened but we played some of the best footy I've seen us play (until last weekend of course) and smashed them. Burton mark of they year. Free booze on the crowsjet home - Great day.

Will also never forget Fev after the siren. Was at work that day watching whenever I had a free moment. Could not believe what I witnessed in that last quarter.

two not mentioned so far: Round 1 1994 when Modra kicked 13 on Silvagni and Round 9 2009 when we kicked the first 9 goals of the match and held Carlton to a goal in the first half, from memory it was one of the first matches when Knights was played at half forward, kicking 5 including one monster from 75.

Just checked, Round 17 Vs Carlton 1991 was only our second ever win in Melbourne.

7.13=55 D 6.12=48

For a second, I was thinking this was our first every win in Melbourne n but forgot about Richmond, round 13 1991

Went across on the bus in '91 for this match.
Princes Park was a mud heap, we only kicked 1 goal in the 2nd half, but held on to win by 7 pts.
John Klug and Michael Murphy kicked 2 each (Jameson 1.5 !) and I'm pretty sure Murphy got reported for striking.

Went across on the bus in '91 for this match.
Princes Park was a mud heap, we only kicked 1 goal in the 2nd half, but held on to win by 7 pts.
John Klug and Michael Murphy kicked 2 each (Jameson 1.5 !) and I'm pretty sure Murphy got reported for striking.

That's a given but. He was reported almost every game. :D

two not mentioned so far: Round 1 1994 when Modra kicked 13 on Silvagni and Round 9 2009 when we kicked the first 9 goals of the match and held Carlton to a goal in the first half, from memory it was one of the first matches when Knights was played at half forward, kicking 5 including one monster from 75.

ahem...

cost garry ayres his job at adelaide, even though he still coached us for a month or so more

I think the fact the players thought he was a dick head, cost him his job. The Fev kick just brought it forward a number of weeks and made the board act on it's plans.