MFC wiki?

AFC Wimbledon, Atlanta Braves
http://www.blueseum.org/tiki-index.php?page=1977 Little League

I cracked up laughing when I saw that page. I'm reasonably tech-savvy so I may take a look when uni exams are over. You see tonnes of wiki pages popping up for movie universes (like lord of the rings etc) and video games. I think that you can get free ones but they may just have a few inbuilt ads and limited features.

Would be a riot of a feature though.

Thanks for the kind words guys.

Happy to help anyone out with advice for anyone wanting to start one of these for Melbourne.

For starters the software used for the Blueseum is tikiwiki. There are several excellent open source wiki software packages out there that will do the job though.

Most important thing you need is a group of dedicated volunteers. Once it gets rolling it can really snowball. The Blueseum is only 4 years old and now has thousands of pages of information. Yes even the little league! :)

Thanks for the kind words guys.

Happy to help anyone out with advice for anyone wanting to start one of these for Melbourne.

For starters the software used for the Blueseum is tikiwiki. There are several excellent open source wiki software packages out there that will do the job though.

Most important thing you need is a group of dedicated volunteers. Once it gets rolling it can really snowball. The Blueseum is only 4 years old and now has thousands of pages of information. Yes even the little league! :)

Thanks for the tip and the offer of assistance Blueseum, much appreciated mate.

I reckon we'll have to check this particular Wiki out as a useful model to follow in the construction of a Demons wiki, and I think I'll make a similar suggestion over on the Roys board as well...

Can anyone remember back Barry Bourke fell across Hudson's leg @ Glenferrie oval ???.... or us winning the 1st eight games of the year ( it happened a few times) then failing to make the finals?.... what about, Greg Wells bursting onto the scene ?.... God this pain of no premiership that I have lived with for so long must end soon....

Hi guys, back again. My favourite uncle is a mad Melbourne supporter and always rings me when the Blues get thrashed. :D So I have a bit of a soft spot for the grand old flag.

Got a few more general points to make with regards to setting up a footy club wiki. This might not be the secret for every club but I reckon these general rules will give you a good chance of setting up a decent site.

1) provide the canvas, what that means is create the structure first before asking people to add to it. My basic method was providing a blank page for every player and every match for the club. To me they were the backbone of the site and still are. If those pages were not provided it woulod have been a lot more difficult for volunteers to add content. You need to make the pages and provide a menu system that links to the blank pages so they are easy to find and navigate. It's a lot of work, but is needed for success IMO.

2) contacts. I was lucky, I knew people at the club and worked for the official club site as an article writer (footygeek). This mean I could use my board contacts and website contacts to push this site at the club, eventually after many meetings and discussions we came to an arrangement where the Blueseum and official website were 'partners' with links to each other, we would also provide articles for the official site. I was also lucky that a prominant media personality and a club statistician helped the cause early on, one provided some provenence to the site, the other the nuts and bolts of the site in terms of statistics, scores, and every player detail you could imagine.

3) promotion. You need the co-operation of at least one busy club forum to get the site out in front of the fans. This is where you recruit your passionate volunteers. They are out there and they are not necessarily people who post online a lot. Most of the time they are occasional lurkers, but when they find a great cause (which is basically helping record the history of your club) they will latch on with passion. It can be frustrating, for every 100 people you sign up only one might be a good contributor. But you only need a handful of good workers given specific jobs to make a wiki expand very quickly.

If you have any specific questions I am happy to answer them.

Attention friends.

Do you like stats? Do you have too much time on your hands? Are you totally autistic about this shit like I am?

Then the MFC Wiki is the place for you.

It's not publically open yet, but PM me if you want to contribute and I'll provide the URL. Limited numbers only atm because there's not a massive amount there - though we are working on a lot of backbone.

I enjoy useless stats and trivia ... things such as Carl Lewis was drafted by the Chicago Bulls in 1984 ... If i can be any help let me know... lets create some t-tests and variance co-variance stuffs!

I can't open a new thread - due to a moment of indiscretion when I suggested the people of Bay 13 were intellectually challenged - so I'll post this here.

I don't know if anyone has seen this but there's a fair chunk of old Age/Herald Sun newspapers digitised and available to browse by searching through this site.

http://www.google.com/archivesearch/advanced_search

I did a Google search for Dannie Seow (don't ask why) and an article about him coming back into the side for R20, 1989 came up.

It's pretty hit and miss (no articles on Allen Jakovich from the early 90's? WHY!?) but there's a few old match reports and stories that you can find if you're interested.

Blueseum, Love that site! I remember going on it earlier in the year and just couldnt stop reading and learning the history of your club. I'd love someone from Port Adel to do the same thing. Great site you have :thumbsu::thumbsu: