Michael and Scott on Riewoldt.

• Thread starter Thread starter MadRyan

I didnt see the incident but there seems to be two versions. First one being that he was being helped off by the trainers and the second being he was running back to position in the forward line.
If the first version is true then they should have crossed the line and should be heavily suspended, as that is crossing the line, but if it is the second version then they have done nothing illegal and have done the 'smart' thing.
Its Riewoldt's own mistake for trying to play on if he was seriously injured. What did he expect the Brisbane players would do if they saw him seem to hurt his shoulder and then play on. Did he really think someone would not try to test out his shoulder? Its happened before and will most probably happen again. Its not the greatest act but perfectly legal.
If your team was in Brisbanes shoes what would you think of your players if they knew he had a bad shoulder and just played the game without giving him a few bumps to it and he then won the game for them.
Personally I would think they would of been stupid not to test the shoulder.
Until there is a rule against it which IMO is impossible to judge against, they have done absolutely nothing illegal.
Morally some people can argue but as I have just wrote what were the Lions players supposed to do? forget his shoulder looked hurt? :rolleyes:

SYDpower said:
All People a Note: Grow Up! This is AFL Football.

Mal Michael I think is an out and out champion.
What Scott and Michael did was not a heinous crime. Riewoldt had already done the damage and they were testing him out. Its called working on the weaknesses of your oponent.

It was a great opener to the season and very entertaining.

It is sad to see Riewoldt out and it looks reasonably serious. And just imagine, there goes his Brownlow odds!

Get a life mate. Testing him out? Working on the weaknesses? This is football?

To me that was not part of AFL football. He was NO WHERE NEAR the ball. It was more of a charge than anything else. Already done the damage? They proberly just added more damage to it, hence should get sent to the tribunal. If some guy was knocked out does that mean i can step over the top of him to see if hes still alive?

BTW your not sad at all. Revenge will be sweet round 22.

Mal Michael, take a break for the knee to milnes throat. Dont tell me it wasnt a potentially dangerous act. Might add, he put his whole body weight into him too.

Sealen said:
Do you disagree with my point that some one on the field is fair game?

Living in Sydney, I expect to see the incident in context soon (it's 1.35 am and the 3rd Q has just started on Ch 9), so I'll have to get back to you.

I suppose my key point was that most people here don't post what they do re work like you did, and asking what another does.

Back to the footy, any comments from a Dogs supporter like me will probably be related back to the Kretuik/Lloyd incident of 2002.

BTW, what do you make of Wallace? Unlike many Dogs supporters, I'm over him and I think he will be good for your mob. Having a tall forward line will be a rather odd experience for Plough. ;)

Saint4Life said:
He was NO WHERE NEAR the ball.

a very good point. and who was the originator of the scuffles? aaron hamill. so, seeing as it was nowhere near the ball, a brisbane free should have resulted.

Saint4Life said:
It was more of a charge than anything else.

a charge? a CHARGE?

Saint4Life said:
Get a life mate. Testing him out? Working on the weaknesses? This is football?

To me that was not part of AFL football. He was NO WHERE NEAR the ball. It was more of a charge than anything else. Already done the damage? They proberly just added more damage to it, hence should get sent to the tribunal. If some guy was knocked out does that mean i can step over the top of him to see if hes still alive?

BTW your not sad at all. Revenge will be sweet round 22.

Mal Michael, take a break for the knee to milnes throat. Dont tell me it wasnt a potentially dangerous act. Might add, he put his whole body weight into him too.

I think all good local sport shops sell soccer balls. And if you are lucky, quite possibly bocce sets. Have a peek-a-boo soon, for your sake.

pjcrows said:
a very good point. and who was the originator of the scuffles? aaron hamill. so, seeing as it was nowhere near the ball, a brisbane free should have resulted.

a charge? a CHARGE?

ORIGINATOR? Mal Michael and your Scott. What's hamil suppose to do. Leave his injured teammate to too dogs?

Homer Jnr said:
I think all good local sport shops sell soccer balls. And if you are lucky, quite possibly bocce sets. Have a peek-a-boo soon, for your sake.

very funny. ha ha. your the best. your always right, and your certainly not a biased brisbane supporter.

Saint4Life said:
ORIGINATOR? Mal Michael and your Scott. What's hamil suppose to do. Leave his injured teammate to too dogs?

for starters, he is not "my" scott. i do not barrack for brisbane. i am nuetral in this issue.
secondly, aaron hamill started the scuffle which resulted in the 2nd and 3rd bumps on riewoldt. scott would not have entered the fray if hamill hadnt grabbed michael.

pjcrows said:
hehe a great show :)

everitt has done the dirty on knocked out players many a time, dont deny it ;)

and richie vandenberg kneed mark stevens last year in the back when he was under a pack, obviosuly hurt.
yeah fair enough, but everitt hasn't done that at hawks

Saint4Life said:
very funny. ha ha. your the best. your always right, and your certainly not a biased brisbane supporter.

Thank you for finally seeing things how they are in the real world.

I'm assuming you have your shirt and skirt ready for the big netball finals on Saturday? What position? Wing Attack? You seem like an outside player.

Clubs that have the mentality of yours are unsuccessful because they lack physicality, they are boys playing a grown-ups game. Or in your case, flat track bullies.

Who cares if he was nowhere near the ball? Do the players wait till he is near the ball before testing his shoulder? As long as they dont do anything illegal like punch or kick him then thats fine. If hes fit he should be able to handle a few bumps and if he cant then he shouldnt be on the field.
Harsh but if it was his decision to stay on he can only really blame himself. :(

Pagan said:
Who cares if he was nowhere near the ball? Do the players wait till he is near the ball before testing his shoulder? As long as they dont do anything illegal like punch or kick him then thats fine. If hes fit he should be able to handle a few bumps and if he cant then he shouldnt be on the field.
Harsh but if it was his decision to stay on he can only really blame himself. :(

it takes a newbie to finally round it up one swift post. welcome to the board :)

Pagan said:
I didnt see the incident but there seems to be two versions. First one being that he was being helped off by the trainers and the second being he was running back to position in the forward line.

If the first version is true then they should have crossed the line and should be heavily suspended, as that is crossing the line, but if it is the second version then they have done nothing illegal and have done the 'smart' thing.

Good post but I can't tell from the crappy Ch9 replay I'm watching now in Sydney.

Anyone care to comment on these 2 factual alternatives?

Pagan said:
Thanks. I'm sure I'm going to be blasted for my opinion though. :D

haha nah u wont. majority agree with u. its mainly blind saints fans and shattered pies fans that will disagree. and who gives a rats if someone disagrees with u, thats what its all about!

I can't believe he was crying like that.

I mean iv'e seen far worse injuries and the players have never cried.

He looked like an 8 y/o kid, not a fit supposedly tough AFL footballer/captain.

I reckon he's been hanging round Max "Cry BabY" Hudghton too much.

After watching the game live I'm surprised so much is made from this one incident. Channel Nines influence I guess.

Plenty of incidents went on in the Saints forward line. Home town umpring ensures that the Lions can play this way without fear of being penalised. Somewhere in the rule changes it must state that Brisbane can't give a free away in their defensive 50.

And WTF was that "advantage" call that gave Brisbane their first goal?

Pagan said:

lol who are you? just signed up again?

if i hit over a player no where near the ball is that not a strike?
if hes fit? what are you talking about? He was fit.. he broke his colarbone, and some low life brisbane players thought it would be cool to do what they did. Its like punching someone in the face.. then giving them another one once they get back up.

can only blame it on himself? For what, getting injured?

It happens when there is an injury cloud over a guy during the week, then as soon as they get on the field, the oppoenent feels them out, whats the difference, Reiwoldt made the trainer leave, either he was trying to be a hero, or just showing his strength, then the 2 brisi guys hit him, no big deal.

MadRyan said:
Riewoldt is one of my favourite players, but loved it from Scott and Michael. They are both legitimate badasses and i'd love them in my team. Unsportsman like ... yes. But other then that, it was perfectly fine.

Loved it.

Was a very entertaining game of footy for the opener of 05. Thought both teams played pretty well, expecially Brennan for lions, kid has a future.
I honestly believe if Riewoldt didn't injure his shoulder, the Saints would have run away with game, he was on fire. He certainly does make a difference on the ground. With him missing, the Saints really needed someone else to stand up, but unfortunately 'for' the Saints no-one did.

I use to have a lot of respect for Mal until tonight!. He really did bring himself down to the quote ' Jonathon Brown ' unquote level. There was absolutely no need for what Michael did tonight... very gutless! Can't believe he did what he did. Normally Mal's a pretty clean player but that was pretty disgraceful! Absolutely no need for it in our game.

Scott on the other hand, only a Lions supporter would have respect for him.

As bad as it was, I have to agree with what you say... Unsportsmen like yes... but perfectly legal.... even though Mal's incident was cowardly