Injury Michael Barlow

Yes, generally bones heal well if you're a young fit bloke, but there are breaks and there are breaks. This is a bad one, from what I can tell and from early reports both bones are broken and it is quite likely it will need a metal rod (IM rodding), plates at the very least. They can be better than knee recos, they can also be much much worse. Also, soft tissue injury can be a secondary effect of such an impact, both short and long term. I don't want to get everybody down, but at this early stage it looks real bad. I look forward to him coming back, but it's not going to be an easy road.

I'm pretty much preparing myself to not see him in purple again until 2012.

If he manages to make it back next year I'll consider it a bonus.

After all the work he had put into make his dream come true it really does seem unfair to have something like this happen to him. Hope he can make it back with no long term effects.

Also if you are a bit squeamish just be aware that there are a couple of photos in the thread on the main board that you may want to scroll past very quickly and avoid looking at the West website...

I agree that 6 weeks is highly unrealistic, but the nature of the fracture is as yet unknown. I will hold my reservations on the knee vs. fracture part until we find out the full nature of the break. It could go either way.

A lot will depend on how clean the breaks are. Nathan Brown's were very messy and hence he had a complicated recovery. Goose from St Kilda had a much cleaner breaker and he returned faster. My main concern with Michael is the break appears close to the knee. Hopefully it will not be a complication.

Best of luck to him and I hope his recovery is swift.

You know... with no disrespect to any other player Freo' or another team, I don't think I have been as shattered for a player before in regards to a serious injury.

I feel he and Aussie Rules has been robbed. Does anyone else feel this way?

I sincerely hope he can bounce back 100% from this....

6 weeks? No way. That would be a case for a simple hairline fracture.

Has he done both the tibia and the fibia?

Given the photo of the break, I cannot see how it could attain that range of movement without the fibula(sic) breaking.

6 weeks? No way. That would be a case for a simple hairline fracture.

Has he done both the tibia and the fibia?

According to someone on the main board and a few pictures floating around, yes. Given that the tibia is definetly broken, the fibula fracture should not add to the recovery time, as there is less surface area required to heal due to the bone being thinner, so it will be fully healed whilst the tibia is still healing? Or doesn't it work like that?

Tibia.gif

Non-displaced tibial shaft and proximal fibula fracture. Not an open fracture which is positive.
http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1249984-overview

The picture in the West website below, shows it is just below the knee joint and the top/plateau of the tibial bone. So upper Tibial shaft. Looks like a pretty clean break but could also be a spiral fracture which isn't so good. Woud require a steel rod insertion I reckon. Lets hope the knee joint ligaments are ok. Seems from the picture on the West that the break in the shaft took the brunt of damage.
http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/afl/7508921/dockers-count-cost-of-win-over-power/

Best wishes to Barlow in his recovery. Great debut year. I think Roger wears shin guards which means his was quite a bit lower. But as has been alluded to Voss and Kelly had similar injuries.

Season over indeed but lets hope he has uncomplicated surgery and back walking in expected timeframe so as to bulk and tone his upper body which he had limited opportunity to do so after joining Freo so late in Decemkber 2009.

An example, albeit different, was Simon Taylor. He broke his fibula (only) just above his ankle in March. His expected time on the sidelines was 4 months. He's still on track, but his break was very much minor in comparison to Barlow's.

Don't want to be a downer on things, just trying to inform the conversation. I do wish Barlow all the best and hope he can get back to the form he has shown this year.

This picture??

030710sptfootymf25-162ttdh.jpg

I have to ask - WTF was Rhys doing? How on earth could he not have either pulled out and let Barlow take the mark, or called Barlow out?? There was no opposition player involved and Palmer had the view - it should have been his call. But instead he chose to slide into him and look at the result. :thumbsd:

You know I am not one to bad mouth our guys unnecessarily (Dumb-Arses aside)... but geez Rhys - bad ferk-up on your part mate. :(

You know... with no disrespect to any other player Freo' or another team, I don't think I have been as shattered for a player before in regards to a serious injury.

yeah in a way, (i know you wont believe me nf :p) been following him since during pre season. knew he was a ball magnet, racks up huge numbers whatever team he plays in. ill admit it's through dt but cause of that i was watching him closely from some pre season games and you could just see the bloke oozed class and skill. loved watching him play since then. huge blow for footy but cant imagine what itd be liek to be a freo supporter. hell be back though.

palmer i thought was great today. I think you can cover barlows loss in a way, seeing as you havent seen the best of palmer this year. granted they are different players but adding him toplayers like mundy and hill stepping up there is still plenty of depth in there for you.

all the best too him though

I've just watched the replay. At the game we didn't really know what had happened. Obviously with the stretcher it was bad but hoped for the best. Knowing it was a break and watching the game on TV I just felt sick knowing what was coming. Couldn't enjoy it at all.
Now I actually feel like crying, I've never felt this about a player being injured.
I wonder what Mick can possibly be feeling. To go through all he's gone through and just when things were going his way.
It's a bloody tragedy.
Thanks for all the respectful post from visiting posters.

No disgrace in shedding a tear! I cried when Browny did his, especially when he lifted his leg into the air and it was pointing the wrong way! But then I was also pregnant at the time and the hormones were also probably to blame, LOL.

Thankfully these injuries are relatively rare but they are always a source of sadness and shock when they do happen. Like Michael, Nathan was also having a stellar year (2005) when it happened to him and unfortunately we didn't have the depth to cover him. He had 34 goals after 9 games from memory as a small forward and was at the time second in the Coleman. He was winning games off his own boot and in career best form. Before that fateful game we were sitting 3rd or 4th after 9 games (7-2) and after only won one or two more games for the rest of the year. It really affected the club.

I am certain that Fremantle have greater depth listwise than Richmond of 2005 and the same fall will not affect the Dockers. I understand how you feel as I remember how shattered I was 5 years ago. Nathan was my favourite player at the time. Unfortunately he never regained that form again but Michael is a bit younger and hopefully the circumstances regarding his break will be more favourable.

Best of luck to the young man.

Awful injury, I feel terrible for Michael and for Freo. Here's hoping that he recovers well and is fit and firing for next season.

And +1 to "Rhys Palmer - what were you thinking?"

I'm pretty much preparing myself to not see him in purple again until 2012.

If he manages to make it back next year I'll consider it a bonus.

Not good. Stay positive Michael, work hard!

nathan brown was speaking on melb radio tonight. essentially he said the one main thing is to NOT RUSH BACK. he rushed and the result ended his career. he said the break has to heal, the ligaments recover & strengthen, the knee & ankle go back to normal movement, the groin - basically the whole leg from top to bottom - and then the other leg has to recover from compensating too.

anyone know if he had a contract for beyond this year ?

This picture??

030710sptfootymf25-162ttdh.jpg

I have to ask - WTF was Rhys doing? How on earth could he not have either pulled out and let Barlow take the mark, or called Barlow out?? There was no opposition player involved and Palmer had the view - it should have been his call. But instead he chose to slide into him and look at the result. :thumbsd:

You know I am not one to bad mouth our guys unnecessarily (Dumb-Arses aside)... but geez Rhys - bad ferk-up on your part mate. :(

Yep that is the pitcure - as you can see upper shaft of Tibial bone. No point blaming Rhys - was watching the TV Llive and the commentator said about 3 times before the high kick from Robbo that Rhys was free at te 50. I think it should have been Rhys's ball but he should have called out Barlow. communication needs to improve indeed - I think the unfortunate hit on Avatar from Robbo could have been avoided and Bradles copped a knee as a result of one our guys getting in the road as well. Not sure if it was a Dockers knee but the old shepherding fake mark to allow space for Bradles would have been the go.

On the subject of Rhys - was a great game. Used the ball well and ran hard into space with over 30 touches:thumbsu:

Terrible. Been a real find for Freeo and I think along with every freeo fan a huge number of opposition supporters have enjoyed watching him succeed as well.

Best of luck in recovery and may hope he comes back and guns it.

nathan brown was speaking on melb radio tonight. essentially he said the one main thing is to NOT RUSH BACK. he rushed and the result ended his career. he said the break has to heal, the ligaments recover & strengthen, the knee & ankle go back to normal movement, the groin - basically the whole leg from top to bottom - and then the other leg has to recover from compensating too.

anyone know if he had a contract for beyond this year ?

pretty sure i heard he resigned for 2 more years after 4 or 5 games. in any case im sure freo wouldnt let him go if he hadnt.
i just got home from work and saw the incident on the net. devastating, was really enjoying seeing what he could do in what was an amazing first yr of footy. cant wait to see him back on the pitch after he has healed up. feel for u guys, no one likes to see things like this strike down promising players. to think he was like 3rd or 4th brownlow favourite, deadset gun.

yep,i just left a party at 10 o'clock,this has ruined my weekend,i'm gutted for the man not the team