Hot Topic Michael Voss - Coaching in 2026. Should he remain beyond that?

How many wins does he have to " string together" before he makes you happy?
btw - the Club wont be signing any contract extension during season - so you can relax.
Nothing other than a finals position will be enough to extend for mine which is another way of saying that his contract should not be discussed until our last game.

You know the bolded how?

BTW I also think that he won't and shouldn't be sacked mid season.

This raises the old question, what is the passmark for Voss next year.
The pass mark has to be development.
It's the ingredient that's been missing for years.
We have had good players like most clubs have.
But the development of the bottom of the list has been deplorable.
eg ,We need to see the bad users of the ball to either improve,get sacked or learn to dish it off before they come under pressure.
Just plain old development.
Simple at country footy level

This raises the old question, what is the passmark for Voss next year? Does he get to see out his contract if it all goes ass up. I wonder what benchmarks will be set internally.
Hopefully things will turn around but would hate to be 0-4 again.

#1 thing Voss has to get right is convince the playing group that they will be part of a flag win and deliver a plan to work with. the blokes that decided to go or were asked to leave were not believers.

#2 focal point will be to overhaul the game plan to take advantage of the leg speed that has been introduced. This will involve restraining Cripps /Hewett and Cerra to give off - fast. If Voss doesnt make use of Chesser/Walsh/Smith leg speed and two way running power and doesn't allow the forwards to maintain forward structure and width - he will be in trouble.

#3 will be W/L and the manner of W/L.

thats my view - he doesnt have a perfect list as we are missing a 2ndKPD a top shelf ruck and a 2ndKPF - but there is enough to work with to make finals but more importantly play a really exciting brand of football.

We've also lost 3 (Charlie, JSOS and LLoyd) of the people who many believe are responsible for the "toxic culture" that we apparently have developed over his tenure.
People reckon JSOS was one of the players responsible for bad culture?

Seems like cope in the wake of his desire to move to me. I guess you never know whats happening internally but from outside appearances I would have thought he'd actually be one driving standards and effort, one of the few who looked like he tries his guts out all game every game anyway.

If Voss sticks to the same old game plan, continues to not addressing the same issues, but somehow manages to scrape into the top 8 only to be knocked out in the first week of finals — I want him gone.

However, if he adapts a new game plan, addresses the longstanding problems, and shows clear signs of improvement over the last 6-7 games, even if we finish around 10th, I would be willing to keep him on.

For me, it’s not about how high we finish in the ladder, but how much positive change and progress the team demonstrates.

The decision on whether he goes on beyond 2026 won't be determined by ladder position. There are so many variables, and those at the club are in the perfect position to decide whether he continues or not.

Nothing other than a finals position will be enough to extend for mine which is another way of saying that his contract should not be discussed until our last game.

You know the bolded how?

BTW I also think that he won't and shouldn't be sacked mid season.
The fact that GW recommended that he continue during this season probably indicates that people like GW (and now CD) don't see the value in taking such actions. If it didn't happen this year with all the external noise surrounding the coach, it probably won't happen next unless everything goes off the rails, which I can't see happening.

You can't see it going off the rails next season?

Have you been following Carlton long? :sweatsmile:

You can't see it going off the rails next season?

Have you been following Carlton long? :sweatsmile:
Probably longer than you :p , but that's not relevant. I'm pretty confident in people like GW and CD, who are now in charge at the club, they won't allow things to spiral out of control. All we can do from here is wait and see :)

I want Voss to prove himself a success. I’m therefore of the mind that I hope he isn’t warming the seat for someone else.

The key for me is that Wright and Davies are clear with Voss as to what success looks like in 2026. I don’t know whether that’s wins, I don’t know whether it is finals. My gut feel is those outcomes are downstream of what we are trying to achieve around culture, and they therefore might be lagging indicators.

To be honest, if Hawthorn and Collingwood go into games against us in 2026 knowing they can’t b!tchslap us around, then that would be a massive step forward. I’m sick to the back teeth of teams marking us down as soft and flaky easybeats.

How you measure that, I’m not sure. But I am confident Wright and Davies know what it looks like.

So sign me up on the Voss train. I’m not death riding him. And I’d be delighted if he manages to turn things around.
Good post, any Carlton supporter death riding him really cares very little for the Club itself.

I think we have a team capable of playing finals.

This is roughly our best 23 side/squad

Carroll Weitering Haynes
Saad Young Cowan
Florent Cripps Chesser
Hayward Kemp Ainsworth
O'Keefe McKay Motlop
Pittonet Walsh Cerra
Newman Hewett O Hollands Williams Smith
Moir Evans Lord Acres Fogarty McGovern B Camporeale L Camporeale *O'Farrell Charleson Wilson Young Cottrell Dean Ison White E Hollands

This is our QF side/squad for 2023

Weitering Kemp Marchbank
McGovern Newman Saad
Acres Cripps Docherty
Fogarty Cuningham Cottrell
Martin Curnow McKay
DeKoning Cerra Walsh
Pittonet Hewett Cincotta Owies

Durdin Hollands Dow Fisher Cuningham Motlop Kennedy Boyd

Is there that much difference?

Our forward line looks better overall. Way WAY better on the flanks and pockets. Obviously Curnow is a loss but should be made up for.
Our backline looks to be similar or perhaps a little quicker.
Our midfield is pretty much the same apart from the wings, more pace on the wings.
Current team looks to have better depth. Just compare the benches and those not named in the team, much higher quality.
We went through this season without a viable forwardline and still finished 11th.

If I was Voss I would be setting the bar pretty high and expecting to play finals.

I also think we have a side that is pretty close to being capable of playing good modern football. Added pace and kicking and forward targets.

Voss and his team have a big opportunity. Unless we are smashed with injury, this is not a development year, this is a play finals and do ok there year.

I think we have a team capable of playing finals.

This is roughly our best 23 side/squad

Carroll Weitering Haynes
Saad Young Cowan
Florent Cripps Chesser
Hayward Kemp Ainsworth
O'Keefe McKay Motlop
Pittonet Walsh Cerra
Newman Hewett O Hollands Williams Smith
Moir Evans Lord Acres Fogarty McGovern B Camporeale L Camporeale *O'Farrell Charleson Wilson Young Cottrell Dean Ison White E Hollands

This is our QF side/squad for 2023

Weitering Kemp Marchbank
McGovern Newman Saad
Acres Cripps Docherty
Fogarty Cuningham Cottrell
Martin Curnow McKay
DeKoning Cerra Walsh
Pittonet Hewett Cincotta Owies

Durdin Hollands Dow Fisher Cuningham Motlop Kennedy Boyd

Is there that much difference?

Our forward line looks better overall. Way WAY better on the flanks and pockets. Obviously Curnow is a loss but should be made up for.
Our backline looks to be similar or perhaps a little quicker.
Our midfield is pretty much the same apart from the wings, more pace on the wings.
Current team looks to have better depth. Just compare the benches and those not named in the team, much higher quality.
We went through this season without a viable forwardline and still finished 11th.

If I was Voss I would be setting the bar pretty high and expecting to play finals.

I also think we have a side that is pretty close to being capable of playing good modern football. Added pace and kicking and forward targets.

Voss and his team have a big opportunity. Unless we are smashed with injury, this is not a development year, this is a play finals and do ok there year.

Very possible. Just heaps of questions at the moment

Will standards improve as promised
Will young players step up
Will Voss adjust and coach better
Will we be fitter and mostly injury free

If we can finals is very possible

People reckon JSOS was one of the players responsible for bad culture?

Seems like cope in the wake of his desire to move to me. I guess you never know whats happening internally but from outside appearances I would have thought he'd actually be one driving standards and effort, one of the few who looked like he tries his guts out all game every game anyway.

Jack Weitering Walsh were 3 key players frustrated with standards and the way certain players were treated differently. It caused a lot of angst and arguments with coaches over last 12-18 months.

This was big part of Wrights findings around standards etc

IMO Jack had had enough (long ago) and couldn’t see any change.

I am not convinced about Voss as a strategic coach but my MAJOR frustration with him has been his unwillingness to set high standards and drive the group as one. I am hopeful now this is changing

Very possible. Just heaps of questions at the moment

Will standards improve as promised
Will young players step up
Will Voss adjust and coach better
Will we be fitter and mostly injury free

If we can finals is very possible

I'm optimistic. Standards come from greater competition, a larger group of high quality players bringing better skills, fitness and athleticism to training as well as the motivation for success and good leadership. I think that will come.

I think things dropped off when we had our necessary list cull, dropped off a lot of good talent, dropped the quality of the team, took success out of the equation, dropped standards.

End of the day, last season's forward line, no side is doing any good with that group. I think this fixes a lot of our issues.

Voss was trying to play a more modern game in the last month, it looked good, has the players to do it adequately now, just not to an elite level yet.

My big concern is our onball group. Very one pace. On a plus side, rotations should be better.

More rotations, better list depth and a modern game plan will reduce injuries.

This team should play finals.

I've never rated Voss, as you have probably seen I have been heavily critical of him for the time he has been here and have only been proven right. But to me things look to be changing. We have taken in some good pace and kicks, we played a real run and carry game. Brought in some guys who have good closing speed and will tackle hard. To me, it's about us in the middle lacking the mobility and pace when the opposition have the ball. Can Voss get that part going?

I think we will do alright. People can learn and improve.

Jack Weitering Walsh were 3 key players frustrated with standards and the way certain players were treated differently. It caused a lot of angst and arguments with coaches over last 12-18 months.

Hopefully him leaving is a bit of a catalyst to wake some people up, drag themselves into the 21st century.

As gbatman said I am also hopeful with Wright we are seeing a whole change in culture and standards

We can talk about trades, players etc all we want but unless this changes the rest means little

I am not convinced about Voss as a strategic coach but my MAJOR frustration with him has been his unwillingness to set high standards and drive the group as one. I am hopeful now this is changing
So who were the players who were treated differently. At a guess Charlie was one? Gov? Williams?

The negativity and vitriol that is and was thrown towards JSoS is very disappointing.
I will 🤮 watching him play for StKilda and honestly don't know if I can watch any of their games. However, I refuse to abuse him, as I know he bleeds Navy; it's just he was despondent with the club in the end. Can't blame him.

#1 thing Voss has to get right is convince the playing group that they will be part of a flag win and deliver a plan to work with. the blokes that decided to go or were asked to leave were not believers.

#2 focal point will be to overhaul the game plan to take advantage of the leg speed that has been introduced. This will involve restraining Cripps /Hewett and Cerra to give off - fast. If Voss doesnt make use of Chesser/Walsh/Smith leg speed and two way running power and doesn't allow the forwards to maintain forward structure and width - he will be in trouble.

#3 will be W/L and the manner of W/L.

thats my view - he doesnt have a perfect list as we are missing a 2ndKPD a top shelf ruck and a 2ndKPF - but there is enough to work with to make finals but more importantly play a really exciting brand of football.
No one has a perfect list, not even Brisbane. No one is supposed to have a perfect list with a salary cap either. Brisbane won a flag without a legit key forward, Cats have a relatively shallow midfield, Pies KPP stocks are worse than ours (and Ned Long would probably barely be on our list let alone starting 23) and Hawks have a shallow midfield too, and thats just among the prelim finalists.

Hot Topic Michael Voss - Coaching in 2026. Should he remain beyond that?