Mike Sheehan & Jeff Kennett Interview

It is a footy forum and Jeff Kennett was interviewed on a FOOTY program and this is a Big footy thread. The ignorance is with you old chap. Kennett created a catastrophe we are still suffering from here in Victoria, but as he has said himself "Who cares? What's it matter? It's history, it's yesterday" A better place? Yes it was once it was de- Jeffed, but the scars remain. Grow up..this is the real world!

Would be interesting to know the amount of the MCG's power bill for a night match pre-Kennett, and now.

Despite how Fox sells it, Sheahan doesn't really ask hard questions. He might ask obvious questions that make the interviewee feel uncomfortable (eg why did you belt that guy or what happened to your marriage), but an investigative journo he aint.

It's light entertainment people. If you want ball bursting feminazis interrupting their guests go and watch the 7.30 Report on the ABC.

A female news anchor who asks policy questions to politicians, the definition of a feminazi? Perhaps we should bring back Anna Coren? Go and take a bath

I thought this one would be really good but founding it boring, didn't really learn anything new. Questioning was soft and answers were typical politician answers avoiding the question.

Just stating the facts. Just a short history of the Kennett legacy for those who wish to ignore it as he seems too.

The legacy is only one part of the story, as relevant is the job Kennett inherited. Dicker passed over the keys to a kingdom @ the Hawks & Jeff delivered.
Politics; rust bucket state inherited.
Beyond Blue, critics to the far queue.

It is a footy forum and Jeff Kennett was interviewed on a FOOTY program and this is a Big footy thread. The ignorance is with you old chap. Kennett created a catastrophe we are still suffering from here in Victoria, but as he has said himself "Who cares? What's it matter? It's history, it's yesterday" A better place? Yes it was once it was de- Jeffed, but the scars remain. Grow up..this is the real world!

This is a football forum you utter plank.

Take your politics elsewhere.

This is a football forum you utter plank.

Take your politics elsewhere.
Are you thick? Kennett was interviewed on a Footy program by a Footy journalist and this is a Footy thread? Sometimes people like things. You probably like things, despite all your efforts to erect a thick facade of irony around your entire life. And why not?

And they talked about footy for the most part.

But not you. You, from your very lofty soapbox have used it as a platform to lecture us all on your rather blinkered political views.

Like a proper twit.

And they talked about footy for the most part.

But not you. You, from your very lofty soapbox have used it as a platform to lecture us all on your rather blinkered political views.

Like a proper twit.
A twit? Things are improving, at least i'm not a "shit" human being in your eyes. We might become pals?

Unlikely, but funnily enough FWIW I do tend to vote Labor so we possibly sit on the same side of the fence politically.

Anyway, this particular line of conversation is going nowhere now so I will leave you at it.

Unlikely, but funnily enough FWIW I do tend to vote Labor so we possibly sit on the same side of the fence politically.

Anyway, this particular line of conversation is going nowhere now so I will leave you at it.

Coversation going nowhere like Victoria in the 1990's? No worries, this is my last word on it. I just took a tram ride down Bourke street and it reminded me of the sweetheart deal Kennett concocted with his good mates Lloyd Williams and Ron Walker. Under the Kennett government he sparked a major row in 1993 when it awarded the lucrative licence to the Crown consortium led by personal friends Lloyd Williams and then Liberal Party treasurer Ron Walker, chiefs of developer Hudson Conway. At the expense of any development of the top end of Bourke street. Have you seen this area of Melbourne lately? It's a catastrophe from Spring street to the Mall. All the movie Theatres are gone, the palace is closed, anything that even resembles an entertainment area is gone. Kennett helped destroy an entire precinct? Go to Crown young man and feed the coffers there.... We all live in Melbourne and it does matter what people think and who is responsible for what, but as Jeff always says "Who cares? What's it matter? It's history, it's yesterday" We should all remind him of that next time he mentions Hawthorn's recent history.

Went through Melbourne yesterday.
That city is now officially a shit hole....

Your ability to see beyond your political ideology is here for all to see - remember the rust bucket, the trams clogging up the city.

We should all remind him what? - you, not me .... the political class are a fair dinkum disgrace Jack & its not just Jeff, they are all full of it. How do you feel about paying a toll on Eastlink, equally critical of Bracksy?

Your ability to see beyond your political ideology is here for all to see - remember the rust bucket, the trams clogging up the city.

We should all remind him what? - you, not me .... the political class are a fair dinkum disgrace Jack & its not just Jeff, they are all full of it. How do you feel about paying a toll on Eastlink, equally critical of Bracksy?
Oh you mean the city link Toll? This from the Age a few years ago!
Jeff Kennett recalls barking into his phone en route to a midnight signing of Victoria's first private road deal, CityLink.

"They drove a hard bargain and refused to sign the contract," recalls the former Victorian Liberal premier. "I told the top bureaucrat handling the negotiations 'if they haven't signed the contract by five to 12 I'll cancel the project'. They understood my threat was not idle."
Sign they did, as the builder and operator of the high-stakes, high-risk, answer to Melbourne's chronic traffic congestion, and the first electronic toll road in Australia.

When it publicly floated the next year, in 1996, on the back of the $1.8 billion CityLink contract, the fledgling firm raised just over $500 million. Two decades later, and now in charge of 15 major toll roads along the eastern seaboard of Australia and in the US, it is worth 50 times that. This happened under Kennett's watch and are you saying we don't need these major toll roads now?

Trams clogging up the city? I had to let two go just to get on one today!

Do you see any of yourself in a young Donald Trump?
Kennett's dismissive response to this was more stupid than the question itself. He didn't even take a moment to consider why
Sheahan might have made the comparison. He just cast it aside, the same as the other questions he labelled as "stupid".

Kennett's arrogance shone through stronger than Sheahan's inadequacies as an interviewer.