Mindset - curious

LifeSpan-Void

So, you’re leaving.
Just wondering, If the Crows aren't playing, and Port is playing any other team, do you generally support them, or the other team? If you barrack for the other team, do you support the WA teams before the Vic teams? Figured I would put this one to you guys because I have a lingering affection for Blighty, which sort of makes the Crows my "second" team... If it doesn't contraindicate the cause of the Cats.

Interesting question

If I tip Port to win and they lose I dont feel so bad :D

I am more interested in those teams Adelaide are level with or just below on the ladder eg if Adelaide are 7th and a win will push them to 5th if Team X and Team Y loses, then I will support those 2 teams playing X and Y. To me its about ladder position and a possible place in the finals...so in a roundabout way a loss to Port and a win to Adelaide means that Adelaide have either closed the gap on Port or extended its break on Port for a finals berth

LifeSpan-Void said:
Just wondering, If the Crows aren't playing, and Port is playing any other team, do you generally support them, or the other team? If you barrack for the other team, do you support the WA teams before the Vic teams? Figured I would put this one to you guys because I have a lingering affection for Blighty, which sort of makes the Crows my "second" team... If it doesn't contraindicate the cause of the Cats.

You're kidding aren't you. I even follow Collingwood when Port plays them and thats saying something (given I can't stand EM).

WA teams against Victorian sides - ambivalent and doesn't worry me.

Do have soft spots for sides with WWTFC players in them (except PA coz the poor buggers need some serious counselling in those instances).

Geelong - one of favourite Victorian teams (ah, probably the only one actually) and have always been.

LifeSpan-Void said:
Generally no!

I have this strange compulsion in a nuetral footy game to barrack for the underdog in the contest:o

LifeSpan-Void said:

cough, cough, cough, i think i would also be tempted to barrack for the ****************s/Scousers & even City against the Port Power & mate that is pretty low for a Man U supporter. :eek:

As for the others usually go for the interstate team if they are an underdog.

LifeSpan-Void said:

In 2004 when Port Power played the Brisbane lions in the Grand final I didn’t really care who won but was happy for Port Power (sacrilege in both ways I know:mad: ) as some of my mates go for Port Power and they gained the same pleasure out of football as we did in 97 and 98.

In general I don’t give a continental if they win or lose but if they are playing a Victorian side that I like (Geelong are a side I like) then I will take a passing interest in the cats but other than that its more like MEH who cares as long as Port lose. :D

I'm never upset if Port win (unless of course it's a showdown) but I must admit to enjoying their losses mostly due to the ribbing i'll be able to give mates the next day.

The only things I hate about Port are Wanganeen and Tredera now that Pickett's gone.

I care if Port win. I want them down, down, down and support any tean that play them.

As PC says I would support any team that knocked off a competitor that was trying for a spot that the Crows were vying for No matter who.

Loved to watch G. Abblett playing was worth money just to see him play.

I generally don't give a rat's tossbag overall whether Port win or lose - as long as they don't beat us, and we're higher on the ladder than they are.

I even go to some of their games against the better teams and quite enjoy the match, as I'm unaffected by the result one way or the other.

macca23 said:
I generally don't give a rat's tossbag overall whether Port win or lose - as long as they don't beat us, and we're higher on the ladder than they are.

I even go to some of their games against the better teams and quite enjoy the match, as I'm unaffected by the result one way or the other.
I'm much the same as you macca.

I generally watch as many games I am able to, and even listen on the radio when not near a TV.
If the games are interesting I keep watching or listening as much as possible, if they are boring I generally tend to stop and do other things.
If Port are playing then I watch regardless of quality of course.

I generally do not wish one team to win or not based on where Port sits, because IMO if we are good enough we will win the premiership off our own merits and not have to rely on results going our way. If that makes sense.

If I lived in Adelaide chances are I'd go to a number of Crows games, as well as most Port games, since a number of mates and family members follow the Crows.

LifeSpan-Void said:

I am dead keen on Port winning IF AND ONLY IF their opponent that week is a side which is above the Crows on the ladder.

If that is not the case I really don't care much. In my footy "upbringing" Port were always the mortal enemy, but nowadays I have some good mates who follow Port so I don't generally mind if Port win. The exception even here is when Port are ahead of the Crows on the ladder and Port's opponents aren't, and a loss to Port is therefore of direct benefit to Adelaide. So I guess I'm a bit like your feeling "if it doesn't contradict the cause of the" ... Crows.

No Way. I was a huge Port Magpie supporter for many years, cheersquad and all (before Crows), got bored and wanted a team in the AFL. So when the CRows came in got obsessed (and still am) with them, then when they came in I held a Power season ticket in their first year as I was going to be your SA supporter but got really put off by their dic***** supporters and started barracking for the visiting teams at their games. Thought their was not much point renewing my Power ticket and despised them ever since.

Barrack for the underdog on all occasions unless they are playin the Crows:)
I always barrack against Port unless a win win advance the Crow cause.

Having said that I can find myself barracking for my " tip " if Ive had a shocker of a round.

Other faves are Geelong, Sydney and Norf

maccas_no1 said:
Die Port Power Die.

You are so nice to your dear old dad! Poor Marty has a dad that is a HUGE port power supporter :D

I don't really care about port that much as long as they are where they below - below us. Although would barrack for Collingwood ahead of them. Had a Cat 3 members ticket their first season and would take my dad and my lil sis to the games so we could barrack for the opposition, which annoyed the port supporters no end :D

Would barrack for Bin Ladens' eighteen before I'd barrack for Port. It makes my weekend perfect when we win and they lose.

I like all the interstaters before any Vic sides ( except ofcourse Port )..

NikkiNoo said:
You are so nice to your dear old dad! Poor Marty has a dad that is a HUGE port power supporter :D

Yeah it Dad loves to stir me up, they came to our place the day after the whole Goodwin 'Incident' and of course he had that day's Advertiser with him with it all splashed across the front page,anyway he walks in the door and places it under my nose with a HUGE grin on his face. Quite the opposite to what he had as we left the Semi Final in September though;)

Hey Marty, I have pics of your dad in the crows shed in his power gear after that game with a lovely big grin on his face :D Will have to scan them in and send them to you.

I have my list – and it’s a strange list

First and foremost I follow the Crows
Then I generally support Collingwood in whomever they are playing (however this has weakened over the years largely due to my passionate disliking on Eddie)
Of the other teams I generally always go for Richmond in any game they play (Richo!!) except the Crows of course
Never want the Power to win or Essendon
Fremantle is a bit iffy I would like to see them succeed but some sick part of my brain thinks it’s great when they consistently lose.
Melbourne is another team I enjoy watching win, and if they are playing anyone but the Crows, Richmond or Collingwood
After that I usually go for the under dog except when it’s the Bulldogs because they have been playing that tune for way to long now and I get sick of hearing about them.
And on most occasion Interstate teams take precedent when playing Vic teams (except for the above exceptions) except WCE for some reason they have really started to annoy the ******** out of me

Capitalist said:
Fremantle is a bit iffy I would like to see them succeed but some sick part of my brain thinks it’s great when they consistently lose.
This is called the Queensland Shield Team Syndrome pre 1997

This is related to the Collingwood ''Wobbles'' Syndrome 1958-1990

I don't particularly care about Port's results. If given the choice I'd rather them lose than win. But I won't lose sleep over it.

There are, however, 15 teams in the AFL that I like more than Port.

**** said:

There are, however, 15 teams in the AFL that I like more than Port.
Ha!
Name them. :p

LifeSpan-Void said:

I support anyone against Port. As a general rule I do have soft spot for the non-victorian clubs against a victorian team. I am not really anti victorian as there is only one victorian team which I do not like which is Essendon besides that I dont really have any dislike towards any other victorian team, but all is forgiven with Essendon when they are playing Port !!!!!!!