Draft Profile Mitch Thorp

• Thread starter Thread starter Asgardian

Hopefully not :(
Would be good for you guys but seems a bit similar to what i expect from paparone.

If he did land in Brissie, I'd hope he'd play FF and have Paparone as a leading CHF to utilise his endurance.

I wouldn't be adverse to Carlton having a look at him and drafting him given they are happy with his interview. Provides a different calibre of player we need. Tall, rangy athletic player capable of playing Tallish Forward/Mid as he has been in Tassie...

Lions could use him. Merret and Staker aren't getting it done up there.

Maybe replace Karnezis? Fair to say they play similar roles?

Teams like Adelaide and Essendon (locked out of drafts) St. Kilda, Western Bulldogs (lack of mid aged talent) as well as the expansion teams would also be surely doing their due diligence on him. Don't think his talent was much of a question; more body and attitude.

37 touches 22 marks and 5 goals two weekends ago against the reigning premiers Burnie, and not even his best game for the year. TSL really is a low quality comp compared to WAFL, SANFL but he is absolutely killing it down here. Easily the best player in the state. Won the states brownlow equivalent on 32 votes, 2nd best was on 16.

His quality as a person though.. well. I haven't talked to him since he got drafted to Hawthorn. By all accounts a much better person now, most of the boys at his club love him and respect him.

Being older and more mature would certainly help that.
Really don't remember seeing him play at all when he was at Hawthorn, but for such a talented footballer he deserves to get another crack at AFL footy.

. Easily the best player in the state. Won the states brownlow equivalent on 32 votes, 2nd best was on 16..

Not quiet right and being from Tassie you should have known. 1st the medal is called the Alastair Lynch medal. 2nd the 32 votes you mention were from the mercury newspaper votes ( like heraldsun ) 3rd the count for the Alastair Medal is done on TSL grand Final day which is 3 weeks away.

Worth a shot if he has matured. Wouldn't use anything more than a pick in the rookie draft on him though. May suit a Carlton/Freo/Bulldogs

He's matured a lot since his Hawthorn days. He's actually the captain/coach of his footy club

South Launceston, yeah I know, has been fantastic all year, hope he gets a spot somewhere.

Just read an article about him on AFL website. Had a good year and clubs looking for a ready made key position player should have a look.

Hope my club is looking at him.

Can't believe the hype. Playing below VFL/SANFL/WAFL level where he did nothing after being delisted by the Hawks. I'd say he's found a level that his ability allows him to shine rather some spin about him suddenly having an attitude change.

By all reports he has matured as he has gotten older.
Player managers pushing their clients to journos like last year's rumuor that we were in interested in Joel Tippett.

We do have a no dickhead's policy. Would take Thorp if he's as mature as Rowe and Laidler.

Can't believe the hype. Playing below VFL/SANFL/WAFL level where he did nothing after being delisted by the Hawks. I'd say he's found a level that his ability allows him to shine rather some spin about him suddenly having an attitude change.

He may not be playing in a first-class league, but he's done some huge things this year. He won the Tassie medal (best player in Tassie), won the goalkicking, coached a team that won 3 wooden spoons in a row to a premiership, averaged 24 disposals 11 marks 4 goals as a game.
(this league has produced some stars in recent years including Jack Riewoldt and Jeremy Howe)

True. And none of whom, including Hall who was a mature aged player who is now a regular at the Suns and their second highest goal scorer this year, came close to dominating the league like Thorp has. The TSL is a pretty ordinary comp, but I wouldn't completely disregard his results like some people have.

Don't know about you guys but I was a lot different person at 24 to 17. I watched him towards the end of the year and was really impressed by his attitude and the way he spoke to his players, the game style they played and his selfless role/ team first approach that the whole team (South) played. The comparison to Jack Gunston is a good one. Tall and rangy 3rd tall who has excellent fitness who also competes well one on one (paricularly with the types who would run with him). South were easily the fitest team in the TSL and many of their midfield often clocked 15km+ on the GPS.

Seen him play a couple of times this year and was very impressed by him. Would love it if the Lions picked him up, would be a handy inclusion for sure.

What were the stats?

2012, 13 matches, 24 goals, 5 times highest goal scorer, 9 times in best players list
2011, 14 matches, 16 goals, 4 times highest goal scorer, 6 times in best players list

I note the accuracy of best players list are hard to judge someone by but he made that list 17 times this year.