MMM GF Coverage

Has anyone heard the calls from the triple M boys over the two GFs?

It is quite possibly the worst, most biased special comments performance I have ever heard. Gary Lyon craps on about how the Pies don't wanna play one on one footy, and that Maxwell can't play on an opponent. It actually takes Danny Frawley of all people to inform him that St.kilda actually have a loose man (Fisher or Gwilt) at the other end. What kind of moron doesn't realise that when u are losing the midfield stoppage and contested possession battle, U WANT A LOOSE MAN!! So u don't get 5 goals kicked on you in no time.

Greatest quote from Gary Lyon (thought he had more knowledge than he does, no wonder he doesn't coach) "I still think st.kilda are looking really dangerous when they move the ball quickly into their forward line."

Ok einstein, what AFL team does not look dangerous moving the ball QUICKLY into their forward line. My god.

The whole coverage was completely from the Saints point of view, almost like we were 10 goal favs or something. Frawley was actually better than Lyon in this regard, at least he mentioned what Collingwood needed to do once or twice. Lyon was preoccupied looking for ways for the Pies to fail. I don't need to listen to that crap Lyon, be professional. Both brayshaw and hunt were absolutley fine and showed no signs of bias whatsoever.

Lastly, the lovefest for Riewoldt was bordering on infantile. When Riewoldt was beaten by Brown, it was a poor kick, or unlucky from Riewoldts point of view...there was always someone dropping in the hole in front of him...well Lyon, here's footy 101, there were people dropping in front of him coz the Saints had a loose man and Goddard dropping back in front of our big guys, no mention of the tough job they had in finding space, just looking at Riewoldt and why he was unable to get more one out oppurtunities. I know why Gazza, coz we were smashing them in the middle and they were dropping everyone into our defensive 50. Pretty simple really. Lost a lot of respect for Lyon and to a lesser extent Frawley (more understandable coz it was the Saints) after that commentary.

I have always found Gary Lyon to be very biased in his calls until the inevitable becomes obvious, his favoured side getting thumped, and then he goes completely the other way and gushes like a new bride until next weeks Footy Show where he feigns a bit of aloof dignity while in fact playing the unknowing dimwit in a series of painfully humourless scripted skits.

(Cue graphics of Lyon's stretcher ride and hairy back.)

Was he ever relevant?

I usually listen to MMM at the game and I was at both GFs. In the drawn GF I had to take the headphones out because of the ridiculously biased MMM call. Special commentary just searching for ways for St Kilda to knock off the Pies.

Listened to SEN for the first half of the replay but then just revelled in the sounds of the G for the second half.

Lyon said during the 2nd quarter 'Now Maxwell has an opponent in Gilbert, Gilbert is killing him"

2 seconds later Spud Frawley says "Maxwell is going with Goddard"

1st half was terribly biased, but then the game was dusted, they gave up barracking fro St.Kilda.

I just can't understand why they constantly talked about how hard it was for Riewoldt, yet they never even mentioned the difficulties facing Dawes and Cloke. The Saints were initiating the loose man because we were on top. It defies belief that guys who watch so much football and consider themselves experts can be so poor at analyzing a game.

The reason the Saints started winning the 2nd half in GF1 was because they started to win the stoppages and contested ball with Lenny Hayes and Brendon Goddard both dominating and Swan and Pendlebury drifting out of it.

Listening to the excellent Dean Laidley give special comments, its only just dawned on me how poor some of the special comments men around the stations are. They simplify the game down to Kosy being too slow or one player not going hard enough, when in reality, there is a lot more going on than that. Some of them have been out of the game too long, and the relevance of being an AFL star in the 90s, to be an expert on the way the game is played now has completely disappeared.

Absolutely correct.... the whole lot of it. I watched the grand finals about 10 times now with various commentaries. The SEN one with Derrrmottt is a joke. He is a joke. His arrogance is breath-taking. I wonder who would win an arrogance contest between him and Voss.

I agree that Spud had its heart on his sleeve but he tried to be balanced. Lyon was barracking harder for St. Kilda than Spud.

I didnt listen to the ABC version on the day. I can only imagine what the old women, Parkin and Peter Schwabb would have sounded like. Austinnnnn Jones is a pain in the arse at the best of times when it comes to Collingwood and Mark Maclure was brain dead when he played the game and has gone downhill ever since. I shudder to think what they said.

Listen to the SEN commentary. Rex does the Collingwood attacks and the other idiots comment the St. Kilda attacks.... it's like one versus ten... when collingwood kicks a goal you hear Rex do his fake excitement thing and when St. Kilda get a goal, the rest of them in the box have sex with each other...crazy one-sided stuff..

watched the replay dvd several times with the each commentaries and have to say SEN and MMM are both fairly average. Dean Laidley was good with SEN but everyone one else was fairly average.
Rex Hunt got the players name wrong some many times during the game. Lyon and Frawley are pretty rubbish.

MMM commentary is the best. They actually get excited during the game, talk relevant stats and tactics. I pissed myself at Brayshaw's club lock comment in the last quarter.

Riewoldt did get terrible delivery but they also talk up the great job Nathan Brown was doing. They barred up every time Sidebottom went near the footy and shot their wad over Heath's smother. Gary and Spud also talked up the incredible workrate of Daisy and what a great season he's had.

The whole coverage was completely from the Saints point of view, almost like we were 10 goal favs or something.

We were favourites... and we won by 10 goals...

Special comments guru's drive me spare. They generally make simple observations without any real knowledge of what the coaches are trying to achieve.

Gary Lyon lost me some time ago when he observed that 'Travis Cloke doesn't work hard enough'. Working hard is actually the cornerstone of Travis' game Gary.

He also came out with this stunning observation after 10 minutes into last years GF. "Geelongs forwards are having no effect on the game, they need to lift!!!!". It was then pointed out that the forward 50 entries were something like 8 to 1. Simple conclusion Gary is that the Saints midfield was on top and the Geelong forwards hadn't had any opportunities yet. Hard to 'lift' when the ball's up the other end Gary.

Special mention to Spud who blamed Pendles for the ball being taken off Cloke in the goal square, and also praised Sidebottom for providing a contest for Swanny to goal. Spud, Number 21 is Wellingham.

Channel 7 did the best job in my opinion but I believe Matthews and Harley both got it wrong when they said that it would benefit the Saints to chip it around slowly and keep possession. The only time they put us under pressure in both GF's is when they rolled the dice. Let us set up our zone at your peril. Couldn't believe our luck when the Saints went slow and sideways with their first few clear possessions in GF2.

Rant could go on forever (don't get me started on Dermott and Walls) but they are the most overpaid people in football.

P.S. Wish Channel 10 did the GF so I could hear Lane and Walls eating glass. Now that would have been entertaining.

Could have been much worse people, The t.v coverage could've been on channel ten, with the ultimate collingwood hate squad of Quartermain, Walls and the grand poobah Tim lane.

I musdt admit like everyone I have the DVD and listened to the Channel 7 comentary and thought Timmy & Bruce were their usual self and Matthews was anti Pies

But they were like members of our cheer squad compared to MMM but Spud is a Aints ex captain

But the worse was SEN I rang SEN on Flogs & Polishes last Sunday. Fair Dinkum Dermie seemed to think the Aints had the Mighty Pies where they wanted us until they asked Harford what was it like on the bench and he told they were Dead then he follows up with Dawesomes first goal in the last 1/4 that Dawes would struggle from the Goal Square WTF and kicked it out of his @?$#.

Maybe just hit the mute button and enjoy some music

Didn't listen to the call during the game during the drawn GF but the after game commentary/talkback was hilarious.

watched the replay dvd several times with the each commentaries and have to say SEN and MMM are both fairly average. Dean Laidley was good with SEN but everyone one else was fairly average.

Rex Hunt got the players name wrong some many times during the game. Lyon and Frawley are pretty rubbish.

I really noticed that too. I don't usually listen to MMM, so I'm not sure if that's what he's usually like. I also really got sick of Rex saying "<insert name> goes bang!" He said it when the umpire bounced the ball, he said it when someone kicked the ball (even if it was just a short kick), he said when someone punched the ball & he said it when someone got a goal. It got very tedious & if I was just listening to the commentary without the vision, I wouldn't actually know what was happening.

I'm planning to watch the DVD again this weekend, this time with the SEN commentary.

Watched the DVD with the three different audio's. IMO SEN had the best commentary, fairly even handed and analytical; next was Channel 7 -a reasonable call, but a bit bland; MMM drove me crazy - numerous cries of "Great call Rex!" and generally pumping up each other's tyres. The constant mention of their sponsors was also irritating -"Pendlebury's had 5 clearances for Carlton Draught", "Swan's had 7 tackles for Carlton Draught", "Fisher's torn a hamstring for Carlton Draught". Have never listened to a MMM footy broadcast before -won't be listening to them next year either.

I must be a bit softer than u lot because I don't mind Spud and Lyon. Spud was quite conplementary at times about N Brown. Love Huddo and BT's excitement levels. Commetti seems too scripted - like he has rehearsed his apparently brilliant one liners. Derm $hits me with his patronising airs. Like no one could possibly have his insights into the game. Shame coz he does have some decent insights at times! All in all, like Huddo the best. (Incidentally, how much of a twat is Hutchy?)

Spud was good, and I should have mentioned it/ Derm was still full of whatever he'd been on the night before. Just kept making inane comments like, 5-6 minutes after it was said Reid was back on, "Is that Reid?...Is Reid back on?...well.." or kept waffling about how the Saints were playing better footy and were being denied shots (1.9) while Collingwood (6.5) were being wasteful not getting more out of the inside 50's.:eek::confused:

Gone a bit senile old Dermie.

I musdt admit like everyone I have the DVD and listened to the Channel 7 comentary and thought Timmy & Bruce were their usual self and Matthews was anti Pies

But they were like members of our cheer squad compared to MMM but Spud is a Aints ex captain

But the worse was SEN I rang SEN on Flogs & Polishes last Sunday. Fair Dinkum Dermie seemed to think the Aints had the Mighty Pies where they wanted us until they asked Harford what was it like on the bench and he told they were Dead then he follows up with Dawesomes first goal in the last 1/4 that Dawes would struggle from the Goal Square WTF and kicked it out of his @?$#.

Maybe just hit the mute button and enjoy some music

Dermie has been backing us for months, so I was amazed to hear his comments on SEN on the day. I wondered if he was just trying to keep the game alive for listeners????

Anyway, just listen to Gary Lyon in the 3rd qtr - he has no choice but to give the devil his due. I love Rex, but the volume went down when he was calling. Doesn't he speak into the mike?

well if you like Huddo, watch the reply of the round 19? game against Geelong. In the last quarter as Collingwood pull away from Geelong, the commentary team start talking about Collingwood being the real deal. Robert Walls says that both team will make the grand final....and Huddoooo...in a squeaky little voice in the background says "Does that mean I have to commentate the grand final?".... I dont like him. I dont like how he buys suits two sizes too big so he looks bigger. I dont like how he uses pink lipstick...the guy has problems..