E Shed

Fremantle Obsessive
I find myself disturbed by the thread on the main board 225 days of season 2012. I love the thread but the author and main man Mr Triple C recently wrote that he didn't expect to see Morabito in Purple till about the midpoint of the season. When I quizzed him he said:

EShed,
As I said I think that mid table will be tight and I think like st kilda did when they started with Lyon it will take time. In the long run they are better with Lyon because I think the second tier will develop in the next 12 months where they end up like st kilda with a host of top line players. As not Morabito apparently did not endear himself to the new coaching staff. From what I hear a lack of professionalism to his began early meant that it was a 13 month injury instead of a 10-11 that most get back in. So apparently Lyon was not pleased initially and it got worse when he chose a Bali trip during last years off season when others were working on rehab. It all comes down to off field attitude with Morabito and strong word is Morabito doesn't see the same as Lyon in that regard.

There was some talk of this on our board a while back but the story went that when confronted by Lyon Morabito cancelled his Bali trip. Don't know what the truth is..
Doesn't anyone have any good oil on this? I'd be very surprised if Morabito is on the outer with Lyon, it doesn't ring true to me.
BTW Mr Triple C is a great poster. About as unbiased as you can get and definitely not a troll.

Chinese whispers, I reckon. Lyon seemed to hold mora in some regard when talking around the time of the Bali incident. He does seem disappointed when discussing mora's injury, but I don't think it's anything sinister.

Lyon did say in an interview that Morra did not take his trip to Bali after they had a discussion about it.

all i will say on this is that morabito loves to party, in fact i have seen him being more disorderly and hammered whilst out than what i ever saw rhys palmer... not the sort of behavior that would endear himself to a taskmaster like ross i wouldnt have thought

Sounds like a second hand story that has lingered for a few months.

Nothing wrong with Morabito coming back through the WAFL - he barely makes a difference to our chances in most games.

Mora worked non stop this morning ,ran and sprinted laps for the whole session then had a kick to kick using his left,then when the main group was finished joined in kicking long on goal.

I pulled this from another post as the Herald Sun has taken the story down.

"Ross Lyon met players over the past few weeks and passed on some wise words to young midfielder Anthony Morabito. Morabito was scheduled to head to Bali. Ross Lyon asked him who his fav midfielder is(he answered Judd) ,he then asked Morabito if he thought Judd would be going on an end of season trip to Bali with his mates on the back of a serious knee injury.
Morabito ended up giving the trip to Bali a miss."

Unfortunetly I am somone who believes there is always some truth to a rumour.

19/20 yo, Dominant junior. Pick 3, from games/interviews i've seen he has arrogance/ego but sometimes you need that ala Carey, Brown.
1 year off, cashed up, bored, know what would happen to me.

Either way hope Ross does come down hard on him to make sure he reaches his full potential. Simliar to Malthouse shot at Jack Watts, talent can only get you so far, hard work and professionalism is what will take you to the next level and may be the reason for the Lyon to use Judd reference.

I do remember Ballantyne being a party boy as well and he has turned it around so don't see why his Peel mate can't.

Considering Ross recently said, in response to Mora's recent quad niggle, that "he's really enthusiastic, vibrant and resilient" and then, after comparing him to a young Adam Goodes, said of Mora "he's a big part of Freo's future". Sounds like old mate needed some filler for his post and read a little too far into the Bali incident. If Mora hasn't played at halfway then its because we are 12W-0L and no'one wants to touch the team in-case they break something...:D

Sounds like a second hand story that has lingered for a few months.

Nothing wrong with Morabito coming back through the WAFL - he barely makes a difference to our chances in most games.

I don't think this is fair, Clay. He's an incredible talent and gave us some great run and carry in 2010.

He was the cream on top, but we don't need him to win most of our games. He's also a 10 year investment and if the club want to be conservative with him, I'm happy with that approach.

Coming back from such a long injury you just have to think that anything we get from him in 2012 is a bonus. If we get half a season, GREAT.

You might have tickets on this guy, E. But to the rest of us this is 3rd hand gossip. I'll believe it when he's arrested for king-hitting some jockey whilst wearing an aussie flag cape down at the foreshore.

It doesn't ring right to me either. It's only because I really rate Triple C. He works as a coach at some level in Footy and has aspirations to journalism. The amount of time and research he puts into his posting is far beyond practically anyone else on BigFooty. Good bloke too.
Of course it could just be a bit of lazy journalism on his part recycling rumours but he claims to have inside info (or at least uses the "my mail" chestnut).
If it was anyone else I'd ignore it. Time will tell I guess.
My personal opinion is Mora is a dedicated young man (young being the operative word). Plenty to learn but he's ticking all the boxes as far as I can tell from an outsiders perspective and Ross has only said good things about him publicly. Just thought I'd put it out there in case anyone from here had the straight dope.

Considering Ross recently said, in response to Mora's recent quad niggle, that "he's really enthusiastic, vibrant and resilient" and then, after comparing him to a young Adam Goodes, said of Mora "he's a big part of Freo's future". Sounds like old mate needed some filler for his post and read a little too far into the Bali incident. If Mora hasn't played at halfway then its because we are 12W-0L and no'one wants to touch the team in-case they break something...:D

Seriously, has "vibrant" ever been used in football talk before?

I am happy for players who train well, as Salim is indicating Mora is, to be free to party all they like within the club's guidelines.

Seriously, has "vibrant" ever been used in football talk before?

Vibrant was in relation to a journo questioning his spirits after experiencing another setback. But to answer your question, not that I know of. But I do hope we all trawl google for a previous usage.

Having a coach have a quiet word to a young player doesn't make him lazy and uncommitted. Walters being dropped to the WAFL would suggest that.

Knees are funny things, Libba came back after bugger all weeks. Banfield took 18 months.

Blokes mature at different rates - it must be bloody tough for a 19 year old to have the thing he loves taken away from him for a year and also not be able to do things with his mates at the same time.