Moving out

If it's a share house, SET BLOODY HOUSE RULES. Without question, the most important thing I reckon. Sit everyone down, lay it all on the line, print and laminate a few copies and adhere to it. Will save you nightmares down the line.

I lived in 4 different share houses with a bunch of footy mates from about 25 onwards and it was good for the most part, a proper definition of a 'party house' with regular poker nights, after footy and pub do's, BBQs, everything. Big, beautiful places we rented that went above the average place a family would look for.

The main things are bill sharing (If some tight ass kicks up a stink coz they use less power than you do and think they can pay less per quarter, piss them off) and cleaning. Living with grubs will result in manslaughter.

And as previously mentioned, have enough coin behind you for the unexpected. I snapped my leg in half and had zero behind me, luckily lived with a bunch of ADF blokes who weren't short of the pesos and happily accommodated me rent free in return for me cleaning everything for a few months.

Good luck and God speed young buck!

TBH I'd be surprised if I moved out before age 25 (20 now). Have a pretty good set-up at home, never had a problem with freedom or whatever and I just see renting as money I'm never gonna see again. Plan is to finish uni, go on the work-save money-travel-repeat cycle for a few years, maybe even get an investment property at some point, maybe live/work overseas, I dunno. Then I'd think about buying.

Plus, two of my good mates moved in together about a year ago, now they can't stand each other. If I had to move out to a share house it would be with randoms.

I agree with living with strangers, at the bad end of the stick you never speak to them again and you haven't lost anything. However you may make a friend for life! I have lived with friends and it turned sour (even living with people who were my housemates in the past turned bad).

Always have a cleaning roster if there are more than 2 in the house, it saves for hassles and then you can work out who is not pulling their weight. I lived in a share house with 5 other people and the cleaning roster was a godsend!

Always let your intentions known to housemates about your habits - especially party habits. We had a lady move in who was very religious and we made it clear to her that we liked to party and alcohol was the main force behind all of this. She lived there for 6 months but only stayed 3 nights a week because she hated the noise and didn't like us drinking?? :confused:

I moved out with no money behind me and a poor paying job, but most of the people I lived with were poor uni students too, so we made most of our fun at home and helped each other out with food when we could (making a big thing of spag bol and sharing it).
Definitely keep your food separate (food shelves in the pantry/fridge for everyone and communal) it keeps arguments at bay.

Although I loved living in my share houses, I would never do it again.

My only Tip

Get receipts and write down everything. I moved out with mates for a good year and money turned out to be the factor. I don't even talk to them anymore because it got so over the top. I never really worried about money and when the bills came in we would just go thirds. All of sudden we started getting overdue bills and they still wanted thirds from me. I pulled my mate and tried to tell him what his misses was doing......They wouldn't have a bar of it.

Long story short, I told them they can all get ******, packed my shit and got out of there :thumbsu:

First time I moved out was sharing a house with a mate of mine from school and that ended badly. He became a massive dopehead and did SFA in terms of cleaning/doing dishes etc. I was no Mr Sheen myself but he was hopeless. The real estate agent used to crack the shits during our rent inspections as the place was usually a pigsty.

My mate wasn't working for a while either and used to stay up late at night playing video games on his computer with the volume at full bore when I was trying to sleep. Got in a massive fight one night when I told him to turn the volume down, he refused so I turned his computer off then he went psycho. I moved out the next day and we haven't really spoken much since.

Lived in a number of other sharehouses both here and overseas which generally worked out better as I was living with older more responsible people that did their fair share around the house. Living with girls also helps as they usually keep the place in order, living in sharehouses with just guys usually ends up with things getting messy.

Even if it turns sour it's still a good experience, it will teach you about how to handle conflict and either be diplomatic or ruthless.

I've had shit experiences and still wouldn't change the past.

Living with girls also helps as they usually keep the place in order, living in sharehouses with just guys usually ends up with things getting messy.

This isn't a hard and fast rule.

The messiest person I have shared a house with was a girl, and she was a moody, demanding bitch who expected things to be done but contributed little. She clearly wanted princess treatment, but that isn't how share housing works. Pull your weight or ship out.

I'm in a similar boat. Having to move three hours away into the city next month, into a room with a stranger. Good thing is there'll be another person moving in as well, so hopefully the three of us can get off on the right foot. Met one of them and he seems like a pretty good bloke, so don't think i'll have issues there.

The main thing i'm stressing about is not having enough money. I've got to go see Centrelink ASAP and see if I will be able to get any payments. I should be able to, considering i'm moving 280km away and am studying full-time, so hopefully I get some sort of concessions that will help me pay rent (180 pw). Really looking forward to it, but the whole process is stressing me out something shocking, especially around Christmas and New Years. Just sort of want to put my feet up and enjoy the festive season, but also need to get my shit together as well.

This isn't a hard and fast rule.

The messiest person I have shared a house with was a girl, and she was a moody, demanding bitch who expected things to be done but contributed little. She clearly wanted princess treatment, but that isn't how share housing works. Pull your weight or ship out.

No doubt some girls can be bad housemates as well but the ones I've lived with were pretty good, only problem was with them hogging the bathroom.

Go the one bedroom unit/loft option. Works if you don't need much space. After a while you just get over people in general and the bulls&* that goes with house sharing.