Moving to Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter evertonfc

I've been pretty much offered my dream job in Sydney. Perhaps not dream wages, but for where I am in my industry, it's pretty much the best place to be, and thus, when the offer came, I had to take it.

I'm not a huge fan of Sydney by any stretch of the imagination as I find it to be a minority of plastic-gloss and a majority of residential boredom, but now I'm going to have to adjust. And fast - I start work in three weeks (Well, in this upwardly mobile society of ours I suppose we all have to be, ahhh...upwardly mobile?).

The offices have just been relocated west from the CBD to Rhodes Waterside, so that's thrown out my plans as well. Everytime I've gone to Sydney I've either stayed in the CBD, KX or in Redfern/Surrey Hills, and I'm only really familiar with these parts of the city.

I've been told I have to be in Sydney by the mid-late March, and I'm really starting from scratch. I've got virtually nothing in the means of furniture or otherwise, so, I'm looking for some advice (yes, avoid going back to KX, duly noted).

I'm probably looking to share rather than rent, as I doubt I can afford to live on my own - what might be some good sites to check up on?

In Melbourne we've got some fantastic places to live that are cheap, clean and quiet, but still have a vibrant enough night life to keep oneself entertained. I suppose I'm looking for that in many ways, but just don't know where too look.

I'd prefer to train it to/from work, but if a car is better, then that's workable. I just hear cars and Sydney don't exactly work in harmony.

Anyway, if you've got some advice about Sydney, or previous moving interstate experiences, please post as - quite truly - I'm a complete novice on all of this and need to learn rather quickly.

Cheers.

I moved to Sydney from Melbourne for work and lived there for seven years.

First of all get as much out of your employer as possible.
Things to be asking for would include :

* all moving expenses
* one free return trip (non work purposes) to Melbourne for each of the first 12 months.
* all rent paid for in the first 6 months and then half paid for in the next six months.

Rhodes is a poor location. Its west of the city and transport there is ordinary unless you are close to the railway station.
I would be looking to live in the following suburbs which are fairly close and involve as less changing of trains as possible.

Stanmore, Newtown, Petersham, Lewisham or Summer Hill.
You don't want to live anywhere further west.

If you live in this area ,the car can remain at home unless you prefer to be stuck in Parramatta Road traffic for an hour. By the way Parramatta Rd has the same amount of traffic on Sundays as it does on weekdays a lot of the time.

The Sydney Morning Herald has a big classifieds section for sharing house. Living on your own is possible but be aware that a studio apartment in the suburbs I mentioned range from $160-$250 per week. And they are small !!!!

Try this site as well :
www.flatmatefinders.com.au

Its not that bad a place though. The RSL's are good value for money and the people are no different to that of Melbourne except for the Bondi/Vaucluse set who are in a league of their own for snobbery.

The weather is fantastic and as such there is always something to do on the weekends. Their beer gardens are much better than ours.

You'll find that most follow an AFL team but it doesn't hurt to take an interest in the NRL or Super 12's. They aren't that bad when you get to watch a few games.

They are also much more into the EPL than people in Melbourne are.

Get Fox Footy if you're desperate for AFL anyway (maybe see if your employer can throw a 12 month foxtel subscription as part of your moving !!!)

Good luck and stay positive.
You won't regret it.

peternorth said:
you stayed in redfern? OMG! what was that like?

I lived in Refern, the problems are usually contained within a couple of blocks. The called it CHippendale to not say redfern though

Daytripper said:
Stanmore, Newtown, Petersham, Lewisham or Summer Hill.
You don't want to live anywhere further west.

agree with daytripper on the above suburbs... probably in that order too...
only one train change to a different line to get to rhodes...

rhodes waterside is a relatively new development, used to be a few factories... now theres a new shopping centre (main tenant being ikea), medium rise unit development... and a new business/tech park with some IT companies..

I don't see what the big deal is about Redfern, I was on a train that passed through Redfern station at 11.45pm last year...there were literally mid 20s females reading novels on the station by themselves. No signs of gangs or any of that bull********. Sure it's not the nicest place in Sydney to be living, but sheesh.

Parramatta is a nice residential type area, although it is a fair way west. Western Sydney seems to go forever.

We stayed in Edgecliff, one station east of KX, basically in between KX and Bondi, loved it there...would be expensive I would have thought though.

I love Sydney.

Hoggy said:
I don't see what the big deal is about Redfern, I was on a train that passed through Redfern station at 11.45pm last year...there were literally mid 20s females reading novels on the station by themselves. No signs of gangs or any of that bull********. Sure it's not the nicest place in Sydney to be living, but sheesh.

Redfern reminds me of Collingwood.
There are some nice areas to live in and a lot of it is yuppiefied but there are also some parts of it you don't want to be in after a certain time of night (or even day).

well I live out west round blacktown way and thats a very accessible place for getting to the city but for you seeing as though you will be working near Rhodes I think Ryde would be a good option to also consider as the bus services there are acceptable for getting around locally and to the CBD(at least when compared to blacktown and penrith). Definately get an e-tag if you don't plan on being stuck in the morning peak especially for the M4 and the M7. when accidents don't occur the motorways run quite smoothly check out the local real estate websites for info on houses available to rent.

contrary to what people say about sydney a lot of us follow an AFL team (usually the swans) but I have seen dons and doggies supporters round my way. but it would be good to get into the NRL too (its just as good as AFL). why not see a game as tix are usually quite cheap and can usually be bought at the entrance. sadly the only LIVE games are the swans games try to get to a pub to watch your team or see if you can get cable(already said above)

sydney does have some good eats. cheap tucker such as the $5 steak can be found at many of the inner city pubs and clubs. for example there is
one that I sometimes go to the "strawberry hills hotel" due south of central station especially after a swans match. but I think a really good wholesome meal can be found at star city buffet. it will cost you though but its all you can eat. for fast food nothing beats portugese chicken and oporto's or Nando's are great places to eat at.

our trams are a little different from melbourne trams as the line only goes from central to star city and then to lilyfield. there are plans to extend to strathfield though and that would be good if you plan on living here a while longer.

as for redfern its just full of housing commission homes

so long as you know where the major motorways and freeways are you can pretty much navigate around the city anyway. anyway good luck with the move

ps I still thought melbourne was better

Qsaint said:
Newtowns the go, plenty of accom

Newtown is my home. Just love the place. Wouldn't live too far from it to be honest. Kinda like St Kilda but more radical more feral more extreme (as Sydney is in general when compared to Melbourne). Great cafes, cheap eating, a great pub scene with an extremely ecclectic clientele. And heaps of rooms available as well.

Rhodes is actually not that far from anything at all Seb. It is on the main northern train line and is only 20-25 minutes from town. An even better thing to realise is that from Concord West station you can actually WALK through the Bicentennial Park to Telstra Stadium & the Olympic Park. Strathfield & Burwood are only 10-12 minutes away by train as well, so there is at least decent shopping etc. If you want to be close to work, try areas like Strathfield North Concord West or across the river in Meadowbank. A tad boring for my lifestyle, but as we both know my lifestyle is not exactly to everyone's tastes. :eek: :p

Will reply to your PM in greater detail mate. There is no need to be scared of a move to Sydney. It just requires a complete change in lifestyle.

JF

peternorth said:
you stayed in redfern? OMG! what was that like?

I have lived in East Redfern. It is completely fine to be honest. The houses are pretty much old terraces (often in some state of disrepair). I never had many problems at all. But that is NOT to say that nothing will ever happen to you either. :o

In this area it is really a case of what street you live in; the demographic of the people around you can change 180% within the space of 100 metres. I lived in Pitt st which was mainly yuppies and ex Darlinghurst label queens. 50 metres away on Redfern St you'd get Aboriginals asking you for money.

JF

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
Newtown is my home. Just love the place. Wouldn't live too far from it to be honest. Kinda like St Kilda but more radical more feral more extreme (as Sydney is in general when compared to Melbourne). Great cafes, cheap eating, a great pub scene with an extremely ecclectic clientele. And heaps of rooms available as well.

JF

Lived their in 1984 to 90's, loved the place you can even go past the train station now:eek:. Cleanned up a bit too. Anything west of annandale (at a pinch) wasn't that great

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
An even better thing to realise is that from Concord West station you can actually WALK through the Bicentennial Park to Telstra Stadium & the Olympic Park. Strathfield & Burwood are only 10-12 minutes away by train as well, so there is at least decent shopping etc. If you want to be close to work, try areas like Strathfield North Concord West or across the river in Meadowbank. A tad boring for my lifestyle, but as we both know my lifestyle is not exactly to everyone's tastes. :eek: :p
JF

yes, strathfield north, concord west, meadowbank... and as music_2000 suggested, ryde... are decent and nice suburbs to live in... for a family... ie. boring... (i live in north ryde..yawn)... for a single professional young'un like evertonFC... the inner west is probably the way to go...

I lived in Meadowbank for two years. It's great. Very accessible to the city by public transport(train or ferry) and there are big shopping centres nearby in West Ryde. If you are going to be working in Rhodes that would be my recommendation.

G'day folks,

Thanks for all your advice.

innerwestsydneynorthernline.jpg

I'm currently looking at a few properties in all the spots you've mentioned. Basically anywhere along the northern line from West Ryde to Newtown - so I should be able to find something there.

I've checked onto Flatmate Finders as per Daytripper's advice and it's a fantastic setup...I have a good feeling I can get some accomodation on there.

But generally, I'm still open to a lot of suggestions on anything you can think of....anything from places to eat to cheap supermarkets to public transport scams...I won't exactly be earning the earth so I'll have to be rather frugal. Plus I hear that living up there isn't exactly cheap.

I'll only be able to go to YU once a week on my wage :(

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
Newtown is my home. Just love the place. Wouldn't live too far from it to be honest. Kinda like St Kilda but more radical more feral more extreme (as Sydney is in general when compared to Melbourne). Great cafes, cheap eating, a great pub scene with an extremely ecclectic clientele. And heaps of rooms available as well.JF

Newtown would be more akin to Brunswick/Northcote and Darlinghurst would be the closest to St kilda. I work in St Kilda and live in Windsor which aint too far and it reminds me a lot of darlinghurst 10 years ago before it was cleaned up.

Newtown is great, dirty though and the streets are very narrow but has a good vibe. But sadly like all the inner suburbs in Sydney it was being gentrified when i left to please the yuppie and gay market who have high double incomes and can afford to pay 1 mil for a terrace. So Newtown was slowly turning into a Paddington. Annandale is awesome. I lived there for 7 years. Its a hidden gem in the inner west. You live amongst well know artist, musos and other creatives. I lived 5 doors up from tim Rogers and funny enough he lives near me again here in Melbourne!

As far as rhodes, meadowbank and west ryde go - i wouldnt live there myself as its the pits or more suited to families. And if you havent got a car its a hassle to get too after hours. I lived in North Ryde for a year amny years ago and i hated it.

Have a look around Petersham and Lewisham or even Summer Hill was nice when i lived there.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:

Yep, Newtown is one of the better places IMO.

Especially if you like eating carpet - yum yum!

Plenty of good food too as you say, and there's always the Chocolate Dog for breakfast (or Dao Thai next door for dinner) to get the taste of carpet out of your mouth! :D

evertonfc said:
I've been pretty much offered my dream job in Sydney. Perhaps not dream wages, but for where I am in my industry, it's pretty much the best place to be, and thus, when the offer came, I had to take it.
Congratulations.

We going to be hearing you call footy on radio or write for the SMH?

I agree with the gist of the topic here. Stick with the inner west suburbs on the train line. I lived in Petersham pretty much all my life (until last year when i moved to Drummoyne) and it was always handy for me to either catch a train to the city or out west (its only an 8 minute train trip to Strathfield where you will be able to catch a connecting train to Rhodes).

Ok,

Well, I thought I'd better give you all an update.

I've settled on a place in Summer Hill, largely because it's half way between the CBD and Rhodes, and it seems like a nice, quiet leafy suburb. Found it on Flatmate Finders, so that worked a dream! Flatmate seems nice enough. Hasn't tried to kill me - yet.

Work is going along well, even though Rhodes as a location is a little bit questionable. It's all new and shiny, but there ain't any culture here yet.

Not liking the dirty train system, but not much can be done about that. Also not liking that only the sluggish inner west line stops at Summer Hill, but what can you do?

Footyman, no, I'm not working for SMH, but they've given me a good run thus far. ;)

Am really making an effort to embrace NRL/S14, and I'm doing a good job. Missing the footy like crazy, though.

Going to be hard without it.

Go Swans :(

evertonfc said:
Ok,

Well, I thought I'd better give you all an update.

I've settled on a place in Summer Hill, largely because it's half way between the CBD and Rhodes, and it seems like a nice, quiet leafy suburb. Found it on Flatmate Finders, so that worked a dream! Flatmate seems nice enough. Hasn't tried to kill me - yet.

Work is going along well, even though Rhodes as a location is a little bit questionable. It's all new and shiny, but there ain't any culture here yet.

Not liking the dirty train system, but not much can be done about that. Also not liking that only the sluggish inner west line stops at Summer Hill, but what can you do?

Footyman, no, I'm not working for SMH, but they've given me a good run thus far. ;)

Am really making an effort to embrace NRL/S14, and I'm doing a good job. Missing the footy like crazy, though.

Going to be hard without it.

Go Swans :(

Your comments are pretty spot-on to be honest. Yes the trains are feral & delapidated. Yes, they only run every half hour on the inner west line. Welcome to my life of public transport hell. (Wait till trackwork hits you, there are little things worrse on a hot day than sitting on a hot vinyl bus seat doing the loop around Redfern Station) You will become well acquainted with the Cityrail pr0n star woman saying her stock come-on line "The trains are late and out of timetable order. Cityrail apologises for the delay".

Good to see you are at least making an effort to assimilate and take an interest in the NRL etc. It does help around the office on a Monday morning, even if 90% of people NEVER go to games up here.

My tip, if you are missing your footy, come & watching the grass roots Sydney Footy League. Ok, the standard isn't the best, but when it is all you have you tend to appreciate this fact. Plus by getting behind local footy you can be a pioneer of sorts. And you CAN make a huge difference by just turn up to games each week. I sometimes go to games, with Glory & Fame going to nearly every one. You start meeting people really quickly. And they really appreciate you making the effort of actually turning up.

And there will be the Swans to watch in a couple of weeks as well I guess. In the interim a trip to watch the Newtown Jets in the NSW Rugby League Premier League is a pretty decent old day. I'm off to Henson Park today if you are bored. Will bring a Sherrins & kick at the AFL posts at half time if anyone rocks up.

JF

PS:- I could always lend you the tape of the Prelim final if you ever need some footy to watch mate. :p