Murray Football League (Part 2)

Re: Murray Football League - Part 2

There is one issue that has become increasingly evident to me throughout the season, and that is Congupna's defensive tactics when playing some of the top sides.

Whilst playing Moama at the weekend, at any one time, they had at least half of their team inside their defensive 50, and at times, almost the whole side, which of course, made it near impossible for Moama to score.
They implementd the same tactics against Nathalia in round 13.

My question is, what is Congupna's and coach Travis Hampshire's logic behind this ridiculous tactic. They have a very young side with a number of promising kids running around for them, yet when they play the top sides, they have to resort to loading up their backline to clog up the avenues to goals for their opposition.

Although being on the receiving end of a 15+ goal pumping really isn't fun, I tend to think that a young, developing side would learn more from trying to challenge a classy side one on one, rather than using this crap.

At this standard of football, I don't think it's really acceptable.

I am interested to hear people's thoughts and comments on the issue.

There is one issue that has become increasingly evident to me throughout the season, and that is Congupna's defensive tactics when playing some of the top sides.

Whilst playing Moama at the weekend, at any one time, they had at least half of their team inside their defensive 50, and at times, almost the whole side, which of course, made it near impossible for Moama to score.
They implementd the same tactics against Nathalia in round 13.

My question is, what is Congupna's and coach Travis Hampshire's logic behind this ridiculous tactic. They have a very young side with a number of promising kids running around for them, yet when they play the top sides, they have to resort to loading up their backline to clog up the avenues to goals for their opposition.

Although being on the receiving end of a 15+ goal pumping really isn't fun, I tend to think that a young, developing side would learn more from trying to challenge a classy side one on one, rather than using this crap.

At this standard of football, I don't think it's really acceptable.

I am interested to hear people's thoughts and comments on the issue.

Yeh horses for courses i think Tucky and you have to work to your own advantages. Good on the coach for trying something different, they may not be good enough to go one on one therefore get flogged when they play that way, sometimes you have to slow opponents scoring down somehow by flooding back then run forward creating space. We found we had the same problem this year, the fact that our fitness was excellent but we were not a tall side, therefore one on one was not going to work for us, and we were much more competitive when the opposing teams ran forward we were able to block holes in the forward fifty and when the turnover occured we were able to run forward creating space.

yeh not very attractive but you just have to work to your own advantages and play to your strengths sometimes to win against better teams otherwise you get rolled by 20+ goals.

Yeh horses for courses i think Tucky and you have to work to your own advantages. Good on the coach for trying something different, they may not be good enough to go one on one therefore get flogged when they play that way, sometimes you have to slow opponents scoring down somehow by flooding back then run forward creating space. We found we had the same problem this year, the fact that our fitness was excellent but we were not a tall side, therefore one on one was not going to work for us, and we were much more competitive when the opposing teams ran forward we were able to block holes in the forward fifty and when the turnover occured we were able to run forward creating space.

yeh not very attractive but you just have to work to your own advantages and play to your strengths sometimes to win against better teams otherwise you get rolled by 20+ goals.
Did you block the holes with 18 men, though?

It would be interesting now that the season is comming to the end for alot of teams to hear a wrap up from some clubs. I would think that there would have to be some serious soul searching from some clubs that finished last year looking ahead at this year to a good year. Some of the sides that are at the bottom half like Mulwala, Congupna, Echuca Utd, Finley were sides that made the six last year and didn't even fire a shot this year?
I Think Tocumwal would have to be one of the most disapointed sides, I watched a there game yesterday for the second time this year... If they are paying the Shep Blokes anything they are wasting there money... Heard from one of there players yesterday they have spent 70k + thats alot of money to finish 3rd or 4th last...

Any word of any coaches been re appointed?

Any changes to the league that might be on the cards? Surely it will have to happen sooner rather than latter..... Is the VCFL just waiting for clubs to fold before they jump in??

Now is the time for some ideas to be floated and maybe Mr O'Donoghue can get moving before it is to late for some of these clubs!!

It would be interesting now that the season is comming to the end for alot of teams to hear a wrap up from some clubs. I would think that there would have to be some serious soul searching from some clubs that finished last year looking ahead at this year to a good year. Some of the sides that are at the bottom half like Mulwala, Congupna, Echuca Utd, Finley were sides that made the six last year and didn't even fire a shot this year?
I Think Tocumwal would have to be one of the most disapointed sides, I watched a there game yesterday for the second time this year... If they are paying the Shep Blokes anything they are wasting there money... Heard from one of there players yesterday they have spent 70k + thats alot of money to finish 3rd or 4th last...

Any changes to the league that might be on the cards? Surely it will have to happen sooner rather than latter..... Is the VCFL just waiting for clubs to fold before they jump in??

Now is the time for some ideas to be floated and maybe Mr O'Donoghue can get moving before it is to late for some of these clubs!!

As u mentioned the 4 bottom sides this year finished 3rd to 6th last year, that was not to anyones surprise and I think the majority of people picked that before the season started. No time to panic on any of those sides folding or the like just yet. Only 12 months ago playing finals I am sure they will all bounce back, obviously Finley is a worry but don't know too much about the inner workings of the club and what they may or may not have in place for the future.
Toc have definately been the biggest disappointment of the year but if as you say they spent 70+ grand this year then all they need to do is spend that money a bit more wisely and they will be back playing finals football very shortly.
Nathalia and Barooga are both there again, can't see them getting any better (or worse), certainly hope not anyway.
All other sides seem to be on the move further forward.

Tucky
I reckon if i ever got the chance to coach a side i would adopt the same tactics as Trav, with young sides there is a time and a place to play different styles of games, let them take them on against the middle of the road sides but against the top sides you need to be careful to protect their confidence i think the tactic he employs are reasonable.
Until we have actually coached and been in that situation Tucky bit hard to be to critical

Inside Out
the four clubs you mentioned were all predicted to fall back into the pack
Toc have probably been a touch disappointing, but your damned if you do and damned if u dont, spend too much money and your buying a flag, spend some money and your not successful and your wasting your money.
only one side can win it.
:D

Tucky
I reckon if i ever got the chance to coach a side i would adopt the same tactics as Trav, with young sides there is a time and a place to play different styles of games, let them take them on against the middle of the road sides but against the top sides you need to be careful to protect their confidence i think the tactic he employs are reasonable.
Until we have actually coached and been in that situation Tucky bit hard to be to critical

Thanks for your input mate. As I said, I wanted to hear other people's opinions and it's great that you and Homer have shared.
It's easy to be critical and criticise coaches, especially when I haven't been one myself, but from an outsider's perspective, the tactics used just seemed a little too over the top.

I don't see any problems with dropping a couple of extra men back to try and stem the flow of an opposition side, but from all reports, Congupna have been sitting more than a handfull back there.

I have always respected Trav as a coach, so don't see this as a personal attack on the bloke. A couple of years ago he took the side from a bottom four side, into finals and he really grew and developed the side.

Unfortunately (like a number of other sides), the long term jeopardy hasn't been sustained, but I'm sure they'll be back up there soon.

Daryl Harrison - Tongala
Duane Hueston - Echuca United

I have been reading a few comments on here about recruiting and i think as usual where clubs go wrong is they try to buy 1 or 2 guns that they think will get them over the line but correct me if i am wrong, If you look at the last 9 flag winners 99,2000 was numurkah,Deni01,02,03,04 and the purps 05,06,07 there is a trend and that is they got all there locals back first. I dont care what anyone says if you have a connection to the club you give that little bit more to get over the line.

I thought about that a few weeks ago. Absolutely spot on oldstyle.

building a good side usually takes a few years with good local players, will be interesting to see how Moama go though come finals time as the Sunbury boys have plenty of finals experience.
good to see on saturday Toc's new rooms currently being built and work has started at Numurkah. will be some great new club rooms next yr in the Murray league which will hopefully attract better players to the league.

That is correct, the flag has not been "bought" in the last nine years.

But surely you would of had to be paying those "locals" a fair quid, who had gone off and played at a higher level and then come back to play for the local club. Names such as Marshall, Parker, Brown, Gemmill and the like wouldn't have just come back to their home clubs for the "love"!!!! The local content is very important and its not the top 6 that get you over the line, but your bottom half dozen. Barooga 92,93 and 94 definitely had that "local" content and still got bagged for "buying" premierships. No matter what you do, you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't!!!

Spot on Hawk. Barooga probably had fewer recruits than many other clubs those years. It's just that they went out and got some quality players to top them up. A lot of their boys were local though. They didn't deserve the baggings they copped back then. A good club then and now.

I just think your locals will play for less but you get more out of them, Yr they go and get big money if they want but it means so much more at your home club. We all have stories of people chasing money and at the end of the day if clubs are going to pay it good luck to them but i would be looking after the locals first.
Ok lets get of the fence and have ago at picking the premiers. :eek:

I just think your locals will play for less but you get more out of them, Yr they go and get big money if they want but it means so much more at your home club. We all have stories of people chasing money and at the end of the day if clubs are going to pay it good luck to them but i would be looking after the locals first.
Ok lets get of the fence and have ago at picking the premiers. :eek:
Amen.

Well with Moama only having dropped one game for the whole season, it is obvious that most would say that they're red hot favorites.

But for some reason, I feel that both Nathalia and Barooga should most definitely not be ruled out. They both had key players missing from their games against Moama, who almost all of, are back in their respective sides.

Whichever way it goes, the top three teams are going to make for a very competitive finals series, but again, don't rule out Rumbalara, Tongala and Numurkah.

All three have have shown on a number of occasions throughout the season that they are more than capable of pushing some of the top sides, and even defeating them.

I guess it will come down to consistency and how much each of the teams want it.

Amen.

Well with Moama only having dropped one game for the whole season, it is obvious that most would say that they're red hot favorites.

But for some reason, I feel that both Nathalia and Barooga should most definitely not be ruled out. They both had key players missing from their games against Moama, who almost all of, are back in their respective sides.

Whichever way it goes, the top three teams are going to make for a very competitive finals series, but again, don't rule out Rumbalara, Tongalan and Numurkah.

All three have have shown on a number of occasions throughout the season that they are more than capable of pushing some of the top sides, and even defeating them.

I guess it will come down to consistency and how much each of the teams want it.

Who does everyone think will have the toughest run in the finals??

Amen.

Whichever way it goes, the top three teams are going to make for a very competitive finals series, but again, don't rule out Rumbalara, Tongala and Numurkah.

I'm with you on this one tucky.

If I had to pick two teams in the grand final I would put my money on a Nathalia / Moama grand final, with the purps to win :). But thats coming from a grandma that hated footy before living in Nathalia.

Go Purps

Who does everyone think will have the toughest run in the finals??
Goodgolly, Are you able to shed some light on the brawl which took place during the Rumbalara v Echuca United game on the weekend? I heard that a kid from United received a broken jaw in three places in his first senior game.

there wasn't a brawl in the game. it was some family members from echuca having a disagreement and they ain't apart of the club. the kid who got hurt from united, was a FAIR shirt front, no elbows raised or forearms or fists. the umpire was right in front and only awarded a free kick and didn't think it was reportable.