NAB Challenge 2016

How good was Nelson. I'm not even worried about getting Wellers back for rd1 after that game from him. He deserves more games, was epic defensively and hurt GC when he got the ball. Looked completely unfazed by any pressure.

He's ahead of ellis imo now and fighting with butler for that last defensive post or potentially the 4th inchange position.

Just when it looked like the league has been adopting a more attacking style of football, Gold Coast have to go and appoint a dinosaur in Eades who loves coaching a flooding type of game which is just so unattractive and boring to watch. Did not notice it much last year but then Gold Coast were decimated by injury so perhaps Rodney postponed his gameplan for this year. That's the problem when you appoint Dinosaurs as coaches. They want to bring back the old style of coaching. Even Freo are now trying to adopt a more attacking style as realise goals win games:$

Pretty sure his Bulldogs were one of more exciting teams to watch.

Not sure where u have been but every team has been flooding for over a decade.

He's ahead of ellis imo now and fighting with butler for that last defensive post or potentially the 4th inchange position.
From reports for preseason Nelson has also been running through the midfield running off the back of the square at bounces .
Could he be that 7th defender/ mid rotation early in the season ?
We have some injury clouds over mids masten jetta sheed redden so Nelson could be very handy and hard to displace once he is in the team .

I'm beginning to think that our boys struggle more than most when conditions are very windy. Remember the Norf game in Tassie last year?

They seem to revert to a "just get it on the boot" mentality, rather than trying to hit up a target. It may be that they are being told to do this, but I doubt it.

Ive long been a keep gov back man. But boy magical mythical things just seem to happen when he goes forward

Very scrappy game but no more scrappier than what we were last pre-season. Bar the injuries it was it was a good game to get the cobwebs out and get used to the rotation cap.

Negatives:

- Browns injured, now he isn't in my best 22 but he is important depth if we get injuries to Schoey, Gov and Emac if he isn't a 100%. Being a finger he shouldn't be out to long and could be right to go round 1.

- Jetta looked on fire and his injury while not major could rob us of another mid. Worst case its 4 weeks and he miss's round 1 , luckily he has down a full pre-season so should be behind the 8 ball.

- Disposal was rubbish into the forward line but i will put that down to blowing out the cobwebs

- Karps for me doesn't show much up front and should just be tried in the midfield. Would have rather we played Cole or Paro.

Positives:

- We ran the game out well using the new rotations and you could see our hard work from the pre-season fitness wise come to fruition in the last 1/4.

- Shep backing up his from last year.

- Lecra turning on in that game.

Gov is definitely the new Hunter. When we need a few marks or a crucial goal, throw him forward, and he delivers. That's the second time he's kicked the winning goal against the Suns, did it at Subi in 2014 I think, The game where were leading by about 40 points and went to sleep and almost let them pinch it.

Last time we used a swingman, we won a flag.......

Pretty sure his Bulldogs were one of more exciting teams to watch.

Not sure where u have been but every team has been flooding for over a decade.
Everyone to their own. Yes they were but have noticed a bit of a change to a more attacking style over the last couple of years, particularly With the better teams. Even the commentators during games have commented on it. Anyway I am talking about the excessive type of flooding that Eades used when coaching Sydney and that was quite some time ago - pre Roos taking over. There definitely has been a change to the game since then.

I reckon Shuey makes a bigger difference to us than we probably think. I would like to see our win/loss ratio for matches that he has either missed through injury/suspension, or when being heavily tagged.

He's really our only true damaging midfielder and seems to really glue everything together

That's a bold call. Because I already rate Shuey pretty highly. I even suspect that Shuey may in fact be 'the Big Cheese'. Gary Ablett's (snr) nickname was God. I reckon God's nickname is probably Shuey.

You make it sound as though performances in the NAB cup doesn't define our whole season.

I was trying not to explicitly state it. But I really support a tanking strategy during the NAB Cup. I know the frustration of losing in the NAB cup is very painful but the ultimate reward of no change in our draft position at the end of the year is just too lucrative for me to ignore.

If Gold Coast fans existed, they would've been a bit shitty.
They were pretty excited over on their board.

All 3 of them.

16544%20-%20autoplay_gif%20gif%20laughing%20paul_heyman%20smiling%20suit%20wwe.gif

We seem to like our thrillers with GC.

2014 we had a similar game where Gov kicked the winner and we won by 3. The draw last year. Now this.

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 14m14 minutes ago
"We took away from yesterday that we've got a lot to improve on." @andrewgaff03

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 13m13 minutes ago
"I think our work rate and our intent was there. Our skills and polish were a little off." @andrewgaff03

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles
12m12 minutes ago
"We're a bit thin through the middle right now but it comes in waves. We've dealt with personnel issues before." -AG

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 13m13 minutes ago
"Guys like Jack Darling, Jamie Cripps going through the midfield makes us more flexible." -AG

13m13 minutes ag
"I'm always trying to be the best I can. I'm always trying to improve, hopefully the team can all take the next step, too." -AG

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 12m12 minutes ago
"Playing different roles and being harder to play on is a focus. If individuals all improve we will hopefully see success." -AG

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 11m11 minutes ago
"Scotty has been playing for a while now. We know what he does well, Gilesy has also come in and put his best foot forward." -AG

" It is tough Watching Mcginnity play as he can butcher the ball , but the one thing is good at is getting knocked out ,gives me the giggles everytime" -AG

11m11 minutes ago
"We know how good Nic is and he allows us first look to put our best foot forward."-AG

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 11m11 minutes ag
"It's great to have Ezy back, to put him back in the side and for him to build his confidence." -AG

"The manager is looking after the contract, I'm just focussing on footy and preparing for the season." -AG

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 10m10 minutes ago
"I've loved my time here. I would love to be an Eagle for life. The club is fantastic and we're in a good spot now." -AG

West Coast Eagles ‏@WestCoastEagles 8m8 minutes ago

"I think Shannon Hurn was a bit upset watching Trent launch those 80m bombs. He'll probably work on it at training!" @andrewgaff03