MacKay was rather propy with his shoulder following two incidents with Jake King. Went for treatment, just looked uncomfortable.and most importantly ...
NO INJURIES
King is a useless ****.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
MacKay was rather propy with his shoulder following two incidents with Jake King. Went for treatment, just looked uncomfortable.and most importantly ...
NO INJURIES
Was sitting near the 5aa guys.Shame about the stream. Amusing call from fiveAA though. Ronald-dal-dinio![]()
Annoyingly Moran didn't even appear to try to exert himself. He resembles a 6'7 Jericho too often. Has the tools though. Maric and Jacobs ahead of him atm.I'm taking it you were at the game? How was Moran in the ruck contests? Rowie and Bone didn't sound too impressed with him.
Walker. Gun.![]()
With Callinan having gone down, I'd say Jaensch is likelier than not to play in round 1.
I know Richmond were poor, but we took our foot right off the pedal in the 2nd and 3rd terms. I'm sure they had the acid put on them at 3 q time because they were a different side from the 1st bounce in the last.
I'd echo the comments from the others at the game, but I reckon stiffy is like a Bart Cummings spring carnival special. He looks like he's just about set.
Rory Sloane is a wonder. Not only is he everywhere, he's so vocal. And Davis just oozes composure.
On today's effort, I'd start Maric in the ruck, Tip and Tex up forward, and run Smack off the bench as the 2nd ruck / forward - but only after 15 days remedial goal kicking. He missed 2 absolute sitters that would hurt against a better team.
You guys wil make the 8, you just had an off year last year
Thoughts on few players
Don’t think forward line of Tippett, Walker and McKernan would work. While McKernan is currently pinch hitting in ruck and spending time up forward it will be interesting see what happens when Tippett returns. Don’t think we should rush him or Henderson back if we have bye Round 2. I think with the traditional 22 Moran would get nod for 2nd ruck but it is very interesting call atm. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Craig use new rule to sub ruck after 15 mins in 3rd.
That is the easy assumption to make, however I would go the other way and say that it is more not, otherwise Craigy would have started Jaensch in the small forward role and played him there for the majority of the game rather than a sub coming on in the last stanza
it seems obvious to me with Jaensch only playing the last qtr and with both Smith and Symes only playing a half of footy that this would strongly suggest that all 3 will not be in our 21 however either Symes or Smith may land the sub position
Great win by you guys today, Walker will be an absolute star of the competition in a couple of years.
Thanks for your contribution.
Do you think Tambling will be a good addition to our side or just a depth player? Does Tambo normally have good skills or is he known to fumble a great deal? Lastly, where do you see Tambos natural position? Obviously the crows see him as a half back/mid.
Hope you can answer these questions.![]()
Given that Jaensch had a minor groin strain a couple of weeks ago it wouldnt surprise me if he was deliberately being held back a bit. I certainly think he'll be named round 1.
Great win by you guys today, Walker will be an absolute star of the competition in a couple of years.
Thanks for your contribution.
Do you think Tambling will be a good addition to our side or just a depth player? Does Tambo normally have good skills or is he known to fumble a great deal? Lastly, where do you see Tambos natural position? Obviously the crows see him as a half back/mid.
Hope you can answer these questions.![]()
In all honesty I think you guys made a big stuff up going after this guy, I just really can't see how he fits into the team Adelaide have plenty of mid sized players who can run and are of a much higher quality then Tambling.
In regards to his skills, by foot he is alright nothing special about it and is totally unreliable by hand, thats the fun thing about Tambo you never know which Tambling you're going to get on the day.
And as to his natural playing position, still trying to figure that one out, be sure to let us know when you guys find it for him.![]()
In all honesty I think you guys made a big stuff up going after this guy, I just really can't see how he fits into the team Adelaide have plenty of mid sized players who can run and are of a much higher quality then Tambling.
In regards to his skills, by foot he is alright nothing special about it and is totally unreliable by hand, thats the fun thing about Tambo you never know which Tambling you're going to get on the day.
And as to his natural playing position, still trying to figure that one out, be sure to let us know when you guys find it for him.![]()
Talking about Bling, what did you think of his game yeaterday? I was only able to follow the radio coverage but they were saying he was attacking the ball and man with alot of intensity. Did you notice that and was it any different to what he used to do when playing with the Tiges.
Cheers mate
Talking about Bling, what did you think of his game yeaterday? I was only able to follow the radio coverage but they were saying he was attacking the ball and man with alot of intensity. Did you notice that and was it any different to what he used to do when playing with the Tiges.
Cheers mate
From what I saw yesterday, Tambling doesn't look like hes changed all that much since moving teams, one thing Tambling did well in 2010 when he played was he hit the packs hard and could lay a tackle or two, but as soon as he had the ball in his hands he was very much hit and miss.
Often his kicks would go over his intended targets head or fall short or when he would handball it would be at the feet of the player or just wide, and one thing Tambling would consistently do through out his career is if he would have a bad game he would do 1 or 2 things within that game that made you think it was going to click for him and he would turn it on.
I just think the price Adelaide payed for him was way over for what hes worth, the Bock pick we received off you guys for him will be a pick in the top20 in a couple of years and the other draft pick that was in the 40s we received also nabbed us Brad Helbig if memory serves me right who was one of our best yesterday and is certainly pushing for Round 1.
In response to a few of the earlier points:
I can't wait to see that Danger tackle again. I hope it makes it to the YouTube highlights package. The guy he tackled just lay there under Danger like he was a dead fish.
I totally agree with this...
crow_fish... can i bother you for your thoughts on Bernie Vince yesterday?
did he have the old Bernie sting in the tail of a couple of years ago?
Not a back IMO. I had the binocs on him for a bit and, as has been mentioned, his attack on the ball, pace across the ground and tackling were all pretty good but he can't defend a space or mind a man to save himself. While his tackling was at times fierce, it was often his only option because he was second to the contest. Wrong-footed pretty easily. Looks to be in too much of a hurry to get rid of the ball when he's got it; didn't show much desire to run and carry even when he had the opportunity. All this may be down to fitness (hope so, because I like him) but it looked a bit like temperament. Jury's out for me.
We have a very very scary forward line. I also think yesterdays game is going to really make our team think VERY hard about bombing it into Tippett, because Walker was taking contested mark after contested mark quite easily. I hope the team understands that Walker 1on1 is a better shot than a Tippett 1on2.
Knights was running very very hard in the 2nd half, that's another think I noticed about Chris, he was running himself absolutely into the ground. There was a passage of play in the 3rd quarter where someone won the ball on the outer wing, and Chris absolutely bolted to our forward line from the center, only for the kick to go over his head, Chris is very very quick of the mark.
Walker was Carey-esque in his presence. He's got some swagger and the ability to dominate. He'll have tougher jobs this year but he's going to be awesome. Very excited about our forwards.
Knights impressed me. I've been very wary of some comments on here from people expecting him to pick up where he left off in 09 (you know who you are). Oh me of little faith. He's a good athlete and when he kicks, hallelujah, he kicks long. Like Vince, he looks short of a gallop, but he certainly didn't leave anything on the track. Midway through the last quarter, he ran a long way to close on a Richmond player running with the ball, threw in a huge burst for a couple of steps and just failed to grab his man. At that moment I thought, jeez, if you'd kept that burst on for another couple of steps you'd have got him. Then I noticed him staggering to the interchange in some physical distress and took himself off. As he crossed the line, it looked like he was saying that he was finished for the day, but 5 minutes later he sprinted back on.
On the whole, Richmond were pretty ordinary. Not sure that we got much of a gauge as to where we're at with this game. We're definitely solid. Solid solid, not...you know. And we're definitely playing a more direct brand of footy. Will it hold together under more pressure? There are some good signs and not just from the youngsters we're all excited about. Doughty played very well, and Reilly was good. They and Stevens all have to play well because, whether we like it or not, they're probably all in our first 22. I'm nervous about our rucking and ability to control the midfield. Lot of ifs there.
Couple of concerns: Otten doesn't look up to it at this stage. I think he needs time in the SANFL. McKernan can jump but his ruckwork is really clumsy.
i agree, he seemed to be jumping really early (with very impressive leap), but not really doing that well in the ruck.McKernan can jump but his ruckwork is really clumsy.
For anyone interested, they've put the game from last week Vs Richmond up on the Tigers website, LINK