Nat Fyfe - Open to offers.

Pointing that out isn't trolling unless this is the Carlton board, being paranoid or aggressive, about normal regular bigfooty discussion is a bit over the top. Heck you could call Priddis a spud, NN overpaid and allowing Woosha to walk a poor choice and people will probably agree with you on our board. No need to be frightened about simple conversation Clay.

many west coast fans do this as well

Hey guys sorry to intrude, i'm not being a troll this is a genuine rumour floating around (which I don't believe).

A close mate of mine who has good football connections, and is usually pretty spot on when it comes to AFL rumours is fairly certain that Fyfe will be at Sydney next year... Yes.. Sydney! I personally can't see how Sydney can afford him but my mate seems to think Sydney have 1 or 2 players lined up to trade directly for Fyfe. Could this be at all true? I hope not. They could trade Tom Mitchell and Sam Reid ? Or someone in their current 22 like Luke Parker.

Just some thoughts! but please god I hope he does not go to Sydney (or Hawthorn)
Josh Kennedy, Ted Richards, and maybe someone like Reid'll do.

Ted Richards is pretty old. If spannerberry was part of the trade I would follow Fyfe to Sydney.

I was having a look at the 2014 average stats comparing Pendles, Mundy, Fyfe and Gibbs. Fyfe kills in contested marks (Mundy and Gibbs basically don't get any), overall possessions and tackles are fairly close. Using contested possessions as the driver of salary and assuming Gibbs at $600k you get the following values:

Gibbs $600k a year
Mundy $680k
Pendles $740k
Fyfe $870k

That seems about right to me in terms of current value.

The gap between pendlebury and fyfe isn't as big as that imo

Sorry stats don't lie. Fyfe's marking makes him more valuable than Pendles, what would you say the offsetting factor would be to bring the gap closer. I suppose Pendles is a better kick but remember Pendles is 26 and Fyfe is only 22 and Fyfe has approved massively this year in that area.

If you're going purely on average contested possessions then on your analysis Priddis would be worth $800,000 so stats do lie

Going off one stat is overly simplistic and it has skewed your result. On current output the value of pendlebury and fyfe would be a lot closer than $870,000 - $740,000

If you're going purely on average contested possessions then on your analysis Priddis would be worth $800,000 so stats do lie

Going off one stat is overly simplistic and it has skewed your result. On current output the value of pendlebury and fyfe would be a lot closer than $870,000 - $740,000
Priddis loses -500k for the perm.

Pendlebury's an out-and-out gun and currently worth more than Fyfe. But he also has a few more years' wear and tear and contracts are about future value not past performance. I reckon Freo will need to pay close to top dollar to keep Fyfe. Luckily the non-monetary factors all stack up in our favour!

supporters overrating their own players and underrating oppositions'!!! ... never :eek:

To be fair, I don't think he was for a minute suggesting Priddis should be paid anywhere near that; just pointing out that some stats may be more misleading than others!

;)

Pendles probably kicks more goals, but apart from that I agree. Contested marking is very underrated and is part of the reason we are a much better team with Fyfe in it.

Who underates contested marks? Most football followers I know rate them very highly and recognise them as part of Fyfe's armoury which makes him a standout player who is extremely difficult to tag because of it.

The kind of people who are saying that Fyfe isn't in the top 5 players. I.E. most Victorians.

Most Victorians highly rate Fyfe. This is not an situation where the Victorians don't rate anything non-Victorian.

Fyfe gets plenty of plaudits and if anything the Victorian media were the ones to first compare him to James Hird.

based on Gibb's 5 years would we be open to giving Fyfe a 10 year contract? :p

311514-lance-franklin.jpg

If you were looking at currency on the trade table Fyfe would be miles higher.
Obviously with four years difference in age Fyfe has a bit more longevity, but at 26 years of age Pendlebury still has a lot more footy to play

Most Victorians highly rate Fyfe. This is not an situation where the Victorians don't rate anything non-Victorian.

Fyfe gets plenty of plaudits and if anything the Victorian media were the ones to first compare him to James Hird.

No I'm pretty sure it was one of us on BF and the Vic media picked it up and ran with it.