nathan back

forrrestGump

i have been informed that nath will be back at the club during the break, timed so as not to be too disruptive

don't hang me, it is the latest info i have

Doesn't he usually train at the club's gym anyway? What exactly does "back" mean? It can mean anything from hanging out in the clubrooms to expressing his interest in playing footy again.

Don't be such a tease forrrest... Get more info out of your source! ;)

kimuraye3.jpg

god (ablett snr) i wish i could believe this. Maybe JumpingJack has some info on this...*wink wink nudge nudge*

You've dragged me out of the hole I was hiding in after recent events, however - I can advise that this will not be happening and any suggestion by posters on this site to the contrary is myth or wishful speculation.

Here are "the facts" as I'm told from my "source".

1] Nathan has no immediate desire to play VFL (zero desire to play AFL).

2] He has been doing some "supervised" training for a few months to keep a base - but purely for personal motivation. If you want to spot him training you can head to Geelong College outside "normal hours" and he'll be doing some run through's - 400m time pieces - and using the pool.

3] Don't get in his face at College or he packs his bag and goes home.

4] Only attends the club facilities for the odd rub down and physio work .... and to catch up for mates for some billiards or table tennis (fact)

5] Has told the club he can't committ right now to playing but I'm told that he does'nt want to be delisted (a conundram)

The above details are posted as speculative information and I can't vouch for their authenticity ....... I'm sure none of it is groun-breaking stuff.

Has told the club he can't committ right now to playing but I'm told that he does'nt want to be delisted (a conundram)

He'd better sort something out before the draft - I'd love Nathan to come back and play, but if he has zero desire to play AFL when the time comes, I'd cut him loose. No ifs, ands or buts. We want players who are committed to the club.

Thing is, would it affect Gaz? He appears to be a very reasonable bloke, surely he'd realise the GFC can only wait so long while a spot on the team list sits idle..

the problem you have is that he needs a big preseason on weights and fitness to keep up, and if his heart isnt in it then he will never be anywhere near as good as he needs to be to keep up with the fast pace changes of the current game. dont want to sound too serious but your better off having a bloke willing to put in 100% all the time not chopping and changing his mind.

this is old news to me, i said a couple of weeks ago he is coming back in 09'
i hope he does, the club will benefit hugly with him in the side, even thought uve got the team to go all the way this year!

Cat's is 08'

*fingers crossed*

You've dragged me out of the hole I was hiding in after recent events, however - I can advise that this will not be happening and any suggestion by posters on this site to the contrary is myth or wishful speculation.

Here are "the facts" as I'm told from my "source".

1] Nathan has no immediate desire to play VFL (zero desire to play AFL).

2] He has been doing some "supervised" training for a few months to keep a base - but purely for personal motivation. If you want to spot him training you can head to Geelong College outside "normal hours" and he'll be doing some run through's - 400m time pieces - and using the pool.

3] Don't get in his face at College or he packs his bag and goes home.

4] Only attends the club facilities for the odd rub down and physio work .... and to catch up for mates for some billiards or table tennis (fact)

5] Has told the club he can't committ right now to playing but I'm told that he does'nt want to be delisted (a conundram)

The above details are posted as speculative information and I can't vouch for their authenticity ....... I'm sure none of it is groun-breaking stuff.
Thanks for that Jumping Jack. You're right, none of it surprises me.

I think we have seen the last of young Nathan. Amazing talent which won't find its potential but good luck to the boy with having the courage to do what he wants.

Thing is, would it affect Gaz? He appears to be a very reasonable bloke, surely he'd realise the GFC can only wait so long while a spot on the team list sits idle..
I reckon he would cope. His ability to focus on footy seems pretty evident.

The real issue will arise if Nath ever has sons. He won't have played enough games to qualify for father/son! There could theoretically be direct descendants of Gary Ablett turning out for other clubs!

I reckon he would cope. His ability to focus on footy seems pretty evident.

The real issue will arise if Nath ever has sons. He won't have played enough games to qualify for father/son! There could theoretically be direct descendants of Gary Ablett turning out for other clubs!
Ahh, a forward thinker! ;)

i Reckon He Would Cope. His Ability To Focus On Footy Seems Pretty Evident.

The Real Issue Will Arise If Nath Ever Has Sons. He Won't Have Played Enough Games To Qualify For Father/son! There Could Theoretically Be Direct Descendants Of Gary Ablett Turning Out For Other Clubs!

Blasphemous!!

I think its pretty obvious Nathan is a lost cause to play AFL. What he really needs is a good dose of reality. He's still on mimimum player wage is my understanding as they have to pay him as he on the list and salary cap requirements. So getting 80k to do jack all day is not bad. Maybe a gig flippin burgers at macca's for $12.00 an hour or sloggin it out on a site mixin mud and haulin blocks for a team of brickies for $20/hour, payin $1.70 a litre and $300 a week rent, he might think playin footy for a livin ain't so tough after all.

Fair point. I think it's worth the $ to ensure that he remains on the list though as i think he will return. I don't think its 'obvious' that Nath is a lost cause to play AFL.

I think it was Nixon who took on management of Ablett Snr. and was horrified at what the club was paying him...maybe they are making it up through Nath? :rolleyes:

Fair point. I think it's worth the $ to ensure that he remains on the list though as i think he will return. I don't think its 'obvious' that Nath is a lost cause to play AFL.

Mate, I hope your right. when you look at the DVD of last seasons highlights his contributions and little deft tap ons etc to people in better positions were amazing. I reckon it will be a deadset tragedy if he dosn't play again. I feel his skills as a seasoned 27 year old 150 gamer could be something to see.

I think it was Nixon who took on management of Ablett Snr. and was horrified at what the club was paying him...maybe they are making it up through Nath? :rolleyes:

I don't know what this has got to do with my post, all I'm saying is if he dosen't want to play (AFL Senior)footy then thats fine, good on him for not being pushed into something he didn't have his heart in or didn't want to do. But it would be good if he could make that decision with out the benefit of the juicy minimum player payment. In the words of John Butler " Go take a step outside and see whats shakin in the real world".
The club has no choice, they must pay him as he is on the list. But they can't afford to keep him on the list next year and beyond just in the hope he suddenly decides to have a crack. I don't think it will have any affect on his brother either, he seems pretty level headed as much as he would be disappointed not to play out his career along side his "little" bro.