Richo_Daffy

Panathinaikos
talk bout a change of heart by a lot of the richmond supporters on here. he is a class player and he has had a bad start to the season yes, but jeez almost eveyone wants him gone. dont u know the old saying form is temporary, class is permanent. watch him return to something of his best form in the coming weeks.

If he can consistently perform well for the rest of the season and show he want's to play footy next year then I am all for giving him one more year but if he ain't doing anything and is obviously to busy with other commitments then he needs to be gone.

Class is permanent, but you need the body to back it up.

Before he broke his leg, he was almost the best player in the game - remember it was only a week or two earlier that he kicked 5 in the last quarter to beat the Pies. He was great.

But the leg has killed him. Such a long rehab, with 2 or 3 false starts - he's only a shadow of the player he once was. He can't play as an attacking mid anymore - sure, he can rack up easy stats across half-back, but so could I. He used to be our best at 'Inside 50's. But now, he hasn't got the quickness to create the space to give himself time to deliver the ball - he's too easy to defend.
He's playing more as a lead-up marking forward these days, and set shots have always been a weakness. He is not a great set shot for goal (snap, on the run, fantastic).

Look, I wish he could play as he did pre-leg, but there are no signs of him getting back to that level.
Maybe a stint at FF - stay in the goalsquare, one-on-one. Give him space. OK, still got the set shot problem.

I think he'll be safe for next season, because you can't sack everyone - but I don't see him as any more than 'one of our several small forwards'.

Most supporters would think that one positive we can get from this season is to find out if injury was hampering him early on and he still has good footy to offer.

That Geelong games keeps me open minded on it.

We need to see it for the remainder to be sure and to make a decision, but I disagreed with posters believing that now we should leave him out of the side to develop someone for the future.

Class on the football field doesnt come easy at Tigerland so we need to ensure that we are not getting rid of it too quickly.

Was amazed to hear him say he has missed something like 40 out of our past 90 games !!

I knew he had missed a few, but not that many :eek:

Gee we have got good value out of him, considering he would be on top $$ :rolleyes:

Considering the amount of footy he has missed, if we are to offer him another 1 yr contract at seasons end, it should be on a low salary ... paid enough already for little return.

Little wonder the bulldogs fans are laughing about the trade !!

I think as he gets older he is slowing down to the point where he cant be that elusive forward anymore, but I would like to see him replace Bowden across half back and see if his decision making can offer us something extra there for more years to come.

i thought the mail was that he had a stellar pre-season and was ready for a big '09... might still be the case after he gets over the groin problem.

Was amazed to hear him say he has missed something like 40 out of our past 90 games !!

I knew he had missed a few, but not that many :eek:

Gee we have got good value out of him, considering he would be on top $$ :rolleyes:

Considering the amount of footy he has missed, if we are to offer him another 1 yr contract at seasons end, it should be on a low salary ... paid enough already for little return.

Little wonder the bulldogs fans are laughing about the trade !!
If the bulldog fans are happy about getting Veale/Rawlings and Street for Brown, then good for them. As far as we go, you can't anticipate a freak injury like that.

Conspiracy Theory : Brown is not playing for wallace. I picked this up last year in centenary match 5 straight points that would of been a soda for him, lets see what happens when wallace is replaced.

Conspiracy theory - None of the team are playing for Wallace. Wallace has become one of those egg farts you do in the car and no matter how many windows you open or how fast you drive they just seem to hang around. Let me give you the tip Hagans , they are the worst in winter and Wallace is proving to be a lingerer....??????????

I can recall Browny boasting about his fitness two days before our round 1 capitulation. He stated he was in the best condition since coming to the tigers, an uninterupted pre seaon and he was chomping at the bit to have a big one. First couple of rounds he sucked, didn't put any defensive pressure on in the forward 50, poor disposal etc etc (he is not on his own here though).

I think one thing has been exposed is the speed of the game and father time have caught up with him. If he want's to continue next year he needs to re-invent himself and sure up his position.

NO PLAYER, I repeat NO PLAYER should get a game purely on past reputation. A spot in the 22 needs to be earned:thumbsu:.

Browny should have played for the VFL this week, not just walk into the side because his mate is coach:thumbsd:.

Horrible injury cuts him down in his prime then the club butchers his recovery playing him when not fully recovered. Its been a tough run and none of it his fault.

I'm hoping he strings a great last half of the year together and makes it impossible to delist him.

If he finds form I would keep him and Cousins and delist the other 30+ year olds.

Never seen him down at Coburg supporting the lads - there may be more "important" things going on in his life and I hear he's a bit different, but I reckon it speaks volumes.

If he can consistently perform well for the rest of the season and show he want's to play footy next year then I am all for giving him one more year but if he ain't doing anything and is obviously to busy with other commitments then he needs to be gone.

Agree he is classy should, still be able to make an impact and he is a match winner.. Could have used him against Brisbane Rd 8

if he tackles and puts presure on the defender tham i'm happy but if he doesnt then he can go.

fine it is unfortunate he got cut down the way he did but fair go, he can strive to tackle, chase harrass harder. Hasn't tried to improve deficiencies. I am not enamoured that he is back in tbh.

over him unless he can show hes willing to do the 1%ers

I put Polak in the same category with Browny. Both sustained dreadfull injuries whilst in great form for the club.

If they can't regain the fitness required to play AFL, then.......bye bye boys.

This club has to make the "right" decisions for the future of the club, not just what's in the players best interests.