Player Watch Nathan Freeman

I really dislike that Paul Connors flog, out of all the player managers I reckon he's the one who handles himself the worst. The fact that he says that the deal we offered Nathan was unreasonable really pissed me off, how is it unreasonable to give a player who hasn't played a game in 2 years due to injury a lower contract with incentives which could net him a higher amount of money than the contract that St Kilda offered.
What a load of crap, I reckon he's probably the main reason why Nathan is making this move.

has Connors ever brought anyone to Collingwood....cos he's orchestrated a few out of the place?

Yeah, fair point, and I don't disagree. But Melbourne's argument in 2009 was that they couldn't consider taking Ball because they hadn't done a medical, even though I would have thought they could just rely on Collingwood having done the work. So maybe there's more to it than that from a risk perspective.
Ball was in the unique position in 2009 of being able to tell clubs he flat out wouldn't play for them if they drafted him, to the point that he was willing to sit out of footy if they drafted him. The entire reason he opted for the ND rather than the PSD was to add that extra risk to clubs that considered drafting him. Whilst it's conceivable that Freeman could do the same, it's not exactly an enticing option for him. The PSD carries no risk for clubs that use it, so threats are unlikely to deter them, and if Freeman opted for the ND, St Kilda's absolute best case scenario would be to get him with their second pick. It's unlikely that he would last till the third round in a shallow draft. Sitting out of footy for two years if he refuses a contract wouldn't be an enticing thought for a kid who's already had a stalled start to his career.

So what are the options?

1. Risk him being taken earlier in the PSD by Carlton/Essendon/Melbourne (Roos had big wraps on him in his draft year) who see little to no risk in taking a punt on a kid for two years who has a ton of upside.

2. Send him to the ND, where you'll have to use your second pick on him anyway, provided he lasts that long.

3. Throw the Pies your second pick and guarantee he will get to the Saints with no drama or unnecessary stress on the kid.

Seems like a pretty straightforward decision to me.

Facts are that Freeman is uncontracted and has put us into unfortunate position by nominating one club, second rounder is all we can hope for here and that depends on decency, big ask I know, of the aints.
And no amount of posturing is going to change any of this.

Why get fired up over it? Who cares? We aren't negotiating his trade & neither are they.
He hasn't done anything at our club to get worked up about him leaving.
One great thing with aussie rules is we don't have segregation of supporters. I come on here to talk footy with people from all walks of life and all opinions. It would a boring place if everyone just agreed. While we often don't get the same courtesy on other boards, I'm glad our board sets a positive example to encourage/allow the inclusion of opposition fans and think we're better for it.

Surely not playing because of chronic hamstring injuries which you might never recover from has to reduce your value at least a little?

And Beamer only wanted to go home to be with his sick father......we've done all this b4 mate......you're just the latest in the long line of try hards....
Come back when the deal's done....let's hope its handled professionally.

Facts are that Freeman is uncontracted and has put us into unfortunate position by nominating one club, second rounder is all we can hope for here and that depends on decency, big ask I know, of the aints.

There is no such thing as decency at the trade table.

Every club will do whatever it takes to get the best for themselves.

One thing that frustrates the hell out of me is the offering of an exorbadant contract to a player to lure them out of their own club and into another club and then the other club does not pony up at the trade table and want it done for unders. The damage is already done though. i.e. everyone knows Beams was offered a huge contract by Brisvegas mid season, they then offer only Pick 5 for someone they have given a huge contract to and a war breaks out about what the players worth. Same will go here, the Saints offer a non-gamer $300,000 a year for 3 years. If they give us pick 21, then that's a deal, but I can see them not handing it straight over because of the Carlisle situation and offering 40 odd which is not commensurate with the contract given and players worth. Same goes for Treloar, Collingwood need to pony up Pick 7 and 20 straight up and then if need be sweeten it up further, because we all know he is worth it. These deals should be done first day of the trade period

To the contrary there is nothing stopping Brisbane getting Freeman in the PSD.
And yes he has to go! As AFL rules stipulate.
The Lions would be stupid not to pick him up for nothing.
If Stlkida dont come to the party, he can well become part of the Aish deal if he likes it or not!
Sorry but he only has to go to a club if they meet his contract requirements and they can demonstrate they can fit him under the salary cap.

PSD rules

"A participating Club may not select any player at the NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft Selection Meeting unless it can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the AFL that it can accommodate the player’s nominated football payments within its Total Player Payments."

"Players nominated football payments" is the key phrase - which is why the Saints offer will be front loaded and high - to make its as difficult as possible for any other club to match it given what they are getting - which is logical from a Saints point of view because it strengthens their bargaining position.

If Collingwood try and play hardball (say demand a first rounder), dealing stops and he then goes to the PSD and will most likely end up with St Kilda and Saints keep their draft pick. Great for us but I reckon Collingwood list managers are smart enough not to let that happen.

So the likely trade scenario's are - Freeman and your fourth round for our second rounder(Saints) or a straight swap Freeman for Pick 23 (Collingwood).

Given the above - my money is on the first option.

Second round saints pick will get done and is about right.
He is not worth a first round given injury record and not a third given his draft position. With some interest from mm and perhaps Melb saints will deal their second rounder
I would still be disappointed with that as I really like the kid and will hope he does well at the saints
Let's move on people and forget the bs being swapped back and forth between saints and pies supporters

Yep, and it'll be a 2nd round pick if we are lucky imo. I wouldn't be surprised if he went through to the PSD. He seems determined to get to StKilda (for whatever reason) and he'll most probably get there. Even if it is via the PSD. I know what I'd be offering if I was St Kilda, and it wouldn't be much.

Sorry but he only has to go to a club if they meet his contract requirements and they can demonstrate they can fit him under the salary cap.

PSD rules

"A participating Club may not select any player at the NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft Selection Meeting unless it can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the AFL that it can accommodate the player’s nominated football payments within its Total Player Payments."

"Players nominated football payments" is the key phrase - which is why the Saints offer will be front loaded and high - to make its as difficult as possible for any other club to match it given what they are getting - which is logical from a Saints point of view because it strengthens their bargaining position.

If Collingwood try and play hardball (say demand a first rounder), dealing stops and he then goes to the PSD and will most likely end up with St Kilda and Saints keep their draft pick. Great for us but I reckon Collingwood list managers are smart enough not to let that happen.

So the likely trade scenario's are - Freeman and your fourth round for our second rounder(Saints) or a straight swap Freeman for Pick 23 (Collingwood).

Given the above - my money is on the first option.
If you think clubs likevEssendon or Carlton won't pony up a meagre $300k for a possible massive bargain through the PSD you're kidding yourself. Carlton in particular I'd bet my house on taking that minor risk.

If Mick was still there I would have been willing to put money on it

"Yeah.....but Paul Connors told us he'd only come to us!!!!"......bleats the sainter

There is no such thing as decency at the trade table.

Every club will do whatever it takes to get the best for themselves.
Most of the time but not as a rule, some clubs gave a good trading history and reasonable relationships.

We can only hope they have forgotten the Luke Ball fiasco even if they were largely to blame for it.

Front loaded contract - first year will be more than that I suspect.

Good luck to them but if Carlton/Lions pick him up in the PSD do you really think St Kilda will be shattered because they missed out on the chance of a player who hasn't even got on the park as yet.

He's available, we're having a crack, we clearly would like him but but if it doesn't work out - we keep 23 and try someone else. That's the nature of the draft.

Good luck to them but if Carlton/Lions pick him up in the PSD do you really think St Kilda will be shattered because they missed out on the chance of a player who hasn't even got on the park as yet.

He's available, we're having a crack, we clearly would like him but but if it doesn't work out - we keep 23 and try someone else. That's the nature of the draft.

Yep....cool... now we're all at the same page.
Can you tell Berger that too?
Thanks for coming

Second round saints pick will get done and is about right.
He is not worth a first round given injury record and not a third given his draft position. With some interest from mm and perhaps Melb saints will deal their second rounder
I would still be disappointed with that as I really like the kid and will hope he does well at the saints
Let's move on people and forget the bs being swapped back and forth between saints and pies supporters
Well said northey

Most of the time but not as a rule, some clubs gave a good trading history and reasonable relationships.

We can only hope they have forgotten the Luke Ball fiasco even if they were largely to blame for it.

I doubt list managers are that petty.

Letting an incident from 6-7 years ago negatively affect their club at the trade table would be mind-bogglingly unprofessional and negligent.

Fair point. But also understand that a 3rd round pick holds such little value in this weak draft that it will be very easy for Collingwood to let him through to the PSD just to make a statement.

I doubt list managers are that petty.

Letting an incident from 6-7 years ago negatively affect their club at the trade table would be mind-bogglingly unprofessional and negligent.
The incident that was largely responsible for us netting a flag at the expense of the same mob?

Don't be so naive, every chance this is still a massive sore point for them.

Agree with you. It will be a pragmatic approach from now that works best overall. I really see little chance he will go to the PSD. None of us know for sure but I reckon your 2nd rounder would leave everyone thinking they had got a reasonable deal

The incident that was largely responsible for us netting a flag at the expense of the same mob?

Don't be so naive, every chance this is still a massive sore point for them.

This isn't the schoolyard any more, the whole "I'm gonna hurt myself just to screw you over because you did something to me before" philosophy is incredible immature and moronic, I would be staggered if any list manager did it or was allowed to get away it these days.