Nathan Thompson

Hitman , let me firstly say interesting post and bunch of interesting replies (especially over at CatsClaw from Sue ouchhh)

Seriously , I remember Thompson in the last final your mob and mine played in 2000.Changed the game,creamed King and got you home. I’ve also seen him on TV on the odd occasion really cut sides up as a key forward. He’s got talent so why would the Hawks trade him.

1,An over abundance of big men?
Once the big men were your key asset. Hay, Graham, Thompson, Rawlings Barker Croad and some more I cant think. Is there any body on this list that is still firing for the hawks. Maybe it is time for the Hawks to go the well for more talls, but you have been unlucky with injuries like the Boyle could have made a difference. But fact is it doesn’t look like your knee deep in stand up talls unless they suddenly stay fit

2.Short Term pain, Long term gain
Tried that with Hodge which theoretically should have left you a mile ahead .You got the best pick in a talent ridden draft by trading an injury prone youngster and name player.2 years later you’ve go the name player back try miles ahead. BUT the youngster you traded was talent and bloomed but he that the price you pay for #1 right.#1 that’s you problem Just like Geelong all those years ago I reckon you might just have blown it with your pick. Put Judd or Ball in your side right now and Thompson would be getting more balls inside 50 and would be looking a lot better.

I think the Hawks need to still top up the midfield and hope they can get there big guys fit. So what is Geelong going to give you for Thompson. I don’t think it would be a straight swap it would probably end up 3 or 4 way to get the right mix. I think we would give you 2 promising young mids( eg. Spriggs, Enright, Hunt, Koulouriotis, Slade)+ 1 tall( eg,Kingsley,Foster,Gardiner) {depending on the mix}for a 2nd round pick(below 20) and Thompson and a 3rd pick or player from else where. You might try a Brisbane( or another club) to wangle a player like Troy Selwood that wants to come home, instead of your 2nd round..

My preference is that Geelong go’s after another top10 pick and just keep topping up with quality. Probably just like your chasing, This rebuilding stuff sounds easy but its just not so. Good Luck getting a better deal than that. In the end, after Rawlings, I dont think Thompson is going anywhere
TC

P.S what would you want for Hodge?

Originally posted by Shaitan

I know you love your statistics, but 20 possessions a week (average this season is 18.25) does not always equate to a quality performance.

Didn't say it did.

Joel Corey is a long way from being in the same echelon as guys like Simon Black, Paul Hasleby, Mark Ricciuto and Ben Cousins.

Never said he was in the class of such players.

I see your :rolleyes: and raise you one. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Seriously , I remember Thompson in the last final your mob and mine played in 2000.Changed the game,creamed King and got you home. I’ve also seen him on TV on the odd occasion really cut sides up as a key forward. He’s got talent so why would the Hawks trade him.

That's 4 years ago TC, a long time in the footy bible. 4 years ago we were a team on the rise, look at us now. How times have changed so quickly...

Boyle could have made a difference. But fact is it doesn’t look like your knee deep in stand up talls unless they suddenly stay fit

Let me tell you right here and right now, Tim Boyle would not have made a difference to the way the Hawks are now. Thompson, Croad, Jacobs, Everitt, Beaumont are fit. Barker and Hay have been reasonably fit as well. I'd like to think the Hawks have great depth in talls, and a few injuries doesn't hurt them.

I reckon you might just have blown it with your pick. Put Judd or Ball in your side right now and Thompson would be getting more balls inside 50 and would be looking a lot better.

Not a dig at you personally, but generally I am really tiring of this Hodge-Ball-Judd thing.

I think we would give you 2 promising young mids( eg. Spriggs, Enright, Hunt, Koulouriotis, Slade)+ 1 tall( eg,Kingsley,Foster,Gardiner) {depending on the mix}for a 2nd round pick(below 20) and Thompson and a 3rd pick or player from else where.

Anyone who does that trade is on pills mate.

what would you want for Hodge?

I doubt Hodge is going anywhere. The Hawks won't give up their prized #1 easily at all.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Didn't say it did.

So, implications count for nothing?

I wouldn't even consider trading Joel Corey, however he would be a walk up start in your midfield.

Peter Schwab would walk over his own mother to get his hands on Smithy.
22 year old, 190cm midfielders who get 20+ touches a week and can win the hard ball, are damn hard to come by.

Every club in the league would find a spot for Joel Corey, especially teams that are down the bottom with us.

High expectations, Phat.

Never said he was in the class of such players.

I see your :rolleyes: and raise you one. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Therein lies the rationale behind getting rid of JC. If we are trying to further the club, then we need to be fully equipped with superstars in the middle.

Gee
"Thompson is desirable, but at what cost would be the deciding factor"

Dont like my assesment, fair enough!AS you said he is desirable but what would you pay.Who would you swap if in a bidding war and he goes to the highest bidder.Ive said who id trade for him whether Im on drugs and we would lose out or it would not happen in your opinion , I'm not sure but thats all Id offer.

As far as four years ago , at 27 I still think he would be handy untill Blake was ready to take off.Like you said "Desirable"He would still go straight into our top 22 which most of our tall would not

I dont think Hay is the player he was due to injuries,neither is Graham. Barker was hot four years ago but hasnt given much since.
The rest are down on form or over rated like Croad.The Hawks are at lowest rate of contested marks for ages.Depth< dont think so.

Not a dig at you personally, but generally If the hat fits one has to wear it.If they had of picked Judd they would be a better side.
I wonder what our Hawk friend thinks.

Never said he was going any where, but one doesnt get a dance at the ball not asking.If the price is do-able then we would start to talk. Like you,I doubt that while there current coach stays there he would let him go after all it was his pick!
TurboCat

I think it'd be silly to get rid of Joel Corey. Create a gap in our best 22 that we have to then trade for or use a decent draft pick on to replace. With guys like Kelly, Ablett and Tenace going to be the Blacks and Riccutios of our midfield, its good to have guyslike Joel being able to get their 20 touches a game.

Id rather trade Chapman than Corey. Cant get a full time gig in the midfield, and is handy at best in the forward line. When Steve Johnson and Ablett come back, and with Mackie starting to play well in seniors hes a guy that would be expendable. would have good currency on the market also as he is a good player. i know a lot of people really like chappy, and im one of those, but if it came down to a gun key forward or chappy and a 2nd round pick, i know what id be taking.

Originally posted by nananana catman
I think it'd be silly to get rid of Joel Corey. Create a gap in our best 22 that we have to then trade for or use a decent draft pick on to replace. With guys like Kelly, Ablett and Tenace going to be the Blacks and Riccutios of our midfield, its good to have guyslike Joel being able to get their 20 touches a game.

Id rather trade Chapman than Corey. Cant get a full time gig in the midfield, and is handy at best in the forward line. When Steve Johnson and Ablett come back, and with Mackie starting to play well in seniors hes a guy that would be expendable. would have good currency on the market also as he is a good player. i know a lot of people really like chappy, and im one of those, but if it came down to a gun key forward or chappy and a 2nd round pick, i know what id be taking.

Chappy is one of the very few people who wears their heart on their sleeve every week. True he may not get a full time gig in the engine room, but that is the beauty of Chappy. He can float between the forward line and the midfield, adds alot of toughness and in and under presence to the team. Chappy is really one player I wouldn't look to trade, even for this 'gun forward' (unless his name is Riewoldt or J.Brown)

Geecat ,
Would you trade anyone with talent?As pointed out by Stan Alves, for Saints to get where they are they have traded several players that were considered best 22 players.THey either wanted out or were moved on but the Saints let them instead of paying them a fortune to stay(like Gasper-Tigers)To get anyone we'd have to trade someone with "cred".I really like him.Hes tough, hes got delievery,he kicks goals and because of that he be worth a bit on the market.Id suggest there would very few players I wouldnt trade if it would re-balance our list to the point of being as serious power.I desperate to young Gary go one better than his old man. I want a Flag and that means some tough decsions.
Would you trade him for a #1 pick?.Yes I know "heart on the sleeve" is fantastic, the way hes taken on Newman,the way hes talked us up, fantastic, but the type of player , at his height(under 185) are in the draft every year. If we could trade to get a future gun thats 195 and has the ability to be like Neitz or a Lynch Id go for it.

Originally posted by Turbocat
Geecat ,
Would you trade anyone with talent?As pointed out by Stan Alves, for Saints to get where they are they have traded several players that were considered best 22 players.THey either wanted out or were moved on but the Saints let them instead of paying them a fortune to stay(like Gasper-Tigers)To get anyone we'd have to trade someone with "cred".I really like him.Hes tough, hes got delievery,he kicks goals and because of that he be worth a bit on the market.Id suggest there would very few players I wouldnt trade if it would re-balance our list to the point of being as serious power.I desperate to young Gary go one better than his old man. I want a Flag and that means some tough decsions.
Would you trade him for a #1 pick?.Yes I know "heart on the sleeve" is fantastic, the way hes taken on Newman,the way hes talked us up, fantastic, but the type of player , at his height(under 185) are in the draft every year. If we could trade to get a future gun thats 195 and has the ability to be like Neitz or a Lynch Id go for it.

I also stated in my previous post that I would only consider trading Chappy for a kid who has enourmous potential ala Riewoldt, Jono Brown. Perhaps it is just me, but I'd need a big deal to agree to move Chappy. Trading Chappy + someone else for Thommo and 2nd round pick isn't one of those deals. Where are we going to find this future gun tall that you speak of with a 2nd round pick?

Who did the Saint's trade? Matthew Lappin is one name that rings a bell but who else? Barry Hall and Spider Everitt were really traded due to attitude as much as their footballing ability.

GeeCat

Chappy is really one player I wouldn't look to trade, even for this 'gun forward' (unless his name is Riewoldt or J.Brown)

I would only consider trading Chappy for a kid who has enourmous potential ala Riewoldt, Jono Brown.

Not quite the same , the first you infer that you would only trade for Riewoldt and Brown, now in the second your saying a kid with potential

I totally agree with the second quote and if that’s what you meant then we agree, that we would trade he a first round (1-5) pick in the right draft.

I’ve not mentioned him +? for Thompson and a 2nd round pick.

Id have to look to name the exact players named in Alves article but those three would probably be the best of their trades. What ever the reason they let them go when they didn’t want to be at Saintland, they didn’t try to tempt them with ridiculous money ala Gasper. The other thing is they also got player to their club with games under there belt like Hamill,Gehrig and Powell. Trades are necessary if we want to improve our list in the short term and/or long term with better picks

I've changed my tune.

Jeff Smith for Nathan Thompson.

A future superstar, for an average forward/ruck ;)

Nathan Thompson didn't exactly add any value to his name last night.

Originally posted by hawkapatto

IMO thommo has had terrible delivery this year, and his own team mates conesting for the same marks

If that is the excuse for his form/tradable status, then he would be no better at Geelong.

Our forward line delivery is haphazard at best.

Originally posted by NakedDeadGuy
Anything more than late 2nd round- early 3rd round draft pick would be rape.

And after the last two games that offer is dropping, and dropping fast.

Softer than seven Ben Grahams.

I've changed my tune.

Jeff Smith for Nathan Thompson.

A future superstar, for an average forward/ruck ;)

Nathan Thompson didn't exactly add any value to his name last night.

He was pathetic last night.

Could be back at Box Hill next week...

Anyone still want Thompson.

Right now, he's about as useful as Nick Holland and John Barker.

We're better of sticking with what we have.

How funny was it when the crowd roared when he finally got a mark/kick on Scarlett (some 80 metres out :D)

Quite seriously, i'd love to know how they justify playing Thompson and Holland each week.

I've often heard Hawthorn fans saying how bad our talls are, yet all (including Lonners) are far superior to Nick Holland, who couldn't get a kick in a street fight.

Hawthorn's talls in the VFL must be very ordinary if Nick Holland and Nathan Thompson can continue to get games, week after week.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Anyone still want Thompson.

Right now, he's about as useful as Nick Holland and John Barker.

We're better of sticking with what we have.

I'd definately still have him phat. 7 bad games doesn't mean he can't play. If you said we could have him at the start of the season then we would have fallen over ourselves to get him.

The only reason our forwards are looking good at the moment is that our midfielders seem to have found some skill. Haynes, Kingsley and BG are still as soft as butter the only difference is that when they lead now they are getting hit lace out. Our field kicking to a leading target was sensational on Sunday at the dome. I'm sure Thompson could do that and more if he was playing for us. He'd also grab the odd contested mark.

If he's on the market at the end of the year I'd love to get him. At a reduced price of course ;) :p