NEAFL- 2014

I believe Aspley have a intraclub this Friday night...Southport are in camp down in Byron Bay ( was broadbeach's place of choice last couple of yrs ), Redlands intraclub likely to be around week before first practice match. Lions res were hoping to play suns this week but suns were only able to field around 5-6 listed so that got canned. Last week or week before suns academy played surfers seniors, demons won by around 6gls. Lions academy had a intraclub Wednesday night before making there final cut before 2 selection games v suns academy coming up early march. 1st game at Yeronga 2nd game at southport.

Also Neafl rep team coaching gig advertised on neafl website in careers section.
any tips or nominations for the gig?

Had the Suns and Lions NAB cup game up in Townsville today, nothing great about the game but can definately say that there will NOT be a NEAFL side from NQ in the forseable future. There maybe some sort of State league venture (QAFL) but at this time it is still in the planning. So for those in the earlier posts and from last year your question is answered.

from wikipedia:
Cornelius was delisted by Brisbane at the end of the 2013 season. He then returned to Tasmania where he was announced as the playing-coach of the Glenorchy Football Club in the Tasmanian State League for the 2014 season

Aaron Cornelius,
Such a waste of talent, he was too good for the Northern NEAFL and stood his ground with the Lions in the AFL in my opinion - does anyone know why he did not get picked up by another AFL Club - thought the Saints were going to sign him but did not, based on his ability to kick goals, he would be a walk up start for many AFL sides - unless there is a flaw in his makeup somewhere???

Aaron Cornelius,
Such a waste of talent, he was too good for the Northern NEAFL and stood his ground with the Lions in the AFL in my opinion - does anyone know why he did not get picked up by another AFL Club - thought the Saints were going to sign him but did not, based on his ability to kick goals, he would be a walk up start for many AFL sides - unless there is a flaw in his makeup somewhere???

Id say being at the lions for so long in a time where they screamed out for a forward to help Brown, yet couldn't cement himself says a bit. Plenty of blokes have been great NEAFL players but unable to step up.

I vividly remember a couple of years ago at the NEAFL season launch at Yeronga, when they had like 4 or 5 games going all day, Staker, who was injured, was doing some sideline coaching and losing his s**t at Cornelius, telling him to do this and that and track back better etc.
Can't say i know heaps about the Lions list, but that has always stuck with me and I've always remembered back to that when people go on about how he couldn't make himself an automatic selection for the 1st team.

Aaron Cornelius,
Yes Billybunter,
a good lead, excellent mark and fairly good kick... but didn't have the stamina/motor, defence and was lacking in running hard. I know the Lions worked on these areas very hard but to no avail. Hes a good country level standard full forward and will kick over a ton in Tassie this season.

Any news as to where delisted lion Aaron Cornelious will be playing this season??
Cornelious is playing for Nightcliff in the NTFL at the moment. Have watched him play a few games on the ABC coverage and he's been ok but would have expected him to dominate.

Bit more than just pure ability to play at the top level I reckon . Cornelius never seemed to have that drive to play much better than he had to. A bit of old fashioned c...t wouldn't have gone astray imo. Never know, now its taken away he might discover the urge but a very talented footballer all the same. Will spend the next 10 years picking up $30+K a year playing footy. Not bad as a part time job.

VFL should be a good step up for Wilko. Great platform for a guy who looked way too good for NEAFL, but not quite at the level for AFL.

If he can look as good in the VFL as he did in the NEAFL, he'll find his way back onto a list no problem.

Great player but will have to work on his character off the field too to get back onto a list.

Not sure whether I'd call him a great player. Great athlete but his footy smarts and disposal was never afl standard and just barely neafl standard.

Joel was always a nice kid - I knew him when he was at Broadie but I did hear that ( from a few sources) he got a bit ahead of himself out at the suns.

Good luck to him but I would be surprised if he got on another afl list.

The mini draft will be interesting. The system will be challenging but I don't see an alternative with only 3 qld local neafl teams

Always appeared massively out of his depth at AFL level. Agree with your assessment 2010. Think he has done well to play as many A grade games as he did. Probably reflected the Suns list a little.

Agree with both of you, nice young man but believed the bullsh*t fed to him.Will understand the game in about 5 or 6 years if he continues to play.

So, I hear that the Mulrooney and Grogan medals will stay with their respective leagues (AFL Canberra and QAFL) and a new medal will be struck for the NEAFL. In the interim I believe it will simply be known as the MVP award until a suitable name can be found. I gather that given the NEAFL is so new, and until now there hasn't been a lot in common for ACT/NSW and QLD football, it'll be pretty hard to find someone to name it after. So I propose it should be named after the men and women who fight to protect our nation. Perhaps the Diggers Medal, or something similar. Anyone else got any suggestions?

The Mark Browning medal? He has a lot to do with both state competitions