Opinion New AFC HQ (Part 2): Dale dug a hole

Some of you folk should watch the video attached to the article that was linked

An animated artists impression of the reception, shop, bar and dining area were well displayed

Drove past the West Thebarton pub yesterday arvo. The old brothel behind it has a "For Lease" sign up (whoever asked?)

Some of you folk should watch the video attached to the article that was linked

An animated artists impression of the reception, shop, bar and dining area were well displayed

Drove past the West Thebarton pub yesterday arvo. The old brothel behind it has a "For Lease" sign up (whoever asked?)

It's one plum kick after another with this development.

Theirs doesn't get used any more than an average restaurant, some colleagues at my last job went there for dinner midweek last spring and I'm told it was nearly empty
I imagine dinners would be reasonably quiet and I don’t think the club would be banking on that. It’s lunch time training crowd, an arvo drink and game day.

It's also part of the complex, so outside of the initial fit out, there's no real additional costs other than wages and buying the ingredients. I imagine it would be a fairly low-cost thing to operate.

Sometimes the club needs to give back and something like this may not be a huge money maker however it will help with engagement and getting people in the door.

Honestly it seems like a no brainer to me, I'd definitely go there for a meal and support the club.

Theirs doesn't get used any more than an average restaurant, some colleagues at my last job went there for dinner midweek last spring and I'm told it was nearly empty
They were out the back in tents.

God I regret not laughing more at the China delusion at the time.

I mean i laughed, a lot, but i could ahve laughed even more

What are you talking about? It was a solid plan, if it wasn't for covid it would have paid off big time.

'There are 50 billion people in China, we just need 1 billion of them to become members and we're set'

What are you talking about? It was a solid plan, if it wasn't for covid it would have paid off big time.

'There are 50 billion people in China, we just need 1 billion of them to become members and we're set'

Ahh, good old 'Olive Ball' and trying to tell Gold Coast not to wear their home kit as it resembled the Chinese flag.

Those were the days.

God I regret not laughing more at the China delusion at the time.

I mean i laughed, a lot, but i could ahve laughed even more
If I had some magic beans for sale I know who I'd be cold calling first

How many people even go and watch training on average? And of those people (would have to be retirees), how many people would stay for a pint/Chardonnay and a schnitzel/salmon?

I love drinking as much as the next person and I even live not far away from the new ground, but I would rarely be able to go and if I did, I probably wouldn't drink there at 11am once training finishes.

Sounds like we're hoping for something that will rarely get used.
Looks like they'll have a function room (for hiring out and/or maybe a match day thing for AFLW/SANFL) so the license likely attached to that? I reckon the Members lounge is a newish thing, they were only ever going to have a cafe.

Makes sense to have a function room to hire out, believe we did have one when the West Lakes facility 2009 redevelopment was done?

The indoor training space doubled over as a function space.

Once Footy Park stopped being used for AFL matches, the space became a full time training space.

Use your words.
I just thought it was an updated picture of the whole site including south rd, maybe it’s been posted before.
Thought it was pretty self explanatory, picture paints a 1000 words and all.

Just read that the west then by pub is closing due to the south road expansion. That would open the door for the crows to have a fully licensed bar and food without competing with locals. Could be great for the club

Sad to see West thebby go though

I'm of the opinion that we shouldn't be anywhere near any of the conversations about West Adelaide.

If they're struggling to survive then it's up to the SANFL to try and save them or they fold.

We've already given millions over the years to the SANFL and if the SANFL hasn't used that money to shore up the futures of the SANFL clubs then that's not our problem.

We should do what benefits us, if it also helps West or the SANFL, then no worries. But I wouldn't be cutting off my nose just to spite my face. But you're nothing if not partisan. You'd turn down a million dollar gift if it came with the condition that 10% had to be passed on the the SANFL.

Opinion New AFC HQ (Part 2): Dale dug a hole