New AFL Video Game - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 8 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Re: New AFL Video Game - Part 8 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Ross will there be any differences in the game from platform to platform? for example, in the fifa series, up until fifa 10, the pc version had been quite a substansial difference from the consoles, with us pc users missing out on some of the cool features. It is rather annoying as those type of games could be made even better on pc if the effort was put into developing them and utilising the superior power of the pc. I suppose what I am wanting to know is
Will the pc version be of the same quality as the consoles, with the same effort put in to it or do i expect somewhat of a throw together version released only to cover the market demand? also will the pc version be released at the same time? thanks heaps in advance

can't wait for this to go "live" very soon (my bet is the start of the nab cup ~ 3 weeks away)

once it does, the hype will be amazing for this game (especially in Vic)...

an exciting year ahead...seeing the new team in action and having a good looking afl game.

finally...

i would of expected the best release for the game to be between march 8- 30 which they can either release it a couple days before nab cup grand final or just after round 1 where there is alot of hype around this time, but so far its looking like coming out much later than i expected because usaully games come out adleast 2-3 months after press release, which 2 months is still being abit early to enable maximum explotation of the game , so this game probly wont come out until any were between april - early may.

but i could be wrong this is only my opinion, just hoping true blue dont screw it up and release game straight after press release. Hopefully they hype the crap out of the game and keep releasing snippets and footage of gameplay to get all of us pumped and excited in order to maximise sales, even if the game doesnt turn out to be that good, if they make enough revenue to be able to make a sequel and then be able to improve the game and make it better.

i would of expected the best release for the game to be between march 8- 30 which they can either release it a couple days before nab cup grand final or just after round 1 where there is alot of hype around this time, but so far its looking like coming out much later than i expected because usaully games come out adleast 2-3 months after press release, which 2 months is still being abit early to enable maximum explotation of the game , so this game probly wont come out until any were between april - early may.

but i could be wrong this is only my opinion, just hoping true blue dont screw it up and release game straight after press release. Hopefully they hype the crap out of the game and keep releasing snippets and footage of gameplay to get all of us pumped and excited in order to maximise sales, even if the game doesnt turn out to be that good, if they make enough revenue to be able to make a sequel and then be able to improve the game and make it better.

pretty well said!

use full stops next time though :p

I know we wont be getting any more screenshots until the press release but I am really curious to see how the Menu's, team setup and create a player screens look.........can only hope I guess.

Are there pressure points in the game?

Shit, just realised the game could be released in about 2 months, maybe a press release in the next 2 weeks, far out

I can't wait till it goes live so i can talk about what Ross showed me back in October......

I reckon NAB cup is about right for when it goes live. Footy is back in the news for the right reasons, not:

"We're having our best pre season yet, the kids are looking great"

Or

"Brendan Fevola is in hot water..... again"

Are there pressure points in the game?

Shit, just realised the game could be released in about 2 months, maybe a press release in the next 2 weeks, far out

I'm starting to think even later on, unless press release timeframes work differently for AUS games but hey who knows at this stage!

Ross will there be any differences in the game from platform to platform? for example, in the fifa series, up until fifa 10, the pc version had been quite a substansial difference from the consoles, with us pc users missing out on some of the cool features. It is rather annoying as those type of games could be made even better on pc if the effort was put into developing them and utilising the superior power of the pc. I suppose what I am wanting to know is
Will the pc version be of the same quality as the consoles, with the same effort put in to it or do i expect somewhat of a throw together version released only to cover the market demand? also will the pc version be released at the same time? thanks heaps in advance

The PC/PS3/Xbox versions are identical gameplay wise.

The Wii version is made by Wicked Witch and is entirely different to ours as it has been produced by a different team at a different location on a different engine for a different company. (Hope that stops the Wii questions I get in emails!)

I don't mind that the Wii version will be completely different. I own a 360 and a Wii and have two chances of getting a good AFL game.

The PC/PS3/Xbox versions are identical gameplay wise.

The Wii version is made by Wicked Witch and is entirely different to ours as it has been produced by a different team at a different location on a different engine for a different company. (Hope that stops the Wii questions I get in emails!)

Sounds like there is a lot of difference!!! Ross I dont know if you can answer this yet but in terms of Online will there be a chance to share things like created players, created teams or updated AFL teams?

Thanks

I don't mind that the Wii version will be completely different. I own a 360 and a Wii and have two chances of getting a good AFL game.

Why would you even bother with the Wii version if you have a 360?

I'm not sure if this has been answered but will there be the ability to set up our own leagues and invite our friends?

That hasn't been answered mate......all i am aware of is the ability to create competitions, according to the FAQ.

Not sure if this has been discussed, but I was thinking about how BAS would handle disposal after tackle, as it happens in footy more than any other sport (maybe not rugby). Whether its just luck, or there is no disposal after you get tackled, etc.

Good question would be interesting to know the answer. In afl 2007 it seemed to be a random ball drop. Ie: from being bumped or tackled. And in afl 2007 i noticed if you set the umpires to strict you could lay say 50 tackles and over 95% of the tackles resulted in holding the ball. Whether you had the ball for 1 second or 10(or if you took one step you would be pinged for holding the ball the same as if you ran 100 meters).

this

6c

Or whether they go the AFL 2007 and route and make any tackle to the player holding the ball, and any tackle to the CPU make the ball spill free, normally towards the CPU's next closest player.

Ross has stated that nobody on the team worked on any previous AFL games so thankfully I dont think we will be experiencing this again.

You have to make the harder difficulty levels challenging somehow. :p

You actually going to buy them???:eek:

Read my post again. If the Wii and 360 games were made by the same company then I'd only get the 360 version because they'd likely be the exact same except for better graphics on the 360.

Given the games are likely to be very different, given they are made by different companies in different studios on a different engine, I'll be tempted to get both. If they are just the same then I'll return the Wii version.