New AFL Video Game - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 8 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Re: New AFL Video Game - Part 8 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Based on the FAQ, the game looks pretty damn good and I'm looking forward to it but I a question-

Will there be a camera like the one in AFL Premiership 2005? I know the game was no good but the camera worked great for me. I never liked the Fifa Tele camera so I was forced to use the Pro Cam but whenever I used that, the camera gives me a horrible view when defending whereas in AFL 05, it changes the view depending on who has the ball.

I believe there will be more than enough camera options available. I play it camera on the side on rails and pulled way back, the same way I watch the game when I go to the G (Southern Stand second or third tier).

Exact camera i play on AFL 2004. I was playing it just then and running on the HF flank and spotted my guy free in the pocket and snapped it to him. Its a great camera unlike the default where you just kick in hope. This one you are able to see all the players leading, etc.

Screenshot? I dont think I have ever played AFL 2004 thanks.

Dont know if it will help but afl 2004 was the one with the around the world,handball and superkick features. It also featured anthony rocca and justin leppitsch on the cover.

Yep, exactly. Here is the photo: (sorry bout bad quality)
afl20042.jpg

Umm cant remember that one, I remember AFL Live 2003, AFL Premeriship, 2005, 2006 and 2007 lol seems the only I have missed though.

im off to japan today hope i dont miss anything good

The picture of the camera angle on the last page looks pretty good but I think that would be uncomfortable for me to adjust to. I'd play it just side on like in AFL 07 I realise it will be harder to see the leads and things like that but I'll play pretty "radar-dependent" I think.

IMO afl 2004 is probably the best afl game made because there was alot to do because it had an in depth season mode and mini games etc

I agree with you 100% it was released 3-4 years before afl 2007. And it still beats afl 2007 hands down in every aspect. Better graphics,gameplay,features and it had mini games.

Ross, any chance of another Screen shot any time soon?
Also with the injuries, will it be all the same or will players like Jobe Watson be more injury prone than players like Scott Gumbleton?
Also if you get an injured player during the Season, say a hamstring and they happen to sit out 2 weeks, will there be more of a chance of them re-injuring themselves in the next couple of weeks at least until it's 100% better?

Ross, any chance of another Screen shot any time soon?
Also with the injuries, will it be all the same or will players like Jobe Watson be more injury prone than players like Scott Gumbleton?
Also if you get an injured player during the Season, say a hamstring and they happen to sit out 2 weeks, will there be more of a chance of them re-injuring themselves in the next couple of weeks at least until it's 100% better?

Great question in theory, and I'd also like to know the answer, but isn't Gumby just as injury prone as Watson?

I actually meant it the other way around... :eek:
Watson just came to mind when I was typing

Mate it has already been stated.
Dennis Cometti and Brian Taylor will be doing commentary for the game.

With Andrew Krakour back playing footy, i hope BT cranks up his "MCG man" call on Krack. Would also like to hear an "ignitor" call.

The above posts (Regarding injuries and player styles) are ideally what I am really hoping will make this game great. I think its awesome that every player has been modelled as an individual but now I hope there's really a good system where you can clearly see that Judd plays different than Sandilands. Hopefully thats the case and things like injurie will be more or less effective to certain players (E.g. Rusling had to retire from neck injuries whereas Nathan Brown came back from breaking his leg)

TBH I reckon that injuries thing would be useless and just plain annoying. How pissed off would you be if you where playing a Grand Final in the game and that certain player is on fire and he gets injured "Just because in real life he is susceptible to injury". So he goes off injured. That is BS. FIFA don't implement stuff like this for the very reason that it would annoy people beyond belief. Sure it would make the game more "realistic". But do you know how fine the line will be for the developers to make something like that work? I reckon everyone here is hyping up the game wayyy too much its ridiculous. I am just hoping for a fun game that can help pass the time during the football season. Too many of you guys are expecting something better than FIFA. With BigAnt's budget, I don't think you wil see that.

I remember playing AFL 2007 and someone would get injured. And then dermott would say hes going to be out for the year or something to that effect. And the player was usually out for a week or 2. Same thing with christie malthouse she would say it looks like a shoulder or hand injury and it would turn out to be a broken leg or a sparined ankle. Or something to that effect. And it always used to shit me up the wall dont know if anyone else had the same problem or felt the same way.

TBH I reckon that injuries thing would be useless and just plain annoying. How pissed off would you be if you where playing a Grand Final in the game and that certain player is on fire and he gets injured "Just because in real life he is susceptible to injury". So he goes off injured. That is BS. FIFA don't implement stuff like this for the very reason that it would annoy people beyond belief. Sure it would make the game more "realistic". But do you know how fine the line will be for the developers to make something like that work? I reckon everyone here is hyping up the game wayyy too much its ridiculous. I am just hoping for a fun game that can help pass the time during the football season. Too many of you guys are expecting something better than FIFA. With BigAnt's budget, I don't think you wil see that.

I think in definite areas of the game it could very well be BETTER than FIFA. Apparently the create-a-player system is better than that of FIFA's and as long as the core gameplay is good (Seeing how its been the focus of the game, hence the short list of features) I think it will suprise many, yourself included.

wowwweeee bt is commentating wowwweeee i cant wait to hear him say wowwwwwwwwweeeeeeee 10-15 times a game

purplebloood; FIFA and other games all have players that are more injury prone than others. Its usually under the stat "durability" or some such.

Hmmm yes but it really doesn't have such a huge effect. I have had plenty of players with high durability get injured. What I mean is, not to have certain players almost garrantued injury in a season.

What I mean is, not to have certain players almost garrantued injury in a season.

That's the funny part....no one mentioned that in the first place.

As Lurk3r said, most sports games have this stat for each player now, we're just wondering if it will be the same in this game. Believe it or not, it does have an effect on how injury prone a player is, however insignificant it may seem.