pauld

carlton
With the new arrivals now settled in what impact do you feel they will have on our fortunes in '07 ?
The bookies have us as favourites to win the spoon again in '07.
I feel if we get the team balance right we should finish above Nth Melbourne, and possibly Essendon, Collingwood and Richmond.
We still have problems down back, but with an improving O'Hailpin and a hopefuly fit duo of Bower and Hartlett we should then release Thornton on to the 3rd best forward of the opposition. This move will give us a good rebound
option that we have not had to date.
Also, with the new kids we have they should get an early run in the side to show what they can do. Players of the past debuted early and had great careers (Watson, Bartlett, etc) so no reason our best kids can not mix it with the big guys, most having seniors experience elsewhere already.
I think the bookies have it wrong and that hopefully we show how good this team is.
Just hope the defecincies mentioned in other posts (poor kicking, fumbling) are worked on, and hard over summer.
Another thought, posters put Mclaren as our second ruck, is Cloke that bad ? Surely his bulk and height must give him an edge over Dylan ?
Like others I find it hard now to place Lappin and Kouta in the side, so things are better and our stocks have improved.

McLaren is taller than Cloke...

True, but McLarens back is stuffed and he and Cloke are really at about the same level at the moment, as both have only started training. Cloke has youth on his side and bad backs dont normally improve over time, they get worse.Ang was never the same after hurting his back and either was barnaby really.

If we're going to improve it will require our more established players- who could do better than they did in 2006 to have good seasons- e.g. Stevens, Waite, Fisher, plus better ruck performance from Ackland, continued good form from Fev, Scotland, Simpson, Murphy's return etc.

With the new arrivals now settled in what impact do you feel they will have on our fortunes in '07 ?
The bookies have us as favourites to win the spoon again in '07.
I feel if we get the team balance right we should finish above Nth Melbourne, and possibly Essendon, Collingwood and Richmond.
We still have problems down back, but with an improving O'Hailpin and a hopefuly fit duo of Bower and Hartlett we should then release Thornton on to the 3rd best forward of the opposition. This move will give us a good rebound
option that we have not had to date.
Also, with the new kids we have they should get an early run in the side to show what they can do. Players of the past debuted early and had great careers (Watson, Bartlett, etc) so no reason our best kids can not mix it with the big guys, most having seniors experience elsewhere already.
I think the bookies have it wrong and that hopefully we show how good this team is.
Just hope the defecincies mentioned in other posts (poor kicking, fumbling) are worked on, and hard over summer.
Another thought, posters put Mclaren as our second ruck, is Cloke that bad ? Surely his bulk and height must give him an edge over Dylan ?
Like others I find it hard now to place Lappin and Kouta in the side, so things are better and our stocks have improved.

:confused: P.S. don't forget Brisabane. NO Voss, no Acer, no Keating, no Lepisch - the list goes on. I reckon they are a big chance to finish way down the bottom well below Carlton:thumbsu:

Can't see the new kids doing much, apart from creating some pressure for spots. With the exception of one or two, the rest will play only a handful of games at most, given that we have a number of other young guys also vying for positions, and have had an extra year or two in the system, ie. Bower, Edwards, Kennedy etc. Still hopeful that the draftees will debut, though I'm not expecting much from them this season at all.

Our improvement will come from our 2nd and 3rd year players, as they become comfortable at AFL level and cement their spots in the side. Also, older, but still very young players like Walker and Simpson continuing to improve, as well as Bentick and Carrazzo hopefully improving and show that they're good enough to be long term players. Waite and Fisher, after a dissapointing and injury ravaged 06 will greatly benifit the team if they can stay fit, and Waite atleast will take some pressure of Fev, as I reckon Fisher will be played further of the field. Also hoping for a big year from Setanta. Stevens can and hopefully will improve, with guys like Simpson and Murphy to relieve pressure of him, whilst players like Houlihan, Scotland,Thornton, Whitnall continue their good form (yes, Houlihan was very good in 2006, despite what some of you might think.

7 to 10 wins in 2007 will be great, before challenging for the finals in 2008:thumbsu: .

Excluding Fev, Lance, Kade and possibly even Marc Murphy, everyone else on our list could improve over what they showed in '06.

Sure, we may not be as talented at other clubs, but I think all we can ask for as supporters is for our boys to put in 100% for 4 quarters. If we still get beaten, then fair enough.

Excluding Fev, Lance, Kade and possibly even Marc Murphy, everyone else on our list could improve over what they showed in '06.

Sure, we may not be as talented at other clubs, but I think all we can ask for as supporters is for our boys to put in 100% for 4 quarters. If we still get beaten, then fair enough.
No reason why Fev and Simpson can't improve. Less pressure on Fev with JK playing more games, with atleast one of Waite or Fisher also in the forward line, will mean he won't be double or triple teamed as much. Probably won't get as much delivery, but it could be better quality, with Gibbs and Murphy both fantastic kicks. Don't see why you don't think Simpson won't improve. He had a very good season, but apart from being a bit more consistent (he was pretty consistent in 2006, but can still improve), he could improve other aspects of his game. He sometimes gets himself into trouble, so he could improve his decision making, and I expect him to kick more goals. Probably not a heap of improvement, but he can definitely improve.

Agree on Murphy. While he can improve, it isn't likely, given he's only in his second year. Small improvements maybe, but his form before injury was spectacular, and if he can play at a similar level, consistently over 22 rounds, than that would be absolutely great. Of course, he's definitely got heaps of improvement left in him, but it could take time - probably needs experience; most players who have great first years don't usually show huge improvement in their second year. That said, I would not be suprised at all if Marc has an absolutely amazing season.

carltontraining20th012.jpg

The big thing is - look at our boys, watch them train, read about their enthusiasm - they have chosen to take the next step up.

We will improve next year - 6-8 wins at least. Kids like Bower, Murphy, Kennedy, Setanta and even Blackwell will know what to expect at AFL level, and their little bit of experience this season will bring them in better prepared. We will be better, because our kids have had the experience and it's not brand new to them.

Also, Waite and Fisher will be big bonuses. Our backline isn't looking as crumbly at the moment - Setanta, Bower, Thornton, Russell/Walker.

Of course - our midfield is going to lift us a lot. The abilities of Walker, Murphy, (Gibbs - yet to be seen, but massive reputation), Simpson, Stevens and Scotland are such that they can play head to head with any other player, and back themselves to win.

Of course, Fev up forward, Betts and Blackwell crumbing, Kennedy lurking around are all good signs.

You know what, it's too late for me to praise our young kids.

I'll end it on a simple note:-

We are going to improve. We all know the reasons why :thumbsu:

I expect to see a bit from Gibbs, but as everyone else has pointed most of our improvement next season will come from those who were already on our list:)

Although for some reason we keep on missing that Scotland had a great season last time out when we mention those who just need to maintain form:)

The most exciting thing about our list now is that we have hardly any deadwood left on our list and we now have an influx of kids that have potential to be very good palayers that will get a chance now.

The worst thing about the 2006 season was when we were losing games the players that were coming into the side were players tha thad already had there chance and had shown nothing in the past ie Prendagast, McGrath, Longimur, Bryan, Sporn, livingston and the list goes on........

Fast forward to 2007 and the players that will be pushing for selection now will be come out of Grigg, Hampson, Austin, Bower, Hartlett, Edwards, Benjamin, Anderson, Flint, Russell, Kennedy etc........not including Gibbs as he will be there from Rd 1.

Compare the list of players from 2006 and 2007 that will be pushing for selection now and you can see that 2007 will be an exciting time for the club

How many more sleeps to the NAB club......:p

Great post mate.
Our list is certainly coming along nicely now and our depth is really starting to improve.

I just wish we could get our house in order off field as well.

thanks mate

Agreed. Our list is coming along nicely now and if we can sort out our off field dramas the future for the CFC will look very promising.

I expect to see a bit from Gibbs, but as everyone else has pointed most of our improvement next season will come from those who were already on our list:)

Although for some reason we keep on missing that Scotland had a great season last time out when we mention those who just need to maintain form:)

Some of us don't. See post 4!;)

what website is dis pic from?

carltontraining20th012.jpg

thanks!:)
btw jake edwards is gna rip it up :D cant wait

... Our backline isn't looking as crumbly at the moment - Setanta, Bower, Thornton, Russell/Walker. ..

I think this could be a key in 2007. Our backline has transformed, and could turn out to be a strength. Setanta and Bower have added a lot to our defensive half. It's a great balance. Setanta can easily take on the biggest opposition KP forward or resting ruck, and can use his extreme athleticism to provide valuable rebound. Bower has height, speed and a ton of skill. Reads the play well, and attacks the ball with intensity and confidence, and seems to thrive in pressure situations. Thornton is the cool head in defence now, taking on one of the oppositions 3 KP forwards, but no longer burdened with having to play on Gorillas thanks to Setanta's progress. Walker and Russell are tall midfielder-types that both can provide a heap of rebound and pace off the HB flank. :)

I hope you are right and they do stand up mate:thumbsu: It would take us forward by leaps and bounds.
I think they will do well for us, but I think that perhaps they will need perhaps another year to be top notch. Bower looks like he needs another year on the weights and I love the Irishman, but he will probably need a full year at fullback to learn the caper:)

Kenneth;6434713..btw jake edwards is gna rip it up :D cant wait[/QUOTE said:
Jake is definitely the wildcard for 2007. It looks as though the Blues hierarchy have earmarked him for a KP forward role next year. I think this is a good move. He has a heap of natural ability, is big enough, and has blistering burst speed. Having him around, will put pressure on Waite and Fisher as well. :)

I know i cop it for being passionate or postive too much or whatever, but honestly, you think about our backline, our midfield group and our forward line kids, and we have not had such talent/ability for over 5 years.

It is so exciting. I can't remember being so excited by the Blues since way back in the 1990s.

We'll go ok next year, don't you worry about that.

GO BLUES!!!!!

Man I love this club :)

I think many of us are getting carried away.

without giving away my opnion of where we will finish - Matt Kruezer will be a Blue next year.

With so many kids on our list - our improvement will be minimal.

4-5 wins.

without giving away my opnion of where we will finish - Matt Kruezer will be a Blue next year.

4-5 wins.

Sounds resanable what you are saying, maybe another year is needed before we start to rise, but at least we now have some hope of improvement, something we didnt have with the likes of Sporn and Deluca and co on our list. Good times are ahead.

Jake is definitely the wildcard for 2007. It looks as though the Blues hierarchy have earmarked him for a KP forward role next year. I think this is a good move. He has a heap of natural ability, is big enough, and has blistering burst speed. Having him around, will put pressure on Waite and Fisher as well. :)

If hes anything like his old man we have a gun player on our hands, he wouldnt just put pressure on fish and waite, he would be easily taking there spots.Just hope he hasnt inherited butches knees.

4-5 wins.
Not expecting a huge leap, but surely we'll win more than 4-5 games. Will have to if Pagan wants to keep his job. I'll be happy with 7+. I reckon our improvement will come from our 2nd and 3rd year players, as they become comfortable at AFL level, and the recent draftees to further help us increase in the next couple years. Not to mention more improvement from the Walkers, Simpsons, Thorntons, plus hopefully Stevens getting back to his best.