News New Jumpers for 2015

• Thread starter Thread starter Gibbsy

Interesting the sway held by Essendon here, I'm sure they would have requested the basic collar whereas I don't believe Hawthorn would have minded (or perhaps they were told)
Same as last year. IIRC The Bombers didn't have the arrow thing on the sides

Considering a majority of the posters on this board evidently have little fashion sense, I can see why you're all upset with Hawthorn's use of navy/grey (the two colours that go with just about anything).

Thanks for the tip re navy & grey - now off you go back to the Harper's Bazaar board and take your deep blue chino's with you....

This Hawthorn kit is quite a departure from what we have come to expect as traditional team apparel - which is interesting since teams are now actively drawing heavily from tradition as sources of inspiration for genuine imagery & branding. Is it innovation? Or have Adidas just given up on trying to make brown & gold work well together?

Whilst the product may look appealing to some I think it is a step in the wrong direction from a branding/marketing POV - this isn't Milan fashion week, it's footy.

Adidas, while I'm here, what was the deal with the blue on Bomber Thompson's jacket last year?

mark-thompson_1itq0sxgxaroo1mjq5yqk0u30g.jpg

Trying to be too clever then & with the Hawks now?

The only St Kilda gear in the ISC shop at the moment is our 2014 training singlets and tops (which we're still wearing), and our clash jumper, all of which is half price. Obviously it doesn't mean anything for certain, but I think we might be getting a new clash.

Thanks for the tip re navy & grey - now off you go back to the Harper's Bazaar board and take your deep blue chino's with you....

This Hawthorn kit is quite a departure from what we have come to expect as traditional team apparel - which is interesting since teams are now actively drawing heavily from tradition as sources of inspiration for genuine imagery & branding. Is it innovation? Or have Adidas just given up on trying to make brown & gold work well together?

Whilst the product may look appealing to some I think it is a step in the wrong direction from a branding/marketing POV - this isn't Milan fashion week, it's footy.
Hawthorn used to use navy a lot, maybe, ten years ago? You see it around games a bit (usually a telltale sign of the thick-and-thinners). I suppose the club started requesting club colours because it was better for brand expansion. So it's not an Adidas thing.

I think there was a long period where the Lions were using navy and greys for their off field stuff too. Maroon's a little cooler now though and it looks alright, so I'd be surprised if they diluted their (needed) brand saturation these days.

The issue is that brown and gold look a bit naff and unlike reds and blues and blacks, they don't tend to look very good for off-field stuff. Although they have cool jumpers and can trot out nice designs, I think North could suffer the same fate – who wants to wear bright blue? Especially in a polo or hoodie? However, you have to cop that clubs need to make their colours known. You have to also realise that 90% of people are going to wear club paraphernalia (sans caps and beanies and scarves) only at games. I still think you can have average colours but an alright, clean design – which are the fundamental issues of most AFL apparel, I think. They need to negate the details and keep it simple. I've always liked colours and cuts and simple clothes and that extends to how I reckon sports stuff should look.

Hawthorn used to use navy a lot, maybe, ten years ago? You see it around games a bit (usually a telltale sign of the thick-and-thinners). I suppose the club started requesting club colours because it was better for brand expansion. So it's not an Adidas thing.

I think there was a long period where the Lions were using navy and greys for their off field stuff too. Maroon's a little cooler now though and it looks alright, so I'd be surprised if they diluted their (needed) brand saturation these days.

The issue is that brown and gold look a bit naff and unlike reds and blues and blacks, they don't tend to look very good for off-field stuff. Although they have cool jumpers and can trot out nice designs, I think North could suffer the same fate – who wants to wear bright blue? Especially in a polo or hoodie? However, you have to cop that clubs need to make their colours known. You have to also realise that 90% of people are going to wear club paraphernalia (sans caps and beanies and scarves) only at games. I still think you can have average colours but an alright, clean design – which are the fundamental issues of most AFL apparel, I think. They need to negate the details and keep it simple. I've always liked colours and cuts and simple clothes and that extends to how I reckon sports stuff should look.

I don't think this has been a problem for almost a decade and i've posted extensively on the topic. Clubs like North, Hawthorn, Sydney, Freo etc without black or navy in their colour scheme started to adopt black or navy as a merchandise colour in the 90s because sports merch design at the time was super garish and bright. Modern merchandise design is sleep and simple, and it works with whatever colour.

North's royal blue merchandise is great. I photoshopped those WCE polo and hoodie into royal from navy for the #returnthewings guys and it looked significantly better. If you're worried about looking too bright, maybe don't wear a footy polo?

I think Hawthorn could easily replace the navy on the first polo with brown and it would be one of the better club polos in the league. Probably the best. As it is it doesn't look enough like Hawthorn.

White based stick figure jumper would be pretty slick
I reckon the red based stick figure would solve all of our clashes anyway (probably not Essendon, but screw them).

The only St Kilda gear in the ISC shop at the moment is our 2014 training singlets and tops (which we're still wearing), and our clash jumper, all of which is half price. Obviously it doesn't mean anything for certain, but I think we might be getting a new clash.
Food for thought:

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    13.1 KB · Views: 6
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    15.6 KB · Views: 7
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    22 KB · Views: 5
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    11.3 KB · Views: 6
Food for thought:
I haven't seen that white based cross jumper before, is that yours?

I'd really like to see us bring back the candy stripes as our clash, and then have the stickman or something else red based as an alternative clash against Collingwood.

I haven't seen that white based cross jumper before, is that yours?
I'd really like to see us bring back the candy stripes as our clash, and then have the stickman or something else red based as an alternative clash against Collingwood.
Nah mate just of bigfooty. I agree 100%, surely there is a spot for the candy stripe circa 2004.

Essendon Adidas stuff is brilliant but Hawthorn's is extremely poor and shocking IMO, especially poor for a team who has own back to back cups, merchandise will go up, not sure if Hawthorn polo's will sell?

Why would they sell when they don't look like Hawthorn? When you buy this stuff surely you want to represent, not blend in with the crowd?

Exactly! If you want a nice looking polo or jacket you don't go to the Afl store or rebel sport, you go to a normal clothing store. If you want a shirt or something other than a guernsey to where to the footy, you want it in your teams colours, otherwise what's the point??

Just on those singlets and polo's etc, do you think we are getting new ones for 2015? I haven't noticed any other clubs still with their 2014 gear on.

A lot of fist pumping going on in that tight knit group right there.
But seriously I hope ISC get their act together and give freo a kit with shorts & socks that match the jumper color - how hard can it be?

Just on those singlets and polo's etc, do you think we are getting new ones for 2015? I haven't noticed any other clubs still with their 2014 gear on.
You can just about guarantee that we'll have new gear for next year. I'm surprised that we don't have new training stuff yet, but IIRC we were wearing our 2013 last year until after the draft.
I'm hoping that the reason we haven't got anything new yet is that we're waiting to announce a new major sponsor, which there have been plenty of rumours about.

You can just about guarantee that we'll have new gear for next year. I'm surprised that we don't have new training stuff yet, but IIRC we were wearing our 2013 last year until after the draft.
I'm hoping that the reason we haven't got anything new yet is that we're waiting to announce a new major sponsor, which there have been plenty of rumours about.
When you say major sponsor do you mean apparel sponsor?

Speaking of sponsors, no one has signed with anyone new this year.
apart from apparel

GWS and Lifebroker have parted ways. No logo on the back of the 2015 home jumper, and from Lifebroker's website:

Lifebroker was a foundation Co-major Partner of the GWS GIANTS from 2012 to 2014.

They are, for now, still on the GWS website.

GWS and Lifebroker have parted ways. No logo on the back of the 2015 home jumper, and from Lifebroker's website:

Lifebroker was a foundation Co-major Partner of the GWS GIANTS from 2012 to 2014.

They are, for now, still on the GWS website.

Good pick up!