dees*gal

MELBOURNE DEMONS!!!
well, as we all know nicho's out - for a long while. if you read the article on the demons site about it, nicho says he reckons one of the new boys will get a chance to have a run.

“We’ll be giving one of the young blokes an opportunity,” he said. “Chris Lamb’s played really well (in the VFL) the last couple of weeks. He’s been around now for three or four years, so he’s got to step forward.”

“Brad Miller, Daniel Breese, these sorts of boys. Unfortunately
we lost Luke Molan with a broken leg, but one of these boys is going to get their opportunity.”

so my 2 questions are:
who, of the young boys, do you think will step up?
and
if you could chose anyone to play a whole (not just 20 mins) match, who would you chose?

Originally posted by dees*gal
“We’ll be giving one of the young blokes an opportunity,” he said. “Chris Lamb’s played really well (in the VFL) the last couple of weeks. He’s been around now for three or four years, so he’s got to step forward.”

we lost Luke Molan with a broken leg, but one of these boys is going to get their opportunity.”

so my 2 questions are:
and
if you could chose anyone to play a whole (not just 20 mins) match, who would you chose?

ok well personally i think they should promote Mark Jamar (jay-mar) ;) but umm out of the ones u have mentioned i would say Brad Miller as he has been playing a bit down back and played on Scotty Cummings on the weekend. and as for the 2nd bit of the question do u mean.......anyone as in out of the whole team or out of the guys u mentioned?

Re: Re: new one...

Originally posted by Dee

ok well personally i think they should promote Mark Jamar (jay-mar) ;) but umm out of the ones u have mentioned i would say Brad Miller as he has been playing a bit down back and played on Scotty Cummings on the weekend. and as for the 2nd bit of the question do u mean.......anyone as in out of the whole team or out of the guys u mentioned?

from what i heard lamby played on cummings

Re: Re: new one...

Originally posted by Dee

i mean out of anyone! the ones that were mentioned were the ones that nicho mentioned and were in the article, but i mean out of everyone!

He only played on Cummings for a bit before going down forward.

and so in answer to the second bit i would say Ooze or one of the other midfielders cos they would have the most energy to run it out and also Ooze cos he has the skill to make other teams pay.

Chris Lamb is in the best form out of them all and will get his go against Adelaide. If he shows promise he should be kept in the team, and played for most of the game.

Having said that I also believe Miller and Breese should both get goes this year, as defenders, but not to the scale as Lamb should get.

My lineup for the Adelaide game
B: Walsh, Lamb, Bizzell
HB: Brown, Neitz, Ellis
C: Yze, Woey, Thommo
HF: Bruce, Ox, Wheatley (if fit)
F: Vardy, Jolly, Arma
R: White, Powell, TJ
Int: Ward, Chell, Whelan, <edit>Broady
A Mac to possibly play if fit, not sure of who to leave out for him. </edit>

Emg: Green, Robbo, J Mac.
Opinions?

Originally posted by Deestroy
Chris Lamb is in the best form out of them all and will get his go against Adelaide. If he shows promise he should be kept in the team, and played for most of the game.

Having said that I also believe Miller and Breese should both get goes this year, as defenders, but not to the scale as Lamb should get.

My lineup for the Adelaide game
B: Walsh, Lamb, Bizzell
HB: Brown, Neitz, Ellis
C: Yze, Woey, Thommo
HF: Bruce, Ox, Wheatley (if fit)
F: Vardy, Jolly, Arma
R: White, Powell, TJ
Int: Ward, Chell, A Mac (if fit), Whelan

Emg: Broady, Green, Robbo, J Mac.
Opinions?

yeah one thing well a couple can i ask why u chose to drop broady? and why u chose to leave whelan on the bench when both are defenders?

and also i would say that they could drop woey into the backline as well as ooze.

Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45

yeah one thing well a couple can i ask why u chose to drop broady? and why u chose to leave whelan on the bench when both are defenders?

and also i would say that they could drop woey into the backline as well as ooze.
I originaly had Broady on the bench, and meant to put him back on the bench at the expense of A Mac, so there's your answer for that one.

Whelan is on the bench because Walsh, Bizzell and Brown can play as small defenders, and Whelan can be used to tag if needed.

Woey and Yze are needed in the middle, who would you have in the midfield instead?

Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45
no i mean if needed woey and ooze could go back, and yes they are needed in the middle!

woey is for sure needed in the midfeild, but they move him back and forth all the time... i reckon he will be used in the backline in the upcomming games. hopefully in the 2 week (almost 2 weeks) break they have, they'll do some real work and find a good game plan perhaps... also, i reckon wardy should start at the half back flank instead of lamb and put lamb on the bench.

one more thing - breese has been told he's playing for sandy the whole season, so there's probs no chance of him getting a game this yr - even though he SHOULD!

well, as we all know nicho's out - for a long while. if you read the article on the demons site about it, nicho says he reckons one of the new boys will get a chance to have a run.

so my 2 questions are:
and
i reckon they should give breesey a crack.

woey is for sure needed in the midfeild, but they move him back and forth all the time... i reckon he will be used in the backline in the upcomming games.

I certainly hope so, for at least the next game.....he was full back on Jars last year and DJ kicked a lazy, but matchwinning 6....maybe on Saturday week he can be the Birdman's stepladder or Roo's rag doll :p

Chris Lamb deserves four weeks of playing on the ground all day for the Demons. We need to see where he is at with his footy. It's just a shame an injury will force the club to do something they should've already done.

Just a couple of things. Neitz is not a defender. If you watch him play you'll notice everytime the footy is in the air his instinctive reaction is to go for a mark. That can be handy if he's in super form or playing on an inexperienced forward, but a good defender needs to be reliable and mind the man before even looking for the ball. His confidence is shot and I think a week or 2 at Sandy could prove better than a stint in defence.

Another thing, despite Broadys shocker against the Pies, he could be handy next week on Schell who has a similar body size, so Im not so sure about dropping him. Still worried about his ability to stop a player though.

Anyway, heres how Id have them.
B: Whelan Ellis, Bizzell
HB: Brown, Wheatley, Bruce
C: Yze, Woey, Johnstone
HF: Vardy, Schwarz, A.McDonald
F: Jolly, Neitz, Armstrong
R: White, Powell, Walsh
Int: Leoncelli, Ward, Lamb, maybe Broady

3 talls + Vardy in the fwd line for something different and to maybe stretch their defence a bit. Ellis on Stevens (for the time being ;)), Wheatley on Schell. Walsh into the middle for a bit of toughness and Neitz in the forward line where he belongs. :)

Okay, I am liking this good, football discussion.

Now, we must remember that this week we play the Crows. They don't play a tall forward line at all, which I think BPP has made reference too. Unfortunately for those guys like Lamb, Miller etc, they may have to wait till Rd 13 and the Bombers at Colonial Stadium.

Wheatley said he should be right, we already have Ellis, Bizzell and Broadbridge with Walsh, Whelan and co being able to take the smaller type forwards. They rely alot on Ricciuto, McLeod and Goodwin to kick goals from midfield with Schell, Welsh and Stevens as their marking options. What we have can cover that, and the likes of Lamb, Miller etc may well be left in the ressies for one more week.

So, here is my team....

B: Whelan Bizzell Wheatley

HB: Walsh Ellis Broadbridge

C: Yze Woewodin Johnstone

HF: Bruce Schwarz A McDonald

FF: Vardy Neitz Jolly

Rucks: White Powell Brown

Int: Robertson J McDonald Leoncelli Thompson

Armstrong may deserve a run, but not any more in my book!!!!

look, Adam, i know it's all in good fun.. but I, and i'm sure other people, find your avator very offensive and i don't want to have to look at it...
everytime i see it my heart skips a beat and i'm reminded of things i don't really want to think about...
please respect the fatc taht some of us take things like that seriously and change your avator...

I have to agree with blues^rock on this one, CFH. I mean seriously, with the number of Jewish people posting on this board, what were you thinking putting Nazi symbols on the bloke's face?

I actually did something similar in Year 9. We had this Aborigine turn up to show us some Aborigine culture and he brought this face-paint stuff. I got a mate to paint a swastika on my forehead and was immediately roared at by my History teacher. And rightly so. If I could go back in time, I'd definitely join him in kicking my backside!

That being said, the swastikas on Arma's face in Adam's avatar are shown in the Asian orientation (slashes pointing anticlockwise). In this orientation, it's actually a symbol of luck (I think), rather than hatred and inhumanity.

But take them off, Cowboy.

I apologise people. I wasn't thinking.

I did it basically as a dig at Armstrong, and when it was brought to my attention last night I realise what I had done. So, it's changed and I won't do it again. I am VERY sorry to the people I did offend. I am NOT a racist, it was me being stupid and not thinking and I do apologise for it. I didn't mean any offence to anyone, but like I said, once I realised what I had done, I got on to change it as soon as I could.

So, sorry to everyone.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Wheatley said he should be right, we already have Ellis, Bizzell and Broadbridge with Walsh, Whelan and co being able to take the smaller type forwards. They rely alot on Ricciuto, McLeod and Goodwin to kick goals from midfield with Schell, Welsh and Stevens as their marking options.

You can throw Burton in there as well. We rotate 4 main targets in Welsh, Schell, Stevens and Burton around the 50m area, all deceptively tall and able to take the high mark, but also very good at ground level, so they're an awkward matchup. Roo's also mainly playing on the half forward-CHF line with short stints through the midfield, so his goals have generally been as a forward. These main 5 have been dangerous in the last 3 weeks, each contributing anywhere from 3-6 goals on any given day, with the midfield of course chipping in when the opportunity presents itself.

Originally posted by ant

You can throw Burton in there as well. We rotate 4 main targets in Welsh, Schell, Stevens and Burton around the 50m area, all deceptively tall and able to take the high mark, but also very good at ground level, so they're an awkward matchup. Roo's also mainly playing on the half forward-CHF line with short stints through the midfield, so his goals have generally been as a forward. These main 5 have been dangerous in the last 3 weeks, each contributing anywhere from 3-6 goals on any given day, with the midfield of course chipping in when the opportunity presents itself.

Well, we'll be hoping it doesnt get to them. :p I think the midfield will be where it's won (like it usually is). Yze, Woewodin, Johnstone, Leoncelli, Powell, Walsh, Brown and the McDonalds Vs McLeod, Ricciuto, Goodwin, Bickley, Edwards and Bode. The ruck dual should also be interesting between White/Jolly and Biglands/Clarke. A repeat of the match at Footy park last year would be nice. :)

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

Well, we'll be hoping it doesnt get to them. :p I think the midfield will be where it's won (like it usually is). Yze, Woewodin, Johnstone, Leoncelli, Powell, Walsh, Brown and the McDonalds Vs McLeod, Ricciuto, Goodwin, Bickley, Edwards and Bode. The ruck dual should also be interesting between White/Jolly and Biglands/Clarke. A repeat of the match at Footy park last year would be nice. :)

As long as the last quarter is about 30 seconds shorter this time :)

dont worry ant... you have HEAPS to worry about!!! ;)

but you're right, if our mid-feild is playing well (it depends on whether or not they're awake on the day :rolleyes:) then it should be a really good clash. otherwise you'll just roll right over us!!