Brisbane Lions
Cant afford to dwell on this loss

we were undermanned, coming off three victories in a row, playing interstate

get over it

dont let the shit throwing begin

next week finals begin

I ask now: for everyone who thinks we have no chance and our season has ended, then please stop supporting from this round. if we win next week dont watch and dont celebrate

For the rest, we've got finals on our hands.

Go Pies.

Good of you to bounce back so quickly Godfrey, but I'm feeling pretty empty after that.

Stanley can't kick under pressure - shanked some crucial kicks that could have had us still competitive.

Goldsack lost his nerve at the start and then spent the rest of the match playing catchup.

Rhyce Shaw is playing indecisive, weak football.

Cloke, Dawes, Medhurst, Swan all quiet as lambs t'night.

Watching that just sucked the life out of me tonight. We could have finished on a bang (even if we lost, we could have made a contest) but that wasn't a whimper's kid brother...

:thumbsd:

I don't mind a Loss but After that Weak as Piss Effort bit hard to get Fired Up

well said. finals is a whole new thing, we coulda won tonight and it still makes no difference to next week.

i know momentum is seen as a good thing, but over the last couple of years, the only time we have used it well is in a final series. lets hope we can do it again like last year except come out with a better result.

i dont care how many kids we had the game was the worst of the year.
I agree that next week is new but with no optimism i go in to next week.

Good of you to bounce back so quickly Godfrey, but I'm feeling pretty empty after that.

Stanley can't kick under pressure - shanked some crucial kicks that could have had us still competitive.

Goldsack lost his nerve at the start and then spent the rest of the match playing catchup.

Rhyce Shaw is playing indecisive, weak football.

Cloke, Dawes, Medhurst, Swan all quiet as lambs t'night.

Watching that just sucked the life out of me tonight. We could have finished on a bang (even if we lost, we could have made a contest) but that wasn't a whimper's kid brother...

:thumbsd:

mate i know, it was a horrible, horrible game all round

but we cant afford to carry this into finals.

be glad that we had this game this week and not next week (hopefully not next week lol)

Not on topic but Bucks annoys me on 7 i hope he doesnt commentate next year. All year he has bagged us like no tommorrow.

Let me just preface this by saying that by no means was a loss tonight a more desireable outcome than a win, by absolutely no means.

However,

If we had won tonight, against a lacklustre Freo, it wouldn't be a stretch to imagine a sense of complacency in the first week of the finals, against whoever it is we might've played. A win against 3rd last wouldn't prove much. Winning form is good form, but it wouldn't build momentum into next week. It wouldn't hinder our form, but it wouldn't really add to it that much.

But by losing, its a slap in the face, a massive wake-up call, and could be the kick in the arse we might need to front up next week and play properly, and show something.

So the scare tonight by going down to Freo could end up being a positive. I feel awful about tonight's performance and result, but I expect, actually, I'll feel rather confident going into next week's game. Especially after 'that' tonight.

Go Pies!

(I understand this is a massive 'glass half full' but hey, these Pies are so hot and cold its probably not far from the truth)

Cant afford to dwell on this loss

we were undermanned, coming off three victories in a row, playing interstate

We'll be no less undermanned next week. The trick is to temper your expectations, and be pleasantly surprised if you do well. Coz to be honest, that was probably the worst side we have fielded in a long time. And it won't get much better next week.

i was really rapt the way cox played tonight.he looks like he has got some mongrel about him, and god knows we need some.

Not to fussed about it, and by watching the game, the players didnt seem to be either.

It is just a little concerning, i expect the players to look like they are having a go, regardless, week in week out, and tonight they really didnt want to know about it.

Observations:

Leon...wow.

We lack serious leadership when burns isnt playing, which is a worry because he wont be there in 1 or 2 years. No one seems to want to take the game by the balls, they all look for someone else to do it.

When we dont pressure, and cause turnovers, we lack creativity, and are too predictable going wide from defence, and coming forward.

We sorely missed/are missing experienced players : Rocca, Didak, Burns, Shaw, Thomas, Wakelin. We just need someone to lead the way!

All in all, one of the worst games of footy i've seen for a while, both teams were ordinary, skill levels were sub VFL. You'd be spewing if you had a cousin over from America, you couldnt wait to show him our game, he couldnt wait to see it, and you were left with that.

agreed about leon. i reckon he's our best player

it was evident at the start of the year when burns missed a few games, just how much we miss his leadership. we looked lost at times. i love the guy, but fraser is no on-field leader. swans is probably the closest we have

anyways.

life goes on

go pies