Next Years Expectations

Now the year is coming to an end what are everyones expectations for next year? We are going to see the gameplan with a 2nd phase implimented that involves offensive aspects to it. Are we ready for this phase? I mean we dont seem to have the defensive side to our game sorted at all. What other phases are there.

We are also going to see all the young players on our list age another year and expect improvement from them. Next year is crucial and so is this draft period. Make no mistake this next draft will decide whether we are successful or not. How many players do you think we will cut? and if so will that further expose our young players leading to a similar season to this year? I mean Cousins was one of our best midfielders.

I believe we will finish in a similar position to this year. While we will see marked improvement from our younger brigade (i.e. Griffiths, Deledio, Cotchin, Martin, Post, Vickery, etc.) all over the park... I believe our luck with injuries will run out exposing our depth. The loss of Cousins, the inevitable trading of a defender, and the further aquisition and blooding of youth will also make us more vulnerable short term. Injuries and inexperience will keep us to a similar position to this year.

we cant get an offensive game plan going truly unless we develop our skills base (disposal) and accountability. we need to continue with basics and drill it until we get it right. we need to respond under pressure until we get it right. we need to de register a bit of the fluff there is still a bit there. next year is about consolidation and blooding a few more boys. time is up for a few. more pain to come but more optimism we hope.

2012 avoid 13th to 16th- does that mean finishing 17th or 18th?

Frankly , with our current list as a base it would be impossible to get a 2015 premiership with the development progress Sleeping Giant is suggsting IMO.

I think we need to wallow a little longer to get the draft talent in to surge up the ladder later

I expect considerable improvement next year.

No longer will we be fielding a core group of 19 and 20 years olds. Edwards, Conners, Collins and Riewoldt will be into their 5th year. While Jackson, White, Graham, Thurstfield and McGuane have been around for even longer will be in their mid 20's.

Next year we should have a pretty strong inside midfield with Foley back. Cotchin, Foley, Martin, Tuck and Jackson would win their fair share of clearances against even the best teams.

Imo a few blokes need to step up in order for us to succeed.
- Tambling. Now that we have a multitude of inside mids he no longer needs to get his own ball. Put him on the back flank or wing.
- Post. Will be in his 3rd year and needs to become a viable option up. I'm not expecting 2 goals a game, but if he were to play 22 games and kick 30 goals it would be a good result.
- Morton. He needs to become our version of Didak or Chapman - a real goal kicking midfielder.
- Vickery. He will also be in his third year and whether its up foward or in the ruck needs to not be liability in the side.
- Conners. Needs to improve his kicking and fitness. Could be a real weapon if he gets this right. Or he could be McMohan Mk II.

I reckon we will just fall short of the 8, 9 - 12th. This acceptable if we start to play a better brand of football and minimize the 40+ point beatings. Needs to be a strong slingshot into 2012 where we hopefully will be ready to give the big boys a crack

I'll get back to you after the trades, delistings, drafts and fixture have all been done. Until then its anyones guess as to what might happen.

What RT said, its too early to make predictions and if we finish 18th next year we are in deep doodoo as there are only 17 teams.

I want us to keep blooding kids. But hopefully still be pushing for a top 8 spot. 10th would be a good result for us next year.

No doubt our midfield will improve with Foley and the other guns developing more but a lot depends on the opposition and the draw.

Realistic, although we deserve to be where we are we should have only won 3 games really this year. We still have problems in the backline IMO and with flooding the stats can tell you anything.

Some of the other teams like Port might get weaker while others like WC might get better, How many times do teams play GC may determine which sides make the eight.

So there a lot of ifs and buts,

I still regard the next two years as development so I am not overly fussed as I just want the Tigers to win the premiership in the long run as quickly as possible!

Some good comments in this thread. I want to see increased pressure on the oppostion, which I think will relate back to wins against teams we lost to this year. Lots of strength training for the younger guys will help us compete agianst teams with bigger bodies. 8-10 wins would be a good result.

we'll go backwards imo. Supporters will lose the patience they had this season as soon as they get a sniff that players aren't coming on and developing as expected/hoped. There will be second year blues for some youngsters, other more mature players will struggle to maintain the form they found under new coach this season

If players like King, White Tuck go back to their old ways, Connors is still lazy, Tambling has another shocker - tigerland is going to be a dark dark place to be and Dimma will be in for a rude awakening.

Going on from what occurred this year..i.e. coming from nowhere to win the 6 games when we shouldnt have, i expect the same to happen next year but from a higher platform, so nothing short of a flag for me or Damien should be sacked on the spot. ;)

I think there is a massive difference between 6 and 12 wins let alone 16wins.

We genuinely have the ingredients for a premiership but our list has a long way to go. Melb is at least two years ahead of us due to the draft picks IMO.

But in some ways we have attributes Melb doesn't have and they may get their chance and not succeed where later on we might cross the line at the opportunity.

Some people who think we might make the eight in 2 years time are unrealistic IMO. Not necessarily because we can't but if we do I think Lids will have to be traded to get a premiership because we still lack a lot of quality in some areas and with GC and GWS we can't build it up as quickly as normally clubs would through the draft. If things were normal we would be on 3 wins, GC wouldn't be there and we may have picked up Day which would be massive. Thats not to be but we just have to be patient other superstar prospects will fall our way in the next few years. Some of our players will reach the lofty heights but not all will. I think Martin and Cotch will get a premiership with the Tigers but Lids may or may not depending on how we develop the side.

So IMO the Tigers need to be ultra careful on how we develop because with GC and GWS we are walking a tightrope and you can't take things for granted

Lids is 23 I am pretty sure if Martin and Cotch get a premiership with the Tigs he will be involved.

I expect about the same as this year....

IMO we need to be so much better with pressure on the ball carrier, it was shocking on the weekend and hence the drubbing. When average middle tier sides like Carlton are smacking you by 90 pts you know you are still a long way off. We need two more years down the bottom to get low picks in order to have a real crack at the premiership.

RT is correct, it is difficult to predict what we will happen next season before we see what transpires in the off-season, especially with trades and how the roster pans out. Playing GC early and twice will be a big difference to only once and that game being away.

Hardwick has come to the Club with a solid and laid out plan that the Board and the administrative side of the Club have bought into. Years 1 and 2 seem to be all about valuation and instituting the gameplan. I doubt we will see a 0-9 start next season but I doubt we will see many more wins than this season.

The important thing will be to see the young players take the opportunities given to them and make positions given to them their own. This could mean an initial backward step or 2 as the youngsters develop. A good example is probably the Carlton game. Experience was taken out of the team in Thursty and McGuane and the backline struggled with the inclusions of Gourdis and O'Reilly. Its too early to tell if the 2 debutants have what it takes to replace more experienced players permanently, but I think this is the type of experimenting and player opportunities we will continue to see next season.

I will be happy to see further development and more youngsters given the opportunity to stake a best 22 position even if that doesn't translate into more wins in 2011.

From a development stand point the key players for me in 2011 are the healthy return of Foley and Tambling, health and devlopment of Griffiths, Connors to become more like Newman than McMahon and the young rucks and Post Astbury and Gourdis to take big steps forward. If we already have our talented group of talls to form our spine it takes a hell of a lot of pressure off the drafting during the compromised drafts.

I thought lids was 24. It would be great if he is only 23

23 & 4 months... not bad to be on 126 games!

My expectations?
Say we win in round 22 we will have 7 wins this year... I would therefore look for 8 - 10 wins next season but as has been said, our losses need to be kept more under control. (No wipeouts please)
For as long as I care to remember now we have been pushing shit up hill with percentages of well below 100%.
I expect us to be more competitive in more games and to surprise with 1 or 2 good wins against top 6 teams.
Finally, further growth and improvement from within our core group of younger players and a greater natural understanding of our 'new game plan' would just about round it off for me.

Oh... & did I say... no more Carlton thrashings please... PLEASE!!!!

we'll go backwards imo. Supporters will lose the patience they had this season as soon as they get a sniff that players aren't coming on and developing as expected/hoped. There will be second year blues for some youngsters, other more mature players will struggle to maintain the form they found under new coach this season

If players like King, White Tuck go back to their old ways, Connors is still lazy, Tambling has another shocker - tigerland is going to be a dark dark place to be and Dimma will be in for a rude awakening.

That's the Spirit!!

I take it that you are not in the membership marketing department.

I know the wound that feeling comes from mate but you dont want to go through summer feeling like that. Then again anyone anticipating finals over summer is in for some pain aswell.

I'll get back to you after the trades, delistings, drafts and fixture have all been done. Until then its anyones guess as to what might happen.

Pretty sure we arent going to churn the list heavily in compromised draft - seen a bit from young uns to stick with, and possibly stick with a few others that appear on the outer Hislop, Nahas Thomo), in preference to lower pick kids

Gone Simmo, Cuz - thank you both for the excellent service
in firing line: McMn, slops, Thomo, Robin, Polly,
plus likely lose someone to GC that we dont want to unless weve signed everyone up watertight
reckon we will pick up ~ 5 or 6 tops.

Just lost most of our remaining xp so going to be another hard year.

I know f all about the draft so perhaps, if its rich enough we might chance a few more kids
plus who knows what trades will be bandied about as GC cash in their picks

Only hope for next year: beat a Melbourne based team!

Seriously though, considering we ran into a lot of teams at their lowest ebb and had a great run with injuries I'd be happy with:
1. Another 6-8 wins next year, provided they were wins against decent opposition (read not injury riddled/in crisis/returning from Darwin).
2. Less thrashings / more competitive.

I don't really care about wins. We need to introduce another 10 or so players to the footy club, and really fix our structures. As it is, we've got massive problems with both our offensive and defensive structures that need to be fixed before we can make any genuine strides up the ladder.

I want to see a defense that doesn't let opposition players get loose time and time again.
I want to see a forwardline that doesn't get in each others way - a forward line with more than one option.
I want to see a midfield that can not only win the ball, but clear it into space for a nice short pass to a leading forward, instead of a long bomb from congestion to Riewoldt.
I want to see a zone structure that actually restricts our oppositions ball movement, instead of giving them extra space to waltz down the field at will.

Just having Griffiths up forward on a regulalar basis will make us more competitive up forward. With Post and Taylor showing signs we will have a better forward line than we did this year. Foley will be a bonus for the midfield. We will draft a ruckman and a top midfielder who is hopefully ready made so the depth will improve. Just need to get weights into our key defenders

My two cents..

As far as players go:

- Dustin Martin to have second year blues. Every one seems to get them when you have a great first year. It also seems to happen in every sport. By the end of the next year, we'll all be saying "Hopefully Martin can find some form from last year". We might hear the same about Nason as well - he could be a candidate for the "sophomore slump" as they call it in the US.
- Cotch to come on. Fingers crossed for a full preseason and so we can really see his talent shine.
- Jack to struggle compared with this year. He had such a purple patch where everything went right that I doubt he'll kick 70 odd goals again next year. 50 would be a good result.

I hope we see more of:

- the grunt that went missing last week. You know where, even if we're not playing well, the players make it a tough day for the opposition. That sums up Hardwick the player, and hopefully that rubs off more on the team. You might lose, but make them earn it, and don't lose by much. Percentage might be a good indicator of progress for us over the next year or two .
- Ben Griffiths. Seems to have the size and especially speed. Please let him get those shoulders right so we can get games into him.
- Gaff. I really think he's the outside player we need who'll run and run and become the link up player. Not sure we'll get him at 6/8 though.
- Foley - please get a full preseason. He needs it.

I hope we see less off:

- Carlton - bogey team in the making. Can we play them once please?
- Adrian Anderson changing the rules of a game he barely played
- Caro and Hutchy

Just having Griffiths up forward on a regulalar basis will make us more competitive up forward. With Post and Taylor showing signs we will have a better forward line than we did this year. Foley will be a bonus for the midfield. We will draft a ruckman and a top midfielder who is hopefully ready made so the depth will improve. Just need to get weights into our key defenders

The midfield is actually starting to come together and look quite good when they are all on the field. I think it is time next year to put Deledio in the middle and tell him he needs to dominate games.

A Grade Mids: Deledio, Cotchin, Martin, Foley, Pick 6 (will be a mid)

You cannot tag 4 players. If Deledio goes in the middle you would suggest that he might get tagged some games along with Cotchin, which would let Martin run free as well as Foley who has always played with a tag. IMO Foley is A grade and very important to our clearances. Sometimes they may have to leave Deledio and tag the other two which would mean he would rack them up. If we get Atley he is ready made and you can add him to that list.That would be 5 A-graders going forward.

B/C Graders: Edwards, Morton, Jackson, Collins, Tuck

Edwards took huge strides forward this year and his disposal is so pure when up and running. Saw him deliver a bullet 40m pass to Post on the weekend in the first quarter and loved it.

Morton has the potential to go above this group imo. If he can get fit he will be our version of Chapman.

Jackson is C grader but a good stopper and a half decent run with player.

Collins is probably more of a potential B grader atm considering he has not played that much midfield this year. Still rate him as a midfielder who can kick goals but I like him resting in the forward line. He is very strong above his head.

Tucky is a star clearance player and you know he will go all day.

I think this is where we will improve if firstly our A grade mids get a good pre season under there belt (1st time for Cotchin) and Foley gets back fit, but secondly if guys like Edwards and Morton take the next step up because they have the ability too.

I expect Deledio to stand up...and I mean really stand up...in more games for 4 quarters....not 1, not 2, not 3 but 4....I also expect Cotchin to help everyone get over Cousins...:thumbsu: