Caesar

Ex-Huckleberry
Now, I'll specifically say up front that I accept that NFL players are some of if not the most athletic and physically fit players of any sport in the world, so I would love it if this thread didn't turn into the typical "what's the hardest sport" thread.

However, I'm watching the Vikings play the Saints at the moment and holy crap if the Minnesota #94 doesn't have the biggest potbelly of anyone I've ever seen on a professional sporting field.

I mean, I know he's probably a defensive lineman or something, and he's obviously quite a unit apart from the beachball he's smuggling. But it seems fairly common amongst defensive players.

So what's the deal? I mean, these are peak athletes in some of the best teams in one of the toughest sports in the world, so I know it's not a lack of fitness. Is it considered an advantage to carry a big belly in some roles? Is some of it fat or is it some weird overdeveloped muscle thing that you get when you go past the washboard abs stage?

Above all, does it mean I should stop working out? :D

They're big blokes, but still with a lot of strength. As apex said, DTs jobs are to occupy space up the middle. If they're strong enough they can take up two of the middle men which opens up more space with less opponents blocking for the rest of the Dline/rushers.

Why not have 130kg worth of muscle?
Doesn't lend itself well to occupying space. And I would say its easier to get a 130 kg muscle man down who doesn't have a low centre of mass (Unless the player has the biggest abs ever) than a bloke with some fat mass at the gut.

these pot-bellied guys are 'fit' for what they are meant to do on a gridiron. these fatties would still explode out of a 3pt stance over 20 metres, and move laterally quicker than athletes half their size from other sports.

there's a closed-minded view in this country that being fit is simply being conditioned aerobically, and completely ignoring strength, speed, power, agility, etc.

fitness is relative to your chosen discipline. lineman in american football have no need to run 3km trials, beep tests, as they do in AFL. just as AFL players cant get over developed by focusing on weights and short-explosive work which would hinder their aerobic capacity.

the great thing about American Football is that it is truly a game for many shapes and sizes. there's a position for you somwhere.

these pot-bellied guys are 'fit' for what they are meant to do on a gridiron. these fatties would still explode out of a 3pt stance over 20 metres, and move laterally quicker than athletes half their size from other sports.

there's a closed-minded view in this country that being fit is simply being conditioned aerobically, and completely ignoring strength, speed, power, agility, etc.

fitness is relative to your chosen discipline. lineman in american football have no need to run 3km trials, beep tests, as they do in AFL. just as AFL players cant get over developed by focusing on weights and short-explosive work which would hinder their aerobic capacity.

the great thing about American Football is that it is truly a game for many shapes and sizes. there's a position for you somwhere.
Generally being in good condition you are strong, quick and agile.

very well said.

these massive guys are actually incredible athletes. if it was just all about size, they'd simply go to Japan and get Sumo wrestlers. These guys are increidbly quick over short distances, with extremely nimble footwork and amazing power and burst. dont be fooled by the beer gut.

That's not correct, at least not in comparison to disciplines that focus on one of those specifically. Lance Armstrong is possibly the most aerobically conditioned person on earth but I don't think he'd be winning too many bench pressing competitions. Likewise sprinters are ridiculously anaerobically powerful but they can't run 3km like middle distance runners can.

Tell you what though, this is just from viewing certain positions, positions like the CB/S/WR/RB that's where you really get your 'cut' players, just have a look at guys like Peterson, McFadden to name a few, and you can see their muscle definition.. they are all instinctive positions compared to the other positions on the football field.

Even the big named QBs like Manning, Brady, McNabb have a bit of fat on them, but then, they don't have to run around like headless chooks, for them, it's in their footwork, technique and ability to read the coverages.

Pretty much spot on mate. Although we have had a few guys come out to play that have had no size, no speed, no agility, no aggression, no hands and no kicking ability. There is truly no position for these people!!! :D

Why not have 130kg worth of muscle?

Like the guys that pull tractors, trains in those STRONGEST man in the world comps? You'll find that getting to the NFL level as a blocker/guard/tackle, you'll need to graduate first, have the ability to be patient and play a role that means understanding what it takes to be a team player within the organisation and of course knowing the play call. Some of the individuals in those 'Strongest man in the World' comps may well have the strength to compete but the make up of qualifying mostly likely doesn't suit them.

That's not correct, at least not in comparison to disciplines that focus on one of those specifically. Lance Armstrong is possibly the most aerobically conditioned person on earth but I don't think he'd be winning too many bench pressing competitions. Likewise sprinters are ridiculously anaerobically powerful but they can't run 3km like middle distance runners can.

that's what i meant. being 'fit' for the relevant purpose.

Pretty much spot on mate. Although we have had a few guys come out to play that have had no size, no speed, no agility, no aggression, no hands and no kicking ability. There is truly no position for these people!!! :D

Long snapper? If that fails... Chain crew?

Have them as the knee person? Who just takes knees at the end of games? Although they'd probably even screw that up too.

Long snapper is crucial Cam. It really is a unique skill. Lucky for us we had an ex-Div 2 play for us this year. Best long snapper I have ever seen play in SA, amazing speed and accuracy.

I reckon chain crew too. :thumbsu::D

i was always shit at being a member of the chain crew.......always too busy talking to someone, marking the wrong spot, and failing to flip the down indicator board.

Fitness:

274279.jpg

I think some linemen are too fat - I realise they can still do the job, though.

A lot of players are very fit and muscly but under a bit of a layer of fat too. I have heard of many of these players are addicted to junk food - so they do heaps of training but the diet doesn't always keep up.

Whereas in Australia, skin fold test are routinely used to determine if you are conditioned enough in play.