News No Cloke: Hardwick

• Thread starter Thread starter Grockadoc

If we have truly ruled ourselves out, I hope that we have done so after fully exploring the idea. For all the crap that gets thrown up about the old man being a pain in the arse the chance to recruit a 25/26 yr old AA premiership winning CHF doesn't come around everyday.

Voice of reason

I cannot believe some of you guys. Cloke and his family may be tossers but we are instantly a finals side with him and premiership contenders in 1-2 years. He is without doubt the best power forward in the comp and has been injury free, so he is less likely to go the way of carey, Modra, Tredrea and N Riewoldt who were cut down by injury but could instead become like Lynch as a powerful full forward.

The money is high but does Deledio and co care that much if we win a flag because of him? I highly doubt it. Not to mention nabbing Cloke will kill off Collingwoods premiership hopes

Have read through the thread and there is merit in all the pros and cons.
The thing that says no for me is that if you are gunna fork out a mill or so for a power forward, I would be looking at one that can kick the ****ing thing straight as well. For all his marking power etc at the end of the day his accuracy is flakey. Lets face it, its a pretty hefty price tag and if we are gunna fork it out, then I for one would want all the bases covered. as an example of the type of player I would be wanting for that type of money and more, Carey or Jonno Brown in their prime. They were power forwards that did what Cloke does and more, but they also nailed their kicks more often than not and when it comes to clutch goals, they would always produce when they were needed. That is what you pay 1 mill + for, not a Cloke.

We can look a little down the barrel IMO and see if we could snare an emerging type. Said it before will say it again, Tex Walker of the crows is the next big thing about to happen in the AFL as a super power forward...get him..
The bonus is that we will have 2 mullets in the team as well..;)

The thing that says no for me is that if you are gunna fork out a mill or so for a power forward, I would be looking at one that can kick the ****ing thing straight as well. For all his marking power etc at the end of the day his accuracy is flakey. Lets face it, its a pretty hefty price tag and if we are gunna fork it out, then I for one would want all the bases covered. as an example of the type of player I would be wanting for that type of money and more, Carey or Jonno Brown in their prime. They were power forwards that did what Cloke does and more, but they also nailed their kicks more often than not and when it comes to clutch goals, they would always produce when they were needed. That is what you pay 1 mill + for, not a Cloke.

We can look a little down the barrel IMO and see if we could snare an emerging type. Said it before will say it again, Tex Walker of the crows is the next big thing about to happen in the AFL as a super power forward...get him..

The guy i have spuiked for a couple of years is Jesse White. I reckon we could do wonders with that bloke. Big unit, sound kick. And the fact that he's under produced at the Swans could mean a nice cheap pick up.
I like the thought of the Pies being forced to pay overs to keep Travis. It's a bit like the original tv rights deal where Packer forced C7 to pay overs. Others will benefit. No doubt. And yes you are right, Tex looks good at the moment.

The guy i have spuiked for a couple of years is Jesse White. I reckon we could do wonders with that bloke. Big unit, sound kick. And the fact that he's under produced at the Swans could mean a nice cheap pick up.
I like the thought of the Pies being forced to pay overs to keep Travis. It's a bit like the original tv rights deal where Packer forced C7 to pay overs. Others will benefit. No doubt. And yes you are right, Tex looks good at the moment.

I think Vickery is the answer to your Jesse White and I raise you a Brett Thornton if we are going down the Jesse White path.

Lol, Thornton, no need to swear at me!!!!

Agree that Walker will be good but he would definitely fail the character requirements, not to mention that he would have been far more likely to be traded when Craig was still coach, also calling his haircut a mullet is an insult to the great man Ivan ;)

Good riddance to the Cloke notion.
And only now are people starting to realise how good our No 9 is. I firmly believe he will be in the top 3 players in the comp before too long.
His father treated us like dirt after we took him back like the prodigal son... A cloke free zone is fine with me.

Again I hope it wasn't just the cost that saw us rule ourselves out of chasing him. Given that all it was going to cost us in reality was cap space, surely we have plenty available to go after someone of Clokes quality.

If we're not going after him I hope we have someone lined up, of similar quality and age, who can help us take the next step. Unfortunately I don't think there is anyone else around who fits the bill.
Mate ...

When we are signing blokes like Dustin Martin for well below his odds when the likes of Scully are signing on with franchise teams for bullshit figures , when we are cooming into "threshold contracts" with Deledio and Cotchin and Riewoldt who have been with this era from the get go ... i would hate to lose any of those quality ""richmond" players because we wanted a filthy Cloke football mercenary

Get your head out of your misguided clackers "anybody" who thinks he is a serious option

Mate ...

When we are signing blokes like Dustin Martin for well below his odds when the likes of Scully are signing on with franchise teams for bullshit figures , when we are cooming into "threshold contracts" with Deledio and Cotchin and Riewoldt who have been with this era from the get go ... i would hate to lose any of those quality ""richmond" players because we wanted a filthy Cloke football mercenary

Get your head out of your misguided clackers "anybody" who thinks he is a serious option
Seriously good post.:thumbsu:
I hate all that he and his filthy father represents. I hope Collingwood are forced to pay massive amounts to keep him.

Give me hug J ... i miss you :o:p

Gonna go off if we win tonight
Am keeping a lid on it and staying off the turps. I am quitely confident the tide has turned. You and I have seen many false dawns. It looks like the sun has poked her head up from the horizon properly this time.;)

No worries there ... Lid is well and truelly glued down . Always will be

Just those filthy , arrogant , cocky bomber w@nkers that shit me :p ... what was it weaver said about being lowered onto everest from a helicopter ????:p

No worries there ... Lid is well and truelly glued down . Always will be

Just those filthy , arrogant , cocky bomber w@nkers that shit me :p ... what was it weaver said about being lowered onto everest from a helicopter ????:p
I tried searching for that thread during the week. Couldn't dig it up, although I didn't spend a lot of time looking. I might try again. It was one of the all time classics, along with his 'Worst trade in history' post.

Present for you tugga:

That is what an Essendon supporter could never understand. Most of you are victims of marketing, spin and hype and wouldn't know the first thing about supporting a real club. Lets see how you all go when the Bombers start losing and the theatre goers find somewhere else to go.

You see it is BECAUSE we have suffered since 82 that we will love our next premiership in a way that you will never understand. Essendon fans have been lowered out of a helicopter onto the peak of Everest. Richmond fans will have climbed all the way to the top under our own steam and have the scars to prove it.

Pure gold right there in the written word. it is poetry and it is truth.:thumbsu:

And Deliberate's post in the same thread is good for lulz as well (hope you don't mind Delib, you're a big boy, you can handle it):

I'm warming to the fact of McMahon running around with Thursty and McGuane and Newy linking up.........looks a vibrant combination.

If we have truly ruled ourselves out, I hope that we have done so after fully exploring the idea. For all the crap that gets thrown up about the old man being a pain in the arse the chance to recruit a 25/26 yr old AA premiership winning CHF doesn't come around everyday.

This coming from a guy who wanted to run Richo out of the footy club because he was inhibiting Reiwoldt's development.

How the hell do you think Riewoldt will go playing alongside Cloke?

I look at this upcoming crows game, and i think to myself how handy would Cloke be at CHF?