Opinion Non-Crows AFL 13: Offseason

What are your thoughts on Wildcard Round?

Yeah, I don't watch most of the shows in the best of times, but have completely tuned out since Rankine affair & finishing top, as knew it would be a pile on.

Hopefully this hardens the team.
I never watch these programs but the feeling is even worse for me. This ordeal has left me completely pissed off and wondering why I even bother investing any time into watching footy at all. The whole league is staged WWF style bullshit and Adelaide is always playing the part of the heel.

Who would you guys like to see drafted at 1 and 2? Reckon Dyson Sharp would be a great 2nd banana to Reid. Would personally want to avoid Durrsma. CDT also seems like he could be a good fit, considering neither Flynn or B.Williams have nailed down the ruck spot.

I honestly don’t know - I mean that, I really should (given where our list is at) try and know a bit more about potential draftees 😆

From reading our board, Sharp is one that has been mentioned a lot for a long time. People seem to be a bit iffy on Duursma. There is a worry about CDT - using a premium pick on a ruck. But our ruck stocks are not great, we are slaughtered in there on a weekly basis. We love picking talls (even when we don’t ‘need’ them). I personally would take the two best mids, with a focus on ball winning ability and skills.

I will need to do some homework! 😆

I honestly don’t know - I mean that, I really should (given where our list is at) try and know a bit more about potential draftees 😆

From reading our board, Sharp is one that has been mentioned a lot for a long time. People seem to be a bit iffy on Duursma. There is a worry about CDT - using a premium pick on a ruck. But our ruck stocks are not great, we are slaughtered in there on a weekly basis. We love picking talls (even when we don’t ‘need’ them). I personally would take the two best mids, with a focus on ball winning ability and skills.

On the bright side, you are getting a lot of excellent young talent into the club. You maybe us circa 2021 but I dont think you are too far away from starting to climb the ladder. Maybe 2027/2028 could see some major improvements once more games have been pumped into your youngsters.

I think West Coast will come out of it with a lot more talent than the Crows did. A couple extra years at the real pointy end of the draft.

Who would you guys like to see drafted at 1 and 2? Reckon Dyson Sharp would be a great 2nd banana to Reid. Would personally want to avoid Durrsma. CDT also seems like he could be a good fit, considering neither Flynn or B.Williams have nailed down the ruck spot.
Sharp is quality, I reckon Josh Lindsay looks good too.

Yes! There is no chance the clubs came into the thought process around this game. Its all about ratings. The AFL wants to provide bang for buck for its TV partners. But there are thousands of expats over season desperate to watch this game and a Thurday night timeslot means its a morning game from Europe to early morning on the East Coast of the USA. So yes any night timeslot will incurr the same time difference but a weekend makes it a far better opportunity.

Hey, im in the minority, I accept it and adjusting accordingly. But all I am saying is make no mistake, the clubs have nothing to do with this time slot. Its a convenient excuse for the AFL.

Mate - don't think the AFL or the clubs give two shits about the 47 expats who will be slightly inconvenienced by watching the game at 3:00am on a Thursday night rather than 3:00am on a Friday night. And nor should they.

Yes! There is no chance the clubs came into the thought process around this game. Its all about ratings. The AFL wants to provide bang for buck for its TV partners. But there are thousands of expats over season desperate to watch this game and a Thurday night timeslot means its a morning game from Europe to early morning on the East Coast of the USA. So yes any night timeslot will incurr the same time difference but a weekend makes it a far better opportunity.

Hey, im in the minority, I accept it and adjusting accordingly. But all I am saying is make no mistake, the clubs have nothing to do with this time slot. Its a convenient excuse for the AFL
I imagine circa 98% of all viewing is Aussies in Australia

Respectfully theres no way they are going to, or should be, considering a peripheral audience in different parts of the world and if they do do they prioritise North America, Europe, Asia or the Middle East. Asking far too much here

Mate - don't think the AFL or the clubs give two shits about the 47 expats who will be slightly inconvenienced by watching the game at 3:00am on a Thursday night rather than 3:00am on a Friday night. And nor should they.

They also don't give a shit about our country fans.

Listening to Chad Cornes being interviewed on radio this morning. It sounds like he wants a year off coaching and may do some media amongst other things.

It will probably be a podcast but I wonder if he will take over from Tredrea on fiveaa. They must be nervous about his bahaviour and he can't do a number of games due to his Board commitments. Tredrea is popular amongst Port fans but so is Chad so I don't think they would lose any listeners.
Yeah I think you are right.

Even Boak would be a huge chance if he wants to do some media.

Why exactly would you want to avoid Willem Duursma?

Duursma''s had an outstanding season at every level he's played and in every role/position he's played. He's the outstanding utility in this draft, good size with development to come in that regard, good speed, endurance and decent enough foot skills.

What's not to like as a draft prospect that has shown his capabilities in all 3 areas of the game?

Is Barnett headed to the delist pile when next out of contract?

I get the reasoning for it but its not good if you are trying to market the game for a wider audience which is what the AFL always try to do. But there are previous thursday night games so not like we are the only ones.
I'm not sure regional Peru is high on the AFL's priority list

And it's week 1 of finals, surely the integrity of the series is what matters most. Not playing Sunday means that the worst case scenario for a team going into the second week is a 6 day break off a 2 week break (ordinarily). Maybe we should play Sunday afternoon so that those in Paraguay get a Saturday night game and we can have a 5 day break into Friday night if we lose. And then watch those 3 Panamanian Crows supporters bleat about fixture bias against us.

For sure, We have steadily started to build a young group and will add a few more in the upcoming draft. A shame not to pick up a couple of extra wins this year, some missed opportunities. A long way to go… but there are positives and a lot to work from.

Is Barnett headed to the delist pile when next out of contract?

Very likely at this stage. I haven’t been able to see many of the WAFL games this year, but reading our board, the critique of him has been absolutely savage. He’s not coming along at all it appears. A great amount of talent, but his lack of effort and competitiveness :( A really big preseason and year ahead for him.

They also don't give a shit about our country fans.
Without trivialising the comments or the situation, it tickled me when the Rankine stuff made many people declare "The AFL doesn't care about gay fans."

Mates, the AFL doesn't care about any fans.

So jobe watson is on Melbournes coach selection panel.
You can just imagine what he brings.
“Guys we really need a coach that can coach well and win games, they also need to be able to talk to people and have their own car”

I think West Coast will come out of it with a lot more talent than the Crows did. A couple extra years at the real pointy end of the draft.
West Coast had pick 2, 1, 3, 1 and 2 compared to pick 1, 6, 5 and 4 so are already well ahead of our picks and will likely have pick 1-2 next year but done some strange trade with pick 2 and 3.

Opinion Non-Crows AFL 13: Offseason