Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread X

• Thread starter Thread starter Doss

Sorry to intrude Bombers fans. I just wanted to thank the guy I was talking to for most of the match at the Swans-Geelong match. He said his username was Bombers... I can't remember. Was really nice talking with you, especially reiterating that Bartel should play the midfield.

Big footy could be the new E harmony :hearts::hearts::hearts::footy::footy::footy:

Some observations particularly in reference to our game against Swans

- Goodes may have to end up playing as a crumbing forward which is within his capabilities as he has always been an exceptional clearance player. Fletch stitched Goodes up last week. Teams need to ensure they play a defender who is good on the ground against Goodes.
- Tippett was a class above tonight - He barely got a look in against Hooker.
- Shaw and Malceski dominated from half back - Thought we keep them in check.
- Posted last week that something seemed wrong with Geelong. Some more disturbing signs tonight.
- Tonight showed that our defence is doing very well. Think the most scores conceded in a game is 25. Get the midfield and defence working better and we still have a chance.

The Swans may have a forward line that no one else's money can buy but it is the work rate of their midfield and half backs that is frightening. Everyone buys into it. Jack, Hannebery and McVeigh are ridiculous and cover an amount of ground at a speed that few players in the competition are capable of and none of our best 22 mids or half backs seem to be capable of.

COLA may make it unpalatable but the focus on it misses the point. As long as Sydney can instill this work ethic into its players they are always going to be close to the mark.

Geelong had their chance last year but now they come right back to the field to wait and see whether the young guys can fill the shoes of the players they replaced.

Some observations particularly in reference to our game against Swans

- Goodes may have to end up playing as a crumbing forward which is within his capabilities as he has always been an exceptional clearance player. Fletch stitched Goodes up last week. Teams need to ensure they play a defender who is good on the ground against Goodes.
- Tippett was a class above tonight - He barely got a look in against Hooker.
- Shaw and Malceski dominated from half back - Thought we keep them in check.
- Posted last week that something seemed wrong with Geelong. Some more disturbing signs tonight.
- Tonight showed that our defence is doing very well. Think the most scores conceded in a game is 25. Get the midfield and defence working better and we still have a chance.

Sydney Swans
Matthew Dick- Hamstring (1 week)
Alex Johnson- Knee (Season)
Mike Pyke- Hamstring (1 week)

Leading into the Geelong game, that is their injury list, the same as it has basically been the last 3 weeks since Tippett has come back. They are running at full tilt right now with the added bonus of Adam Goodes starting to find more footy. Now it was pretty obvious by the players they let go that the one huge question mark over Sydney with the signature of Franklin on top of Tippett on top of a premiership team was their depth would take a huge hit. As it stands, it isn't an issue, so you are seeing some pretty devastating football by a team with a loaded front end of the field. It'll be interesting to see how they manage the inevitable injuries that will occur between now and finals. How many they get in a clump and how close to finals (if not during them) could be the difference in them winning another flag or not.

Sydney Swans
Matthew Dick- Hamstring (1 week)
Alex Johnson- Knee (Season)
Mike Pyke- Hamstring (1 week)

Leading into the Geelong game, that is their injury list, the same as it has basically been the last 3 weeks since Tippett has come back. They are running at full tilt right now with the added bonus of Adam Goodes starting to find more footy. Now it was pretty obvious by the players they let go that the one huge question mark over Sydney with the signature of Franklin on top of Tippett on top of a premiership team was their depth would take a huge hit. As it stands, it isn't an issue, so you are seeing some pretty devastating football by a team with a loaded front end of the field. It'll be interesting to see how they manage the inevitable injuries that will occur between now and finals. How many they get in a clump and how close to finals (if not during them) could be the difference in them winning another flag or not.

Of their smaller players/running brigade you have guys like Brandon Jack, Tom Mitchell, Gary Rohan, Ryan O'Keefe who can come in and play a role at minimum, if not make an impact. Once they got rid of Mumford they were always going to concede their rucks not being their strength but they have Pyke, Derickx who has done ok as the only ruck, Nankervis as absolute depth. Push comes to shove and Tippett can go there too.

If Richards and/or Grundy go down they effectively have LRT as a replacement and Reid has shown he can go back if required. I'd say this is where their depth is lacking the most, but they can cover injuries in most areas pretty well I reckon.

On last nights form the Swans are legitimate contenders. If they get a few injuries they are still capable of beating most if not all sides.

The Swans may have a forward line that no one else's money can buy but it is the work rate of their midfield and half backs that is frightening. Everyone buys into it. Jack, Hannebery and McVeigh are ridiculous and cover an amount of ground at a speed that few players in the competition are capable of and none of our best 22 mids or half backs seem to be capable of.

COLA may make it unpalatable but the focus on it misses the point. As long as Sydney can instill this work ethic into its players they are always going to be close to the mark.

Geelong had their chance last year but now they come right back to the field to wait and see whether the young guys can fill the shoes of the players they replaced.

I don't think COLA is missing the point at all.

As good as the midfield is, their gameplan is bomb it long to Tippett and Buddy. It'd be a totally different story if it was kick it long to LRT.

The end had to come for Geelong at some point.. for mine they have 'defied' gravity to an extent this year.. the reality is that they still have enough star power and structure to demolish weaker teams, win most against average teams.. however being found out big time against better teams now.

A lot of young guys in their line up and it is now starting to show, having said that.. not many are going to beat Sydney in the form they are in.

Sydney are designed for success by the AFL; COLA, the fixture, umpiring, MRP all contribute to make sure they are near top 4 every year. This year they will go close but I don't think they will win it. One or two key injuries will see them struggle, and they are still weak in the back half if the ball moves quickly.

The end had to come for Geelong at some point.. for mine they have 'defied' gravity to an extent this year.. the reality is that they still have enough star power and structure to demolish weaker teams, win most against average teams.. however being found out big time against better teams now.

A lot of young guys in their line up and it is now starting to show, having said that.. not many are going to beat Sydney in the form they are in.

Sydney are designed for success by the AFL; COLA, the fixture, umpiring, MRP all contribute to make sure they are near top 4 every year. This year they will go close but I don't think they will win it. One or two key injuries will see them struggle, and they are still weak in the back half if the ball moves quickly.

Yeah spot on there, the challenge for them for them will be to see if they can regenerate there list without falling too far back, Sydney and Collingwood have been the best at doing that over the last 6 or 7 years but even the swans dropped out of the 8 a couple of years ago and i think Collingwood have better youngsters than Geelong. Interesting times ahead and we get to really see if Chris Scott can be a really good coach or not.

The amount of hate for Goodes in here is disgraceful. Absolute champion of the game, and people far smarter than anybody here made him Australian of the Year because of his extensive work with Aboriginal comunities.
He's an amazing player, for sure.

I don't like him because he's a sook, a stager and a dirty player.

I first noticed it years ago when he ran up and elbowed Hird in the back, only to then sook and carry on when players remonstrated with him later on.

I agree, and it shits me to tears when anyone thinks it has anything to do with the colour of his skin. If I think someone's a campaigner, they're a campaigner regardless of their race or religion.

It's that simple. And I find it offensive that just because I don't like him, it is automatically assumed to be because of his skin colour.

Spot Bang On

I agree, and it shits me to tears when anyone thinks it has anything to do with the colour of his skin. If I think someone's a campaigner, they're a campaigner regardless of their race or religion.
you should have left the posts in as a public service imo

If you look at Geelong this year, they've not beaten much. Pies yeah, but they were shocking at that point. Hawks yeah, but that's always a close one regardless of ability.

Geelong's strength thus far has been dispatching the mediocre to crap teams - they've been flogged by three of the best five teams in the comp.

I didn't notice it until recently and I didn't accept it at first.

But he is very much the hypocrite.

I find Judds little indiscretions endearing because he doesn't pretend to be more than he is. He dishes it out cops it and says nothing. Goodes, as amazing as he is, really shits me these days.

If you look at Geelong this year, they've not beaten much. Pies yeah, but they were shocking at that point. Hawks yeah, but that's always a close one regardless of ability.

Geelong's strength thus far has been dispatching the mediocre to crap teams - they've been flogged by three of the best five teams in the comp.
Yep. And like all teams that stay at the top for a long time.. the drop can happen suddenly..

Last night, Geelong only fielded 7 regular players from their 'dominant' era: Selwood, Johnson, Bartel, Kelly, Mackie, Taylor and Hawkins. So it is a completely different team line up. Not to say they won't dominate again soon, or that they won't win games this year.. they will, but I had Geelong dropping out of the 8 this year and I still kinda stand by that. I just can't see their current team being competitive with the top flight teams.

I think Johnson and Bartel have both lost a yard of pace and, along with Kelly, have less than 2 seasons left imho. Up to all 3 could call it quits this year tbh. Mackie is good but depends on those around him, Taylor is a very good intercept back but can be found out on the lead and in 1-1 marking contests.. Hawkins still drifts in and out of games far too much for my liking.. although I'd pick him in heartbeat and Selwood is a champion still.

So interesting times ahead for Geelong imho.

I think you're going too early on some of the champions, but the problem is that they're down quite a few champions on previous years, so too much is left to a bunch of mid-range kids. They're not a bad bunch, but they're certainly not in the same class as Port's kids or Hawthorn's kids.

So out of Johnson, Kelly and Bartel which do you disagree on and why?

Johnson has had a ridiculous season thus far. Quiet last two games, but Ryan Crowley and a 112 point loss or whatever it was will do that to you.

Bartel has also been very good for most of the year.

Kelly I haven't paid enough attention to, so I can't say either way.

I would say all of them, Johnson has probably been there best player for the year. It was only last week that Bartel and Kelly were the best two players on the ground. The problem isn't with there top end players it's mid range players that are probably getting found out quite a bit when coming up against better opposition.