NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything

Sorry guys but you are well off the mark. He and his fellow mercenary mate Moreland have signed with Balranald in the Central Murray League. Won’t be at Powelltown.
Look up play afl. Registered to powelltown. Also Moreland will be very lucky if Corio give him a clearance. He Tried to get back to powelltown last year. But powelltown would of had to pay alot of debt.

Sorry guys but you are well off the mark. He and his fellow mercenary mate Moreland have signed with Balranald in the Central Murray League. Won’t be at Powelltown.
Always remember an old favourite Mr Singh playing at the same club over a decade a go. Good luck to them if they can get it, I guess.

SFNL have open grade where clubs that can’t field two teams (Nuna) or those that field three teams (Berwick) play.

Fairly sure it’s limited to one team per club though, you don’t have this bullshit like the ammos where clubs have four teams in the clubbies (open).

The SFNL is a bit of a different beast however, a lot of clubs don’t have U19s because the region is pretty much head to head with school footy and VAFA. So the Saturday morning thirds comp works. They also have a Friday night comp.

They take MPFNL clubs too so I’d be surprised if some EFNL clubs couldn’t enter. Berwick and Beaconsfield could for sure, Oakleigh District, Mulgrave, Rowville.

If I’m Berwick that would be my first port of call as I imagine it’d allow home games… whereas you would think in this D4 setup means they’ll have to follow Nunawading around.
Zero chance Berwick 3s are playing home games at nunawading. To even think that is ridiculous. Nuna host 1 game. Berwick will host with a 2nd 19s or women’s game aswell. Means they’d have games at Berwick all 18 rounds I reckon.

Away games they’d play together

Zero chance Berwick 3s are playing home games at nunawading. To even think that is ridiculous. Nuna host 1 game. Berwick will host with a 2nd 19s or women’s game aswell. Means they’d have games at Berwick all 18 rounds I reckon.

Away games they’d play together
Lets be patience and see how the EFNL plan this out after xmas.Have to also think of the senior sides playing Nunawading at Nuna, their reserves will most likely have to play at Berwick.And what happens if there are other sides in D4 that can not field a reserves side.Eg.Forest Hill.

How can you split reserves and seniors?

Need to take an emergency player or two to the seniors?

Reserves coaches are often involved with seniors

Two sets of trainers and volunteers - it’s hard enough to get one set

At D4 level you might even have players doubling up

Don’t see how you can expect clubs to have their Ressies and seniors in different places at the same time. Reserves would probably have to play Friday night, then you have the question of player availability. Or one of the games gets pushed back to Saturday twilight or night so that there’s time to get between them

It happens with some U19s and reserves sides now.Agree it is difficult but there are ways around it like your suggestion twilight games/Friday night reserves game etc.

It’s for 1 game in the season.

If it’s the biggest issue div 4 clubs face next season there going well.

I’d think it would be harder for Berwick.
There a chance to have home games every week. No rest for the satday volunteers

It’s for 1 game in the season.

If it’s the biggest issue div 4 clubs face next season there going well.

I’d think it would be harder for Berwick.
There a chance to have home games every week. No rest for the satday volunteers
I can’t believe any club would bother having 2 reserves. They aren’t going to be playing near the main club ever.

If their home games are fixtured the same as their U19,s,reserves and seniors they will be.4 games on the 1 day,19s,start at 8.50,the 2nd Berwick Reserves starts at 10.50.No.1 Reserves side 12.30 and the 1,s at 2.20/2.30.PS A bit hard on their womens side/s though.

It’s not possible to fit 4 games in a day… other clubs can’t be expected to start earlier/later either

SFNL have open grade where clubs that can’t field two teams (Nuna) or those that field three teams (Berwick) play.

Fairly sure it’s limited to one team per club though, you don’t have this bullshit like the ammos where clubs have four teams in the clubbies (open).

The SFNL is a bit of a different beast however, a lot of clubs don’t have U19s because the region is pretty much head to head with school footy and VAFA. So the Saturday morning thirds comp works. They also have a Friday night comp.

They take MPFNL clubs too so I’d be surprised if some EFNL clubs couldn’t enter. Berwick and Beaconsfield could for sure, Oakleigh District, Mulgrave, Rowville.

If I’m Berwick that would be my first port of call as I imagine it’d allow home games… whereas you would think in this D4 setup means they’ll have to follow Nunawading around.
Due to the success of Edi Asp and Pearcedale both fielding a 3rds team in the Southern league the MPFNL have decided to have their own 3rds comp next year that will be playing on Friday nights. There are well over 10 clubs that have put out expressions of interest to join. This is great for clubs that have a abundance of players and also for players that could no longer play on Saturday due to work commitments etc

Perhaps Berwick should be looking at putting their 2nd reserve side in that competition and playing Friday nights.

I don’t mind the prospect of a thirds comp because I think footy does need a more “social” level for players that don’t really want to train or take their footy too seriously. It can be for clubs who can only field one side, or for those wanting to enter a thirds side. As mentioned I’d cap it at one team per club.

It’s also a good launching point for new clubs where they only need to field one team, like what Clyde is doing.

Don’t really want to see it mixed with the divisional footy as seems to be the case with this Berwick / Nuna thing. Maintain the Saturday matchday between clubs I think.

That means getting your volunteers working the Friday night, followed by all day the next day. Add the extra cost of paid staff, like trainers. Good for some, shit for others.

I think it’s only a matter of time before the Efnl introduce a thirds competition and as early as 2027 is my guess. The more people playing footy is good for society and good for clubs. dinners, merchandise, bar etc. Volunteers I agree could be an issue but besides that it’s a no brainer. Most clubs have juniors training Friday nights kids and parents can just hang around the rooms a bit longer and watch some footy. I know this year there was no entrance fee.

I think it’s only a matter of time before the Efnl introduce a thirds competition and as early as 2027 is my guess. The more people playing footy is good for society and good for clubs dinners, merchandise bar etc. Volunteers I agree could be an issue but besides that it’s a no brainer. Most clubs have juniors training Friday nights kids and parents can just hang around the rooms a bit longer and watch some footy. I know this year there was no entrance fee.

last touch outta bounds coming soon for all grades
thatll save a few volunteers on a sat too

You’d have to have boundaries

An honesty system to see if the balls gone out would be ridiculous.
What I have seen in juniors and senior woman if there is doubt on who touched the ball last the field umpire brings the ball in 10 metres from the boundary and throws it up.It seems to work OK what I have seen but not sure about 1,s EFNL,

NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything