Number 1 Draft Picks

Ok if you say so. Over entire careers there are atleast 7 players that are well in front of Josh. I don't think anyone can dispute this.

Going by the criteria that many have agreed on in this thread (#1 pick being in best 3-4 + playing 200 games) i think we can still safely say that Fraser has not been a pass as a number 1 pick.
Because Josh has slowed down due to injuries.....look at the other players have a slow build to their careers and are now blossoming.......whilst Josh has not been able to take his game to a new level.

A loss perhaps as not in top4, but is top 10 and has played more games than most players even with his injury troubles as his first 4-5 seasons he was great.
Kinda.

Fraser was a good pick because he was invaluable to Collingwood.

Apart from Pavlich, who would turn any team into God tier, Fraser was perfect for Collingwood and is a win for them.
Pavlich and Brown (who wasn't available) are the only two who would have impacted the pies more......

Thats a lot different to placing him 19th. If you get a top ten player with your number one pick you've done all right. He's well on the way to 200 games with 191 racked up. Not great, but certainly not disastrous. Its a lot closer to a success than a failure.

People forget his early career. He played 108 games in the ruck in his first five seasons. I doubt anybody from that draft had a better start to their careers, and none of them had to play ruck. A dicky knee has slowed him down in the past 3-4 seasons.

Exactly, after 5 seasons Josh and Pav were the two standout players from the draft, ahead of all players......even J.Brown!

I don't think you'd change any pick since 2000. Early days on Watts. To be honest last year I didn't have him as my number 1 but Melbourne were very keen on him so he should come good.

Josh Fraser has been a let down I think.

Judd probably would've gone number 1, but I doubt many Hawks supporters are too upset about having Hodge on their list. If I were a recruiter in 2001, I would've gone Hodge as well.

Just pointing out this fail.

Nothin to be ashamed of being behind those guys regardless. They're all superstars.

I reckon Goddard will surpass all but Judd and Ablett next year though. :thumbsu:
Nothing to be ashamed of at all. BJ is a gun. His draft was crap though and I was pointing it out by comparing him to the previous year.

I don't think you'd change any pick since 2000. Early days on Watts. To be honest last year I didn't have him as my number 1 but Melbourne were very keen on him so he should come good.

Josh Fraser has been a let down I think.

Judd probably would've gone number 1, but I doubt many Hawks supporters are too upset about having Hodge on their list. If I were a recruiter in 2001, I would've gone Hodge as well.
That's the key point right there. If you ask the Carlton recruiters if they're happy with Gibbs when they see Selwood running around, you can guarantee they'd say they are thrilled with how he's going. It's exactly the same with Deledio and Hodge, as they might not be the best player from their draft in hindsight, but they're bloody gun players who are key components to their team. When you draft someone at number 1, you have the best chance of them becoming a star player more than any other draft position. Who cares if they end up being 2nd, 3rd or 4th best player from the draft?

Nothing to be ashamed of at all. BJ is a gun. His draft was crap though and I was pointing it out by comparing him to the previous year.

Ooh shit, I completely misread your post. Thought you thought that BJ was taken in 01 and you were surprised that so many poeple were saying he didn't have to do much to better Ablett, Judd et al.

But yeah, no doubt I agree with you now.

Hodge has been the best selection of the 2001 draft.

Consider that he was the only player of Ball, Judd and Hodge to stick with his original club, and has also been unbelievable in finals.

His Norm Smith performance in 2008 will go down as one of the greatest, if not THE greatest of all time.

Injury has plagued his career and he has been forced to play in defence, but a bolstered backline may see him play his preferred role of mid/fwd in 2010 and beyond.

Admire your loyalty, don't think much of your footy knowledge.

At the end of the day its a team sport and usually the best team wins. Except for Hawthorn in 2008.

So the team that finished second and then went on to beat the teams that finished 3rd and 4th by 10 goals then beat the team that everyone thought was unbeatable,was not the best team.

Brush up on your Hawks V Geelong history sunshine, Geelong have not beaten the Hawks in a Final since 1963.

As soon as the Hawks blew away St.Kilda and the Bulldogs I and most Hawk supporters knew the 2008 Flag was all ours.

The Hawks have the wood on Geelong when it matters even Geelong supporters know this.

Hawks were the supreme team of 2008.
I have held the cup so I have proof of it first hand. :thumbsu:

Hodge has been the best selection of the 2001 draft.

Consider that he was the only player of Ball, Judd and Hodge to stick with his original club, and has also been unbelievable in finals.

His Norm Smith performance in 2008 will go down as one of the greatest, if not THE greatest of all time.

Injury has plagued his career and he has been forced to play in defence, but a bolstered backline may see him play his preferred role of mid/fwd in 2010 and beyond.

Love a balanced unbiased view from someone who obviously knows footy.

2008 Norm Smith performance just leaves those other duds in the shade. Abletts 9 goal feat in 1989 was kids stuff compared to cherrypicking in 2008.

Hodge rules, clearly better than Judd. Brownlows, B&Fs, AAs and N Smiths (2008 excluded) are overrated in the extreme

As for those other 2001 graduates like Gary Jun, Bartel etc, they are not even worthy to carry the great mans boots

Love a balanced unbiased view from someone who obviously knows footy.

2008 Norm Smith performance just leaves those other duds in the shade. Abletts 9 goal feat in 1989 was kids stuff compared to cherrypicking in 2008.

Hodge rules, clearly better than Judd. Brownlows, B&Fs, AAs and N Smiths (2008 excluded) are overrated in the extreme

As for those other 2001 graduates like Gary Jun, Bartel etc, they are not even worthy to carry the great mans boots

For a Collingwood supporter you make some surprisingly good points. :thumbsu:

Back to topic not enough cred for Drew Banfield. Over 200 games , 1 x club B&F, in WCE best team of 20 years 2x premiership player. Never got the cred he deserved as No.1 Pick.

Also Judd will go down as one of the best of all time when he finishes up, Hodge will go down as a very good player. When Hodge wins every award available (team and individual) then you can compare the two.

Back to topic not enough cred for Drew Banfield. Over 200 games , 1 x club B&F, in WCE best team of 20 years 2x premiership player. Never got the cred he deserved as No.1 Pick.

Also Judd will go down as one of the best of all time when he finishes up, Hodge will go down as a very good player. When Hodge wins every award available (team and individual) then you can compare the two.

banfield????????????
in his first 2 years i was a carlton supporter but watched every wc game because that is what we got in WA.
banfield in his first 2 years was the WORST player i have ever seen in the big league.
he was a left footer, but my non-preferred left foot was better & i was not an AFL player. as a tagger his man regularly got mountains of possessions & he used 2 run into the wrong spaces for his own players.
i remember a piece of play on the outer wing at Subi when banfield was running with Tony McGuiness 4 a loose ball which was bouncing towards the boundary line. banfield managed to get past McGuiness & tap the ball into play, but the only other player within 10 metres was McGuiness who gleefully ran away with the ball. that piece of play epitomised his lack of a football brain which coupled with his deplorable skills led me to my conclusion.
However, what i did later observe was that if you gave a guy 10 years of training & 10 years of opportunities against the best you could make a footballer because in the latter stages of his career he was a serviceable player. he used to mask his poor skills by using more handball & he was a solid contributor.
why i feel so strongly about this is that he was given so many chances while others were not given a fair go. he was indeed very lucky to have the most negative coach at the time in malthouse there to keep him in the team.
as for the other part of the topic, Hodge top 25 in the league currently.
Judd top 10 in the league in history
IMO

judd is the best of 01 by a country mile by whatever measure you want to use. anyone suggesting hodge has had a superior career to date needs to brush up on their footy knowledge. hodge has been sensational but in judd we are talking about one of the all time greats

bernice vince for mine out of the 2005 draft, has developed into a superb player who doesn't get the attention he deserves in vic. closely followed by pendlebury and a bit back to murphy

Ease up mate. I guarantee I go to more games than you.

I wasn't saying that Hodge is no good rather he is very good and can be great BUT for Hawks fans to say he is the best in the game after one season across half back as a loose man is rather ridiculous don't ya think?

Did you happen to see any of the hawks first 16 games of that season where hodge played as a forward/midfielder?

Judd may be a better player than Hodge, but the whole reason you want good players on your team is to win a premiership, not so you can say my player is better than your player .They did that with Hodge so it was the right decision for Hawthorn.

bernice vince for mine out of the 2005 draft, has developed into a superb player who doesn't get the attention he deserves in vic. closely followed by pendlebury and a bit back to murphy

If Pendulbury improves over the next year or so he will come close to being a little way behind Murphy ..Murphy is by far the better footballer ..he is faster, uses the ball much better and kicks more goals ..by far the more damaging out of the two .
Pendulbury runs back and sideways when he has the ball ..good player but not yet in Murphys class.
Oh... i would also take Vince over Pendulbury.

Judd may be a better player than Hodge, but the whole reason you want good players on your team is to win a premiership, not so you can say my player is better than your player .They did that with Hodge so it was the right decision for Hawthorn.

Shame Judd hasn't won a premiership ...oh wait .....:eek: Only a complete moron would take Hodge over Judd.

If Pendulbury improves over the next year or so he will come close to being a little way behind Murphy ..Murphy is by far the better footballer ..he is faster, uses the ball much better and kicks more goals ..by far the more damaging out of the two .
Pendulbury runs back and sideways when he has the ball ..good player but not yet in Murphys class.
Oh... i would also take Vince over Pendulbury.

No, just no. Murphy does not use the ball better than Pendlebury. Pendle is the better player IMO.

Judd is definitely the Best Pick from that draft.

However, Hodge was certainly the best needs player from that draft for us. We wouldn't of won 2008 with Judd. Hodge isn't as dominant a midfielder, but can play in a multitude of positions. Makes him far more valuable to us. Would I have Judd now? Of course, if he was available in a free trade. But I wouldn't trade him for Hodge due to above reasons.

his norm smith performance in 2008 will go down as one of the greatest, if not the greatest of all time.

hahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahhaha you are amazing!
C Young played better than Hodge that day.

Judd is definitely the Best Pick from that draft.

However, Hodge was certainly the best needs player from that draft for us. We wouldn't of won 2008 with Judd. Hodge isn't as dominant a midfielder, but can play in a multitude of positions. Makes him far more valuable to us. Would I have Judd now? Of course, if he was available in a free trade. But I wouldn't trade him for Hodge due to above reasons.
Biased maybe, but Ablett goes close, and Jimmy Bartel is as versatile and good as any of those top 6. Ablett is as good as if not better than Judd, as the last 3 years would indicate.

Number 1 Draft Picks