Observations From The Game.

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Firstly let me get this out of the way, feels great to win first up. Secondly this is not intended to be a negativity thread but rather a discussion thread which reviews the game.

IMHO we were very lucky last night, that we were playing another poor side otherwise we would have been smacked. You can't play a half of footy and have an efficiency rating of 50-55% and expect to beat the good sides.

Put simply if 1 out of every 2 disposals is either mising the target or is being turned over, then when we come up against a good-very good side we will get torn a new one. I could accept the low levels if Carlton were also performing that poorly but they were running at 75-80% efficiency in the first half and it showed by the way they were able to establish a 4 goal lead quite easily. The other thing that helped was the fact that Carltons prime movers were underdone and ran out of petrol late in the second quarter, which allowed us to get some momentum back before heading into half time.

Here's hoping that things improve as the next few rounds roll on and that we can play better footy than we did tonight because we will be tested when we front up against some quality teams and the next 4 weeks is going to be the start of that testing.

My observation: We WON. :thumbsu:

PS Hey RT, who's to say we wouldn't have risen to the occassion if we were in fact challenged further than what we faced last night? :)

Was a huge positive we clawed back when they looked like they were going to kick away but our disposal needs some work. I was just really impressed in the belief and the effort. For a long while there we just kept bombing it into the forward 50 and turning it over but they were coached out of that.

Carlton have really over estimated themselves and so have the media. One player does not make a team and especially when that team has no discipline , no respect for the rules and image of the game and no respect for opposition teams that work hard at trying to do the right thing even if the system has flaws. They were never going to win that game last night because they don't have a back line so they should of done the right thing and given Fevola a couple of weeks in the Burgers.

Hartlett will be having a nice holiday. The AFL has got to rub that stuff out.

They should have run away with the game in the first half. Somehow we stayed in it.

Browny's freak goal out of nothing was the turning point for me.

When the game was there to be won, Richo and Browny stepped up.

We showed we are fit in the second half and that is a terrific sign for the year. Carlton just fell away and looked spent.

Well done Tiges

go tigerss
god we didnt muck around with the ball in the 2nd half and look what it got us a bloody win kick long and direct run and carry man we played good in the 2nd half wooooo

:)Not to focus on the negatives, especially when there were so many positives, but third quarter. Kelvin Moore gathers the ball near half back on his own and attempts a Wayne Campbell-like toe poker of about 15 yards to a teammate (I think it may have been Johnson) and it went all of about 20 centimetres off the ground and landed about five metres short.
Nobody tell me this guy has good skills again and is going to be an integral part of our lone-up this year or any other. Simply not up to it!!!!! Looks lost!

Positive: I have an inkling Tambling is going to be a gamebreaker for us very soon!!!! He is getting there folks!

My observation: We WON. :thumbsu:

PS Hey RT, who's to say we wouldn't have risen to the occassion if we were in fact challenged further than what we faced last night? :)
Hope we do rise to the challenge when we come up against the better teams, as I said the next 4 weeks are the first tests we will face and how we come through that will give a bit clearer indication as to where we stand, for now, though a win feels good but still does not change the way I view the team afterall it was only Carlton.

As much as this hurts and it f**ken does well done on the night. Too much run for us in the second half and we couldn't lay a tackle on your blokes to save ourselves. Saviour the win as like the Blues both clubs haven't had a lot to cheer about of late. Good sized crowd as well which shows the passion when our 2 clubs meet regardless of our poor records of late.

Was impressed with the courage showed by the fellas wether diving into the base of packs or backing back in defence to spoil their forwards - gutsy stuff. Is their someone new down at Punt rd teaching the boys how to tackle? I didn't see the old flop on an opponents back tackle....Loved one Schulz did nearly tore the guy in half then tossed him to the side!!
That said I also believe there is heaps of room for improvement and I can't wait to see it develop.

Brillian, Brilliant, Brilliant!!!!!!!! The season could not have started better, especially with the Tigers knocking off those cheats!!! Fantastic win, especially given you did not panic when behind - lets hope this a good sign for your season, everybody loves a big Richmond crowd.
I loved the line in the papers, Carlton needing a few more Judds, they are pathetic.

I thought it was great but some observations.

Deledio is a midfielder, he may be good up forward but he will be better in the middle, i hate watching him up forward it makes me angry to think of what is being wasted.

What's the go with nathan brown, i didn't see him among the goals a lot.

Hope we do rise to the challenge when we come up against the better teams, as I said the next 4 weeks are the first tests we will face and how we come through that will give a bit clearer indication as to where we stand, for now, though a win feels good but still does not change the way I view the team afterall it was only Carlton.

Yeah your right, it was only Carltank :thumbsu: - but thats also why it feels so good! :D

And I reckon after Round 8 will be a good indicator of how we're traveling as a team this year.

:)Not to focus on the negatives, especially when there were so many positives, but third quarter. Kelvin Moore gathers the ball near half back on his own and attempts a Wayne Campbell-like toe poker of about 15 yards to a teammate (I think it may have been Johnson) and it went all of about 20 centimetres off the ground and landed about five metres short.
Nobody tell me this guy has good skills again and is going to be an integral part of our lone-up this year or any other. Simply not up to it!!!!! Looks lost!

Positive: I have an inkling Tambling is going to be a gamebreaker for us very soon!!!! He is getting there folks!

Actually Goldusst that is focussing on the negative. Watch the whole thing again.... Moore had a more than servicable game. There was 3 occassions where he was outnumbered 2+ to 1 and he either ended up with the ball or took it over the line.

Im not sure if you have ever played competitive football, but when your running from half back and you take a bounce and the forwards don't come out at you , the only guy calling for the ball is also standing flat footed. What other option do you have but to try a toe poke. Ill even suggest this ... ever participated in a training drill ? Your told to move towards the ball carrier, the kicker anticipates the movement and kicks the balll INFRONT of you . Johnson didn't move he sat flat footed, follow the whole thing not the tiny little bit you want to see. If Johnson had moved he would have had a nice 2/3 foot high chest mark that no one could have intercepted. The let down there was not the junior player but the senior footballer who didnt move towards his ball carrier.

Actually Goldusst that is focussing on the negative. Watch the whole thing again.... Moore had a more than servicable game. There was 3 occassions where he was outnumbered 2+ to 1 and he either ended up with the ball or took it over the line.

Im not sure if you have ever played competitive football, but when your running from half back and you take a bounce and the forwards don't come out at you , the only guy calling for the ball is also standing flat footed. What other option do you have but to try a toe poke. Ill even suggest this ... ever participated in a training drill ? Your told to move towards the ball carrier, the kicker anticipates the movement and kicks the balll INFRONT of you . Johnson didn't move he sat flat footed, follow the whole thing not the tiny little bit you want to see. If Johnson had moved he would have had a nice 2/3 foot high chest mark that no one could have intercepted. The let down there was not the junior player but the senior footballer who didnt move towards his ball carrier.

PLAYED the odd season or 25, juniors through seniors, so yeah played a bit. And even attended training on the odd occasion and sometimes participated in a training drill.
No champion, but could hit a target most times, particularly a stationery one 15 metres ahead!
Mate was standing next to two buddies of mine - one a Carlton man and the other neutral. They both sighed when they saw that and rolled the eyes. It was pathetic!!!
Agree Johnson could have gone harder...but still....the ball hit the ground way before the senior player.
Average at best Moore....not a long term prospect, sorry!

!

didnt look to lost whilst in the process of bathing his opponent, dunno what game u were watching, perhaps the beer goggles had got the best of ya by then partner....He'll be fine as a third tall defender....Reserve your judgement until next week perhaps where the stakes are raised a little higher than Jake edwards

I thought it was great but some observations.

Deledio is a midfielder, he may be good up forward but he will be better in the middle, i hate watching him up forward it makes me angry to think of what is being wasted.

What's the go with nathan brown, i didn't see him among the goals a lot.
he kicked 3 goals......was quite though