Offical Geelong Trade Week Thread.

Falconer02

Suspended
geelong
OK Geelong fans, the time has come to make changes in our team. With the signing of James Bartel and Paul Chambers they are pretty much out of contention. Players thats names have been throwen around are Peter Street,Kent Kingsley,Cameron Mooney and David Clarke not going to get us a real big name if just traded with one for one trade.
With Bulldogs being very interested in Peter Street maybe Nathan Brown could be in contention for Geelong
with potential trades being Pick 7,David Clarke and Street for Brown and pick 19.
Some dark horses to be traded maybe one of our midfielders eg: Corey Enright or James Rahilly.

Our main focus is on a goal kicking forward,who can provide a target in the forward line. These players could include, Darren Bradshaw, Mal Michael,Jade Rawlings, Matthew Richardson, Lance Whitnall and Trent Croad.

Another thing we should concentrate on is a quick skilfull Back Flank/Wing/Small Forward, for example
Top Line Players:Joel Bowden Luke Power Nigel Lappin
2nd Tier Players: Shane Harvey, Steven Koops,Brent Guerra,Daniel Motlop,Rupert Betheras and Mark Mcveigh

So let it begin.....Hopefully we dont **** up.

i agree with what falconer said. it all makes sense so whats ya ****ing problem???

Personally id like to see David Spriggs go ahead of Enright. both attract inetrest no doubt, what about Darren Milburn as bait? i think hes a great player but somethimes to get something decent you gotta give something up

After being linked to almost every player leading up to this week then trail seems to have gone completely cold on everyone. It really is embarrasing. Hard decisions just never get made at our club. Right now I don't think I have ever felt so low or as mad as a Geelong fan as I do now. :mad: Forget the top liners we aren't even linked with the second stringers like Jacobs or Croad. Even the scraps like Guerra, Hall, Koops and Holland don't want a bar of us.

Reading the various newspapers articles and watching different news updates today it has become apparent that we are going to get no one. Morrell and Loats is about all that should expect to get.

I agree that Morrel and Loats should be givin a wide birth. David Haynes would still be a good option for what is still available. Not sure about Ian Perrie or Scott Stevens. As for a running player Chad Morrison didn't seem to get much of a run with west coast this year.

Originally posted by holdencaulfield
I agree that Morrel and Loats should be givin a wide birth. David Haynes would still be a good option for what is still available. Not sure about Ian Perrie or Scott Stevens. As for a running player Chad Morrison didn't seem to get much of a run with west coast this year.

The fact we are now resorting to talking about these guys should make every cat fan wanna cry. I mean please :mad: Stevens, Morrell, Loats and Chad Morrison! We are no better than Carlton begging for other clubs scraps and scrubbers :( . It's pathetic, shameful, and down right embarrasing.

Originally posted by BigCat1
The fact we are now resorting to talking about these guys should make every cat fan wanna cry. I mean please :mad: Stevens, Morrell, Loats and Chad Morrison! We are no better than Carlton begging for other clubs scraps and scrubbers :( . It's pathetic, shameful, and down right embarrasing.

Agree, plain and simple we need a star or close to, sure we have scarlett but he aint going to leave the Backline. It will not only help the team but the club. When you think of geelong you dont think of a certain player like Brisbane Voss,Eagles Cousins,Saints Reiwoldt Harvey, we have a solid bunch of players that may develop into stars (dont worry they are stars from my point of view) but we have too many role players.

Matthew Allan?!?!? I would spew if we went after him. He is useless and why would we want him with King, Chambers, Street(unless he is traded) and drafting Blake?

If anyone, that Shane Morrison lad from Brisbane would be good if we could get him. Poor bugger could not get a game with Jon Brown and so on in front of him. He can also play defence if need be.

Don't now about Trent Croad, just seems a big waste of space. Let St. Kilda have him and also pay his over the top salary.

Only other fellow I would look at would be Whittnal, but to be honest we would not get him without some serioous player trades.

Originally posted by fishman
Matthew Allan?!?!? I would spew if we went after him. He is useless and why would we want him with King, Chambers, Street(unless he is traded) and drafting Blake?
Essendon are interested in Matthew Allan, and they're welcome to him as far as I'm concerned. We should be concentrating on getting someone decent who can play up forward.

Supporters' Shopping List
Lance Whitnall
Matthew Richardson
Daniel Bradshaw
Jade Rawlings
Joel Bowden
Trent Croad
Danny Jacobs
Dean Solomon
Shane Morrison
Tim Notting
Heath Scotland
Stephen Milne
these guys are available and specific to our needs but apparently arent good enough for us or more to the point don't want a bar of us

Geelong Football Club Shopping List
Digby Morrell
Chad Morrison
David Loats
Matthew Allan
Scott Stevens
David Haynes
Pat Wiggins
Also willing to give up early picks

I stick to my original comments. Pathetic, embarrasing and shameful. :mad:

Potential

The players on the clubs shopping list all have shown some skills but have they shown as much as what we currently have. You would pick Kent Kingsley over most of the players on that list in our foward line. If you cant get anything better why get rid of what you have

Geelong Football Club Shopping List
Digby Morrell
Chad Morrison
David Loats
Matthew Allan
Scott Stevens
David Haynes
Pat Wiggins

Is there one player on that list worth having on that list.

The players on the clubs shopping list all have shown some skills but have they shown as much as what we currently have. You would pick Kent Kingsley over most of the players on that list in our foward line. If you cant get anything better why get rid of what you have

David Haynes is worth having from that list .
Chad Morrison is worth a punt from that list.

Lance Witnell would be absolutly perfect for Geelong but he was never available . Why would Carlton trade their 2nd best player ?

You are a goose, Big Cat. Slagging the club - "Pathetic, embarrasing and shameful" - based on rumours and innuendo about who the club is chasing is stupid and counterproductive. If players we are trying to get "don't want a bar of us" it could have something to do with the negative and bitter comments made by some of the fans they would have to put up with at Kardinia Park.

I can't see why we don't want to trade our first round selection..we have a wealth of young talent and really need someone who can kick goals, yeah?

It really does annoy me when I hear of us chasing Allan, but letting go of Streety. I had a chat with him when he came up here this year and he seemed a good bloke and really positive. (for guy who has copped an awful lot from both fans and media and has been in the two's for practically all his career...this suprised me)
He's just coming into form now, yes it's taken 5 or so years, but the Dogs contract won't be too grand I think.

He's chasing a game every week which is fair enough, but have we lifted a finger to keep him? Now I understand that the majority of fans think of him as nothing special, but hell, there's talk of us getting a 4th round pick for him.

It will just cut me up if he does anything for the doggies at all. But that's football, if we kept him, he'd do nothing for sure :)

I just hope Bomber's comments on us being unfinished with our bid for Rawlings weren't just him talking the club up.. I can't see a deal between the Hawks and Roos going ahead right now, (especially with Motlop signing..) we should really go after him aggressively I think, from what he said it looked like he really liked the Geelong Football Club.

Otherwise, I can see a failed trade-period again.
( Ben Finnin anybody?)

*Awaiting your flames for being a newbie who likes Streety :D *

Originally posted by catatonic
You are a goose, Big Cat. Slagging the club - "Pathetic, embarrassing and shameful" - based on rumours and innuendo about who the club is chasing is stupid and counterproductive.
I'm a goose. Haha thanks for the laugh. Lets get this straight the rumours about who the club is chasing is simply the last straw. I am now sick and tired of the crap promises being put forward by the club. I have argued long and hard on this board with people ridiculing and branding this club mediocre. However lately I have come to the realisation that they may be right. Its not a slag it's what I truly believe.
*We were promised a top 6 finish this year. Result: We went backwards but not far enough to get good draft picks just far enough to be safe.
*We were promised changes to our footy department: Result: we re-sign our under performing coach for an extra year. We also re-sign our football manager who is universally hated by ex players and on results has also under performed. The only good thing we did is sack two assistants but I won't get two excited until I know who's replacing them.
*We were promised a KF. Result: nothing.
*We were promised a shake up to the playing list Result: Looks like Streety is the only one to go bar the retirements.
*We were promised some more experienced players. Result: Nothing on the horizon. Just other clubs duds. We seem to have fallen completely off the radar. Not even trying to recruit for our deficiencies. Note the RUCK is not one!
*We were promised that we would not trade pick 7. Result: It's on the market to anyone who wants it. Complete backflip.

Go ahead Catonic you tell me your happy this year. For christ sake mate stand up and say something. This is the place to do it. I love this club so much it's not funny but right now I feel cheated.

If players we are trying to get "don't want a bar of us" it could have something to do with the negative and bitter comments made by some of the fans they would have to put up with at Kardinia Park.
Comical stuff. If you want to come to a club with easy-going supporters then come down to the Cattery. I reckon I'm a pretty reasonable guy (You'd know that if you'd been on this board for more than two seconds) I'm just sick to death of this whole sad story that was this season. I am just so disappointed with the last two weeks it's not funny. Were you one of those fans clapping after the comeback against the Bulldogs or cheering after the StKilda game? It's just not on. Would this be accepted at Essendon or Adelaide or Collingwood. I will give you the tip NO WAY.

Let's get a bit of a poll going. Phat, Seb, JUB, Catman, and Scousey
Q: Do you think that after all the comments and promises made by the Geelong football Club this season (none of which have happened) that you have been left feeling angry, embarrassed and ashamed? Should we accept this mediocrity? Am I way out of line with what I'm saying?

BigCat, why dont you wait until after the trade week. You have bandied around a lot of (trade related) rumours and seemed to have sold just about all of them back to yourself... yet nothing has even happened in real life yet.

Im as dissapointed as anybody about the Thompson situation, about the pathetic season and all the deficiencies that the club has at the moment... its ****, its ****ed up. But you're really just crying to yourself - youve made up a list of rumours and assumptions, and come to a series of non-existent conclusions. Its all thin air. Come back in 3 days when we actually have some trade related failures to moan about.

Catatonic has a point - though that doesnt mean he/she is accepting mediocrity.

Yeah, I'm glad at last your getting a bit of a laugh BigCat. You didn't really answer my criticism of your comments - these lists of possible drafts which you seem to think are club policy are your policy, not the club's. Frankly I would prefer to go with their ideas than yours - I reckon it's pretty pretentious of you to assume you know what's best for our team. While football might not be rocket science, I would prefer to go with the ideas of full time professionals in the field, than with supporters who can't possibly have a better handle on the requirements of the club. And as a general comment, can I say that any club wishing to be successful (and not wishing to "accept mediocrity" - a glib and naive comment that is trotted out by all and sundry now, but which actually means SFA) firstly has to be in a strong position financially, with a sound administration, allied with a good football department. Cook and Costa are working on the first requirement - we would have been out of existence now if it wasn't for them - and I'm prepared to go along with their ideas on the selection of the football department personnel. I'm not an unabashed and uncritical supporter of Mark Thompson (I am very critical of his inability to work out a game plan to be able to handle the current Bulldogs), but will stick with the club and its direction. Finally, I would say to you that the performance of a football team does not reflect on you personally. Why would you be angry, ashamed and embarrassed? You've done nothing to justify that. Just keep on supporting the Cats, make your suggestions and criticisms, and do your best to remain positive. And I will continue to applaud the team whenever it plays well, even in defeat if I think the players have followed the team rules to the best of their ability.

Originally posted by catatonic
Yeah, I'm glad at last your getting a bit of a laugh BigCat. You didn't really answer my criticism of your comments
What comments. You said I was a goose then went on and said supporters like me were counterproductive and cost us getting players like Rawlings. I don't have to answer **** like that because it is totally untrue. I simply pointed out the reasons why I have become disillusioned lately.
these lists of possible drafts which you seem to think are club policy are your policy, not the club's.
Wrong the list was made up of players the club had expressed interest in. I'm not the one who came up these players. Players like Rawlings, Perrie, Bradshaw, Bowden, Solomon, Croad, Notting, Guerra and the like have all been mentioned by the club! The only player that was speculated from a supporter’s point of view was Whitnall, and he has been talked about by a lot of us supporters not just me.
I would prefer to go with the ideas of full time professionals in the field, than with supporters who can't possibly have a better handle on the requirements of the club.
Just a little tip in case you haven't worked it out. This is a forum for club supporters to place their opinions. If you don't like it then why are you here? :confused: Of course the clubs going to do what it likes so you don't have to make a choice. If you don't think getting Loats or Allan is a good idea then say it. If, like you, everyone had this blind faith that the club was always 100% correct then this would be a pretty boring board.
I'm not an unabashed and uncritical supporter of Mark Thompson (I am very critical of his inability to work out a game plan to be able to handle the current Bulldogs), but will stick with the club and its direction.
That's fantastic mate. Good on ya. :rolleyes: . So what you are saying is your not happy but you just don't want to say something nor do you want anyone else to say anything. We have no choice but to stick with the coach. I am all for Thommo staying on next year and for another year if we go well next year but to re-sign for an extra year was just madness. To quote Thommo "There you go I've said it". See it’s not that hard. Have an opinion and put it down. You don't work for the club do you?
Finally, I would say to you that the performance of a football team does not reflect on you personally
What :confused: Why are we talking about it then. Like it or not for half the year the Geelong football club plays a part for all of us. To an extent if Geelong plays well then we are happy, if they play poorly then we are unhappy. I tip in hundreds of hard-earned dollars each year into this club so don't tell me when and if I can be angry or have an opinion.
Just keep on supporting the Cats, make your suggestions and criticisms, and do your best to remain positive. And I will continue to applaud the team whenever it plays well, even in defeat if I think the players have followed the team rules to the best of their ability.
I will always support this club and you know what, I don't need or want your advice on how to do it. Oh and if it's all the same to you I won't clap the boys off when they put in pathetic efforts like they did against the Bulldogs. Or when they do a lap of honour after the last game when we finished 5th last.

Originally posted by BigCat1
ILet's get a bit of a poll going. Phat, Seb, JUB, Catman, and Scousey
Q: Do you think that after all the comments and promises made by the Geelong football Club this season (none of which have happened) that you have been left feeling angry, embarrassed and ashamed? Should we accept this mediocrity? Am I way out of line with what I'm saying?

Agree with everything you say BigCat.

I've become somewhat disillusioned with the club after this years performance and especially in the past few weeks, with the re-signing of Thompson and now the apparent disappearance of our club in trade talks. We have been promised so much by the club but they have delivered very little and look like delivering virtually nothing in the trade week.

Agree with Big Cat, we have all this youth. Why not go out and buy a player, we have the money in the cap. Thompson getting signed was a joke.

Richo-Should have been a target of ours. I don't care what he is on and what we would give up. We need a big name.