Official Brad Hodge Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter YOTC

Re: Hodge won't make it at Test Level.

SorryIHammerChicken said:
I agree eddie comes up with some absolute tripe, but since when do you participate in cricket discussions?
He doesnt, biggest bandwagoner ever :thumbsd:

SorryIHammerChicken said:
I agree eddie comes up with some absolute tripe, but since when do you participate in cricket discussions?

Joffabitch shows up every couple of months when she can can bag Hodge or England then disappears rather quickly

Full of hot air she is, but then again all St Kilda supporters are ****************s

eddiesmith said:
You mean you editing your posts 3 months later to make yourself look good ;)
Only because i found a spelling error. I said Eddiesmith is a bitter fool instead of South African tour. :p

eddiesmith said:
Joffabitch shows up every couple of months when she can can bag Hodge or England then disappears rather quickly

Full of hot air she is, but then again all St Kilda supporters are ****************s

Joffabitch even changed footy codes at the drop of a hat.

Only bandwagon gorilla rooters do that.

Re: Bradley John Hodge: Progressive current average

bombersno1 said:
Oh sorry south africa, who were missing Nel who would have been more than a handful and Kallis! That is half their attack! Hardly what you call that hard to score runs especially on a flat pitch. Add to that he played for himself by scoring incredibly slowly!
Let's see, can we find one true statement in the above post?

- Nel bowled 28 overs in that innings, including 65 balls to Hodge. Imagine how much better he would have been if he'd actually played?
- Flat pitch? Hardly what you'd call hard to score runs? Only one other player scored a century in that particular run-feast, and that was Rudolph in the fourth innings when the Ausses didn't give two hoots about saving runs. Australia's next highest score was 58 in that innings. The aussies made 258 in the first innings, SA made 280 odd in the second.
- Scored incredibly slowly? He finished with 203 off 332, but I'll admit he brought up his 50 off 129 balls. Obviously he should have put the team's interests first and got himself out like his team-mates did.
- Playing for himself? I love this one. Ponting 53 (106), Langer 47 (114) and Hussey 58 (121) were all obviously playing for themselves too.

You did get one thing right though. Kallis didn't play in that game. Give yourself a high five for guessing right once in a while.

Bushranger is ********ed

why in the ******** has hodge been dumped. and y in the blue hell is clake then.
i'm fine with marto there because he only had 1 average series then they drop him.
andrew symonds is not a allrounder for the test.
they should've brought in white for him and watson for macgill.

If u are a victorian u will never play for australia.

Re: Bushranger is ********ed

You fool, Martyn has done nothing since being dropped.

The Hodge dropping is stupid, but not as bad as the inclusion of Martyn.

The bowling attack is a bit more of a worry then the batting atm.

Re: Give Hodge the heave ho

johnnyhoward said:
Martyn won't be back. Clarke will come in for him.

I agree he's under a bit of pressure but he's only had 2 bad knocks (he should only be playing Tests, just like Lee should stick to ODIs), and wasn't Blues_Man saying Hodge looked impressive on debut? (Now the fickle old man has gone back to calling him the very imaginative and hilarious nickname of "Podge")
Only half-right there mate....Martyn still came in.

bushranger said:
why in the ******** has hodge been dumped. and y in the blue hell is clake then.
i'm fine with marto there because he only had 1 average series then they drop him.
andrew symonds is not a allrounder for the test.
they should've brought in white for him and watson for macgill.

If u are a victorian u will never play for australia.

Y in the blue hell is clake then? :confused:

Warne managed to play for Aus.

Maybe because Australia team needs a bit of experience on this tour.

Lets think about the team for a sec,

Hayden and Langer it will be their first matches in South Africa (after the ODI series)

Ponting is not 100% fit

Symonds and Hussey have been in the test side now for less than 1 year

I mean would you expect to new blood to be pushed for this tour? I dont think so. I think Martyn though is definetly on his last legs. I think its just a matter of time before Hodge gets a go again.

"I'll be back", says Hodge

'I'll be back' - Hodge
Cricinfo staff
March 8, 2006
spacer.gif

230097.jpg

Brad Hodge felt set for a long stay in the Australia side after his 203 not out at Perth in December © Getty Images

Brad Hodge has delivered a simple message to the Australian selectors who dumped him for Damien Martyn - "Don't worry, I'll be back". Hodge was a shock casualty of Australia's old-look squad on Tuesday when he was axed two Tests after scoring a double-century against South Africa.
Trevor Hohns, the chairman of selectors, described Martyn's selection as a "judgment call" and the decision sent Hodge, who averaged 58 in five Tests, for a day of golf instead of packing. "When I got the message I was devastated," he told AAP. "I thought I'd performed quite well in the Test side when I initially got in. I worked really hard to get there and I don't feel that it has had its chance to finish."
Hodge, who toured India, New Zealand and England before getting his first Test cap, told the agency he would fight to get his spot back and was eyeing a return for the two-Test series against Bangladesh. "Once you've tasted it, you want to taste a little bit more," he said. "There's still plenty of fire in the belly."
The demotion means Hodge, whose wife Megan is expecting their first child next month, will consider a longer stint with the English county Lancashire to re-prove his capabilities. "Maybe the plans might have to change," he said.
Hodge's technique has been questioned against fast bowling, but he said Hohns did not say his method was a problem. "There was no nature of that," he said. Hodge failed to make a significant score against Queensland in the Pura Cup match last week and he will get another chance against Western Australia at St Kilda on Friday

Re: "I'll be back", says Hodge

It's ironic that they say Hodge's technique against the quick man ain't good enough, yet Marto hasn't exactly get the world alight when faced with a quality quick who can move the ball in the air or off the deck, especially with his beautifully fluent footwork

Cooldude said:
It's ironic that they say Hodge's technique against the quick man ain't good enough, yet Marto hasn't exactly get the world alight when faced with a quality quick who can move the ball in the air or off the deck, especially with his beautifully fluent footwork

I reckon its a ploy to release the pressure of symonds or Watson - once one of these two are permant fixtures marto will be gone again with Hodge to replace

Capitalist said:
I reckon its a ploy to release the pressure of symonds or Watson - once one of these two are permant fixtures marto will be gone again with Hodge to replace
You're kidding.

Neither Symonds nor Watson will be "permanent fixtures" anytime soon. Do you think Clarke got selected for the South African tour because he wanted a holiday?

As soon as we revert to playing 3 quicks instead of 2, you'll see just how temporary the all-rounder policy is.

Gunnar Longshanks said:
You're kidding.

Neither Symonds nor Watson will be "permanent fixtures" anytime soon. Do you think Clarke got selected for the South African tour because he wanted a holiday?

As soon as we revert to playing 3 quicks instead of 2, you'll see just how temporary the all-rounder policy is.

bloody hell it was only a thought !!

doesn't seem to be any other reason to bring back Martyn (apart from the fact he is still a good player)