Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Of the interviews with 80's 'characters' Mike has done the Warwick Capper one was vastly superior.

This was just sad to watch. A bitter man who blames all of his problems on others and can't face his own flaws.

not sure if he has been interviewed yet, but would have thought that Phil Carman would make a really interesting topic. a freakishly talented player who we never saw the best of due to suspension (tom hafey reckoned his absence cost collingwood the 1977 flag), injury etc, and who speaks very articulately.

Was done a couple of years ago. Should be on YouTube somewhere.

I know I’m going against the grain here, but I loved that interview.

People go on about how ‘characters’ are absent from the game today but then act all outraged when Jacko doesn’t conform to how they expect to behave. Being a character means you’re not going to please everyone all the time and I didn’t agree with everything that Jacko said or did in that interview but I’d take that over the PR pap that 99% of current-day footballers dish out.

And is it really shocking for Jacko to say Sheahan was a football admin puppet? Sheahan actually worked for the VFL for a couple of years in the late 1980s and I always thought the view that he was an AFL lackey was generally accepted as fact. iirc Robert Shaw even mentioned recently how Sheahan was always getting stuck into Fitzroy during their dying days which of course dovetailed perfectly with what the AFL wanted.

Being a character is one thing. Being incomprehensible is another. I can't stand to watch an interview filled with constant interuptions, deflection, petty insults and baseless accusations. I watch open mike to hear stories being told. As I said before the Warwick Capper interview was a good comparison. Very different personality who could still string enough words together that the interview he gave was entertaining and insightful.

There is a drinking game in it.
Have a shot every time he says "right" and you'll soon die.

Yelling and gesticulating will also leave you in hospital.

I didn't like the comment where Jacko said that he hoped Mike Sheahan "died from cancer".

It was highly insensitive. In January, I lost my brother to cancer, and I assure you, it is something that I don't wish on anyone, no matter how angry I am at them.

He makes Tony Abbott seem like a good bloke in comparison.

I've met Tony Abbott, and have spoken to others who have as well, and we all think that he is a good bloke.

Abbott involves himself in raising money for charities, and is even a volunteer firefighter.

I think most politicians, if you met them, are probably good people. It is just that people hate politicians, but if Abbott or most other pollies were in other jobs, or they were Joe Random, you would probably get along with them, if they weren't a politician.

So many boring, PC sensitive posters on this thread, pretty much mimics the modern day robotic player.

Jacko is a outdated dinosaur particularly with his views on footy, and he was rude and struggled to make coherent points, but this was entertaining viewing. It was genuinely different, and in a interesting way

I watched the full clip on YouTube. What a bag of shit. 80 game mug who was/ is socially incapable of being around people so couldn't even stay at a club. He lost all credibility when he tryed to say he taught plugga how to kick snags.

So many boring, PC sensitive posters on this thread, pretty much mimics the modern day robotic player.

Jacko is a outdated dinosaur particularly with his views on footy, and he was rude and struggled to make coherent points, but this was entertaining viewing. It was genuinely different, and in a interesting way

Maybe different for television standards but no more interesting than watching a drunken loudmouth argue with a bartender who just cut him off.

I wouldn't put this down to dementia. He is simply a lunatic, always has been.

Sure. But what is labeled as "a lunatic" in an old colloquialism sense are these days rightly referred to as mental health conditions. So it's pointless to just blindly go "Hes lost the plot" or "Just a loon". No, he must have a condition affecting his anger/mood.

Can you imagine Mark Robinson having a show like this in 20 years. Sitting there pretending to be a revered figure, after spending most of his life screwing players over. Sheehan achieved it, and I don't know how. Maybe because there was no social media in his heyday. Easier to protect his reputation. If I was Mark Jackson, I would have showed far less restraint.

A show like that would make Friday Front Bar look like Four Corners.

It was genuinely different, and in a interesting way

If You mean in a 'train wreck' I can't believe/avert my eyes kinda way....Then yes

A sad excuse for a human being, completely without grace or soul. And a sad indictment on social Darwinism.

You don't get any more lost than this boy is.

I didn't mind it. Mostly piss and wind really.

I thought Mike handled himself pretty well.