Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

I know there's a lot to be said in showbiz about "leave them wanting more" - but Sheehan is the best interviewer on tv. Not in footy, not on foxtel - but on television. This show needs to go for an hour!
Settle. He's good with getting football identities to open up because he's been in the caper for so long. But best interviewer on television is a stretch.

I actually want Mike to focus on players from the 60's,70's and 80's.

And the odd interview with an administrator would go down well.
You get it next week, Mike flew to Tassie to interview the great Royce Hart because he is unable to fly because of his back. Will be a really interesting one I think.

It's not This Is Your Life. When football identities are being interviewed I would rather hear about footy related tales, preferably from football identities who actually achieved something in football.

EDIT: I should add that I haven't seen the Schwarz one yet, and I've got nothing against the bloke, but there are other people in football I would rather see interviewed on this show before Schwarz, and this thread is full of good suggestions.

TBH, i would would rather hear about their lives outside of footy.. Get a more personal touch into what they were like..

Yeah, I'm the same - I already know what they did on the footy field. To me there's not a lot of value on recapping what we already know about them.

Hard to believe fans - me included - boo players. I get the disconnect; a show like this forces you to confront it.

ESPN360 strikes me as a far more showmanlike version of this, which is very raw, very personal to people who grew up watching the players, and can't avoid hearing the hurt and eloquence in their words.

Richmond legend Royce Hart is the special guest on Monday night at 9.30PM EST . Should be a ripper.

I am with you on this.

Given the choice between a interview a great player but somewhat boring individual like Matthew Lloyd or someone who has been through a bit like David Schwartz, I would choose the Schwatrz one every day of the week.

Thought the Matthew Scarlett one was possibly the worst one yet. Just extremely boring. Really had very little of interest to say really.

Loved the Doug Hawkins one. Could actually feel the emotion and hurt he had on missing out on being a Premiership player, being cut down by injury in the prime of his career, and the loss of one of his junior proteges. Was very surprised to see him freely admit that he probably should have gone to Essendon in the early '80s too, as well as dismiss The Footy Show and his role on it as being "just really dumb". A good, honest bloke.

People I'd like to see appear on here at some point:

- Warwick Capper
- Mark Jackson
- Robert Muir
- Roger Merrett
- Mick McGuane
- Gary Ablett Snr
- Gerard Healy
- Jim & Phil Krakouer (think they got interviewed together on something a couple of years ago, but would be good on here too)
- Brian Taylor (probably redundant considering his role in the upcoming Richmond doco, led by Mike Sheehan)

Love Sheehan's interview style. He's footy's answer to Michael Parkinson. Would be great IMO to have a full hour for this show, and possibly put it on FTA television as well.

I think Schwarz wanted sympathy or a pat on the back just my thoughts from him saying at the end "I have been trying to get on this show for ages" jmho :rolleyes:

Schwarzs story is fairly well known, i dont think he has anything to benifit by going on. pretty sure he was joking when he made the comment.

regarding a comment earlier about it not being enough about his football i agree, what totally got lost was that he did play in some good melbourne sides and one that actually made a grand final. I would of loved to hear his thoughts on the football club during that time espically culture wise.

Thought the Matthew Scarlett one was possibly the worst one yet. Just extremely boring. Really had very little of interest to say really.

Loved the Doug Hawkins one. Could actually feel the emotion and hurt he had on missing out on being a Premiership player, being cut down by injury in the prime of his career, and the loss of one of his junior proteges. Was very surprised to see him freely admit that he probably should have gone to Essendon in the early '80s too, as well as dismiss The Footy Show and his role on it as being "just really dumb". A good, honest bloke.

People I'd like to see appear on here at some point:

- Warwick Capper
- Mark Jackson
- Robert Muir
- Roger Merrett
- Mick McGuane
- Gary Ablett Snr
- Gerard Healy
- Jim & Phil Krakouer (think they got interviewed together on something a couple of years ago, but would be good on here too)
- Brian Taylor (probably redundant considering his role in the upcoming Richmond doco, led by Mike Sheehan)

Love Sheehan's interview style. He's footy's answer to Michael Parkinson. Would be great IMO to have a full hour for this show, and possibly put it on FTA television as well.

Don't know if Jacko would be worth it. Pretty much every interview I seen or read with him has him railing against everyone he's ever been involved in footy with, and how he was always hard done by, and that no one was ever good enough to play on him or with him.

Like most contributors to this thread I love 'Open Mike' - my favourite footy show. Every guest has a story and I always learn something about the guest that gives a fascinating insight into them. The only one I probably disagreed with was Eddie McGuire as he hadn't played or coached AFL/VFL. I prefer presidents to keep out of this format.

I too would like to see one on Gary Ablett Senior but it is unlikely. He is far too reclusive. If Gary Snr ever agree to an Open Mike - it would have to be a one off special hour long show - probably in the middle of the week.

A few former players I reckon I would be a good OM subject -
Syd Jackson. (Spent a season out of the game over a clearance dispute and suffered racism far greater than any current day player could imagine)
Fred Cook. (Has one of the most colourful histories of any footballer - superstar in the VFA after a short stint at Footscray but ended up in jail)
John Nicholls. (Another with a checkered history and was a captain coach of a premiership team)
Jim O'Dea. (Saints tough man who will never live down the ignominy of the John Greening incident)
Des Tuddenham ( Went on strike with the late Len Thompson then went from Collingwood to coach Essendon -tough as any player who's played)

Just saw the Schwarz one. It was OK, but not one I'll be in a hurry to watch again. Spent about 5 mins talking footy and the rest was on gambling, his dad, his wife, knees, etc.

It's impossible to talk about Schwarz as a player without concentrating on his knee injuries. At the end of 1994, he was surpassing Lyon and Kernahan to be second only to Carey as a centre half-forward. By February 1996, he was forced to play a different game.

Don't know if Jacko would be worth it. Pretty much every interview I seen or read with him has him railing against everyone he's ever been involved in footy with, and how he was always hard done by, and that no one was ever good enough to play on him or with him.

I think Sheehan is good enough to get a worthwhile interview out of him.

I'm just interested in what makes a guy like that tick. He was doubtlessly talented (308 goals in just 82 games, still holds the record for most games from debut with at least one goal, with 79), and was clearly a strong character, but wasn't the kind of wayward bloke who couldn't tie their own shoes outside of footy (parlayed his personality into a number of minor television and film roles, including a regular gig on the Sunday Footy Show once upon a time), so I'd just like to see Sheehan explore more the reasons why he didn't realise his full potential (or at least have some more longevity - out of the game at age 26) or didn't really find a home (spent time at four clubs - Richmond, Melbourne, St Kilda, Geelong) as a footballer.