Operation Don't Get Aish

Hindsight is such a wonderful thing but if we took Josh Kennedy that year and had Cloke and Kennedy running around in our forward line. Jesus.
Scum had Kennedy and let him go.

Bigger mistake than us not picking him as they need him more than us.

That was gold by them. Only topped by them making a guy with a dodgy ankle their highest earner in a position they don't need.

Edit: Not 100% sure he is their highest earner but helps my analogy.

HEY GUYZ IF WE PICK THIS ONE 18 YEAR OLD KID, THEN DESPITE THE REST OF THE LIST AND THE ENTIRE PIES HISTORY, IM NOT BUYING A MEMBERSHIP.

ffs.

I know. If Hine finds out someone isn't going to renew their membership if we draft Aish, I just know he will change his mind.
Damn you all to hell ;)

I really cannot understand where this hate for Aish comes from. I've been lucky to watch him for 2 years in the Sanfl and he is regularly in the top 4 for possession, he wins his own ball when required, tackles when required, consistently runs back with the flight to mark. Once he puts on some more weight and gets even fitter he will be a force to be reckoned with. Whatever club that gets him will be very lucky as he appears to be as loyal and hard working as they come

A couple of people are making opinions on a 1 minute video because he scrubbed a couple of kicks. I think our recruiting guys will have a bit more info on all the prospects than we will. I have faith Hine & Rendell will make good calls.

You have to love BigFooty. Gone from best mid in the draft to not good enough for us at 6.

Call of the night for me!! Good eatin' T-Bone.:thumbsu:

I really cannot understand where this hate for Aish comes from. I've been lucky to watch him for 2 years in the Sanfl and he is regularly in the top 4 for possession, he wins his own ball when required, tackles when required, consistently runs back with the flight to mark. Once he puts on some more weight and gets even fitter he will be a force to be reckoned with. Whatever club that gets him will be very lucky as he appears to be as loyal and hard working as they come
Thanks buddy (use that term for sydney supporters).

I think the biggest query is can he put on that weight? Xavier Ellis has scared a few of us.

Your gonna need to keep that mask on bud, because everyone on the board is gonna laugh at you now, if you show your opinion around here. :P

I reckon it will be Aish, Billings or Bontempelli who falls and I hope it's the latter.

My favourite of the lot is Scharenburg. I think he is perfect for us. He has composure, good lateral movement, excellent skills and decision making, he is tall and can take a mark overhead. He gets into good position reading the play. I think he has positional scope to move onto a wing. I haven't seen enough to know if he has the game to play as a centre bounce midfielder. In terms of list needs I think he would add heaps to us straight away as a half back. I think Gold Coast might be all over him not Koldcuts.

I agree about Bontempelli too. He looks quality. I wonder what position you go with him in though?

Yeah he scrubbed 2 kicks in his first and second game back. However, had the highest kicking efficiency in the comp!

I don't think people would be exactly devo with Aish. I would prefer Bontempelli but it's not as though there is some chasm - Bontempelli or death!

Ryan Lonie in the draft? Watched that highlight package about potential top 20 picks and they all play like the Lonie boys. WTF, 16 left footers in the top 20 or something stupid like that.

My favourite of the lot is Scharenburg. I think he is perfect for us. He has composure, good lateral movement, excellent skills and decision making, he is tall and can take a mark overhead. He gets into good position reading the play. I think he has positional scope to move onto a wing. I haven't seen enough to know if he has the game to play as a centre bounce midfielder. In terms of list needs I think he would add heaps to us straight away as a half back. I think Gold Coast might be all over him not Koldcuts.

I agree about Bontempelli too. He looks quality. I wonder what position you go with him in though?

I think Scharenberg is a moot discussion anyway as he should already be gone.

I'd look at a flanker/wingman position for Bums. Pretty much the position we recruited Young for.

I don't think people would be exactly devo with Aish. I would prefer Bontempelli but it's not as though there is some chasm - Bontempelli or death!

Agree, both of them could be outside runners in the mould of (that space cadet) Issac Smith.

I think Scharenberg is a moot discussion anyway as he should already be gone.

I'd look at a flanker/wingman position for Bums. Pretty much the position we recruited Young for.

I'm interested, how do you see the top 10 shaping? As in your top 10 phantom. Who will take Scharenburg? I think you could argue that he is more likely to fall than Billings, Kelly or Aish. It would be very unusual for a player that has been used largely as a defender to go top 5. That was my thought process anyway.

I'm really not the man to ask Q-nutz as I have only viewed the highlights package. Still, I fancy myself.

My guess at the top 10 is as thus:

1 Boyd
2 Kelly
3 Scharenberg
4 Aish
5 Kuts
6 Bontempelli
7 Billings
8 McDonald
9 Lennon
10 Freeman

Love the way the OP bags the two best kicks that are available to be selected for the draft. I know Salem will be available at 10, but if he wasn't to be, lets just say I'd have no hesitation in the slightest taking him at six. Huge wraps for him.

I'm really not the man to ask Q-nutz as I have only viewed the highlights package. Still, I fancy myself.

My guess at the top 10 is as thus:

1 Boyd
2 Kelly
3 Scharenberg
4 Aish
5 Kuts
6 Bontempelli
7 Billings
8 McDonald
9 Lennon
10 Freeman

I think you like Scharenburg as much as I do. Only I'm still labouring under the thought and hope he can get to us. I suspect if McCarthy is available we will pull the trigger on him at 10.

If the Adams deal didn't go through and we got a late 1st round for Shaw, McCarthy is possible I guess but I think next year we might fashion something up for a tall forward. But who is really aware of the night thoughts of Hine?

Pendles and Beams are pure linkers???:eek:

Friggin hell - who have I been wotching then???:eek::eek:o_Oo_O
Wouldn't have a clue what you are watching. Offensively, they are as pure link types as you get. They aren't pure inside, they are the ones who usually win the second spill and they aren't the line breakers receiving on the outside. They link the play. You talk like it's a bad thing, when it's pretty important to have them, especially as creative as they are.

If the Adams deal didn't go through and we got a late 1st round for Shaw, McCarthy is possible I guess but I think next year we might fashion something up for a tall forward. But who is really aware of the night thoughts of Hine?

The night thoughts of Hine...like being vouchsafed a vision of the ineffable, but available only to viewers after 9:30 thanks to mature content.

Come to think of it, anyone else think "The Night Thoughts of Hine" could make an awesome name for an Indie rock group?

I really want Scharenberg, if we got him at 6 I would be over the moon!! Doubt it though and as for Aish I have him at pick 2. Do not want Lennon or Freeman, we got enough players like them and if we get Adams getting Freeman would stupid when we can fill half back needs we desperately need to fill with Scharenberg or Kolodgashnij (excuse my spelling) they would get 22 games for us next year. Not every year we get 2 picks in the top 10 so let's fill needs we desperately need to.

You see Adams and Freeman as similar players?

Righto.

So if Aish drops to pick 17 Freo should pass on him for a much needed KPP.

Dunno mate, but taking Darling ahead of Pitt in 2010 might've just gotten you over the line this year